We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Orchid Restaurant

Black Orchid Restaurant
2-1/2 Miles South of Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 206-2441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Bar, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner in a Unique Island Setting. Located 2.5 miles South of San Pedro Town; after the Croc Pond and well before the Marco Gonzales Maya Ruin Site. Reservations Recommended....Open Tuesday through Saturday 11am-9pm and Sunday for our Sangria Sunday Brunch from 9am-2pm.....
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

What a treat to be able to spend a birthday in paradise and have so many awesome restaurants to choose from. One afternoon, we were out and about in the golf cart exploring and we stopped in for a beer. Black Orchid is one of those places that makes you feel comfortable and welcome right away. The décor is lovely and inviting with dark wood, tiled floors and intimate seating nooks. Sipping our beer and chatting with the bartender, we decided to look at the menu. There was so many interesting choices I knew we had to come back for my birthday. A few days later, back we came and had the most amazing dinner. The selection of wine is decent and we had no trouble finding one that suited us. We started out with the hot Shrimp Dip and oh my was it heavenly! Husband and I licked the bowl clean it was so good - but it is rich! Our dinners came (lasagna and pork tenderloin) and they were excellent, but we could not finish them. They sure made for a terrific lunch the next day! I was offered a complimentary dessert but there was no way I could do it! We both enjoyed the shrimp dip so much that we came back a few days later and shared it for lunch! Highly recommend this restaurant! Excellent food, wine (and sangria) and service! (thanks Dolores!). Although it is about 2 miles south of the centre of town, it is worth the cab or golf cart drive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello gypsygal1963.....The entire staff asked me to send you a big thank you for such a kind and detailed review.....I believe we saw Dolores blush when we read her name out loud..... Our Creamy Shrimp Dip is a popular Appetizer however, you mentioned many of our other favorites as well.....Including the Sangria....Thank you for visiting with us on your special day.....We'll be here hoping to see you again for your next Birthday.... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    32
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stop on by, feel right at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were on an adventure south and found this beautiful little gem on the side of the road. Thirsty from the trip, we decided to stop. Tom is an excellent host. His beautiful wife is also lovely. Have them tell you about their New Year's golf cart story! We drank, laughed and promised to return. The menu looks awesome and you can tell they take pride in their business.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Lisa C.....It is very kind of you to write this review....We remember your adventurous group and enjoyed your visit as well.....Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor..... We'd like to think we offer a little personal touch to each guests' visit....So happy to hear Tom did just that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must visit in San Pedro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Atmosphere is lovely. The service and staff are wonderful. All the food is outstanding. Tom and Judy Ann are great hosts. Now that I live on the island they have always been there for me. This is a must if you are here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dearest Sue A.....What a lovely surprise to read this review from you.....Thank you so much. It means a lot to have continued and repeat business from our local neighbors like you. We'll look forward to your next visit....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A good meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stopped in here for dinner and it wasn't to bad. Great atmosphere and service, however, the pricing was a little high for us.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Steve G.....Thank you for taking the time write this review....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood pasta, Grouper, and Blueberry cheesecake, plus cold cold beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Service was excellent as we had prompt attention from the staff and even met the owner. Delores was also our server and was very attentive. The food was excellent and came out very fast. The shrimp dip was to die for!!! Best food ion San Pedro. We plan to eat lunch there tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judyann H, Owner at Black Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello Michael G.....Thank you for taking the time to write this review....Dolores was so happy to see her name mentioned in this review......However, we all just agreed that we like your heading is the best....Sounds like a great combination of our menu.....we'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Orchid Restaurant also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Black Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Orchid Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.