We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinking on the water... whats not to like!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar

Sandbar
Boca Del Rio | Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 00000, Belize
+501 630-1241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Sandbar Restaurant, Bar and Hostel is a thrifty traveler's/backpacker's dream come true. Located in San Pedro on Ambergris Caye, we are on the water and priced for even the most budget conscious. Our bar and restaurant conveniently offer you an all inclusive option for food or rum or both! We have free beach loungers and day beds, free WiFi, a common room with darts and a pool table and bicycles to rent. We even offer laundry service for an additional fee. A San Pedro Hostel for everyone!
Stony Plain, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Drinking on the water... whats not to like!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

we made this our second home while in San Pedro. Whats not to like? beautiful sea views, cold drinks,good food, and great staff!! they called me by name every time i showed up and even yelled to me in the streets of San Pedro!! we could have stayed there all night if they would let us..cause i wouldn't be able to walk out!! haha!! go check them out and enjoy!! they are north of the bridge,or you can take a boat right to them!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the coconut mojito!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The bartender and the bar owners were all very friendly. We came back to the Sandbar on two separate occasions and the staff remembered us, which is always nice! The drinks were good and reasonably priced. The coconut mojito is phenomenal, definitely give it a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cold Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped by Sandbar for a few drinks and the mud wrestling (not my idea). The bar is exactly how it sounds (it's in the sand).

We didn't eat here, but stopped by for a few drinks and to watch the mud wrestling (the watching mud wrestling was someone in our group's idea, not mine). The beer was cold and the mud wrestling, well it was mud wrestling (I believe it's only on Fridays).

Was it the best bar I've been to? No, but it wasn't the worst. The beer was cold, and that's all that really matters, right?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view, okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped by this cute beach bar to grab a quick bite. We got there about twenty minutes before the kitchen opened, so we knew we would have some wait for the food, which was okay because the bartender was very pleasant and talkative, and the view of the sea was wonderful. We ordered the chicken nachos, and another 45 minutes or so went by before we got them because they had to send someone to the store to get nacho chips. We also ordered the fish tacos, which were decent, and the Hawaiian pizza, which was pretty tasty. All in all, we were at the Sandbar for almost two hours in order to get all the food we ordered. We had nothing else to do, so this type of wait did not bother us immensely, but if you're in a hurry you might want to look elsewhere. One great thing was they generously provided us with distilled water without charging us for it...one of the only restaurants we encountered in San Pedro that did not want to charge us for bottled water. Very much appreciated when the temperature is in the 90's with high humidity!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Creative entertainment ideas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here last night because it is super close to our hotel and could hear the music. They also had a tarp up advertising "mud wrestling" so my husband and I wanted to see what that was about. It was very messy. If you go to this once a month event don't sit too close. We were covered in clay/mud by the end of the night. It was entertaining though. I ordered the coconut mojito people raved about on here but they were out of mint leaves. I guess we will have to go back!! The staff was very friendly and had a good sense of humor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar also viewed

 

Been to Sandbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.