We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Appetizers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wet Willy's Smokehouse Restaraunt

Wet Willy's Smokehouse Restaraunt
Boca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-4136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 114 restaurants in San Pedro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Wet Willy's and Wet Willy's is located on the largest over the water dock in San Pedro, Belize. The venue offers stunning views of the Mesoamerican Reef, indoor/outdoor seating, step into the Caribbean for swimming and snorkeling and evening lighting to view the underwater sealife. Focusing on fresh, home made food, our menu features a variety of smoked ribs, pork and chicken as well as pork chops, fresh fish and seafood. Our menu is complimented by home made barbque sauces, fresh made roll, hand cut french fries, mac & cheese and our own special Caye Lime Pie and Brownies. Two stages offer the best in San Pedro Entertainment and your favorite sports are on large screen tv's. Under new ownership since December of 2011, San Pedro's most popular beach bar just got a whole lot better!
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

At the north end of the beach, Wet Willy's is at the end of a pier, to the view is great and the ocean breeze refreshing.

The best appetizer we had all week: Peel and Eat Shrimp. This is about as far from shrimp cocktail or frozen shrimp ring as you can get. Fresh, fresh, fresh shrimp, still hot out of the boil, served with their homemade cocktail sauce. These shrimp were so fresh they crunched like lobster tail meat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    85
    80
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tasty food but made me sick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I ate here one night with friends and ordered the pulled pork sandwich. It was really tender and there were a few bbq sauces to choose from so you could add your own, but it would have been nice if they made it with one. The service was average, and the location is neat because you're out on a pier. However, I was pretty sick the next day, didn't eat a thing. And I had not been drinking, so I know it wasn't alcohol induced!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food improved 100%”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We had visited Wet Willies a year ago & all they had food wise was a poor pizza. I had heard that this year they have a whole new rebuilt kitchen & a full menu, so we decided to try it out. I got a grouper sandwich & my wife had a chicken sandwich. Both came with fesh cut fries & a side of slaw. The service was exceptional & the value even better. They have a huge deck were you can eat & take in 180 degree view of the reef. On most nights they have live music, mostly Jimmy Buffett/Jerry Jeff Walker wannabes if your into that type of music.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcrest, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved Wet Willy's so much it's a wonder we had time to take in the sights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wet Willy's was the first place we hit in Ambergris Caye, being conveniently located one dock over from the water taxi drop. Our initial meal of pulled pork was so stellar, sunset table-side Eagle Ray watching so calming, staff and owners so friendly, we came the next day for the grouper over rice and fresh veggies - awesome! And the next day for the chicken, and so on and so on. Yup - we ended up eating every meal at Wet Willy's and hung around for swimming off the dock, local music not to mention a slammin' karaoke night. Owner Bruce has put to use his devilish BBQ alchemy to create 4 sublime sauces that compliment not only the OUTRAGEOUS pork offerings (Anthony Bordain would set up a pup tent in a corner and become a lifer) but also the chicken, burgers and other delights. Our favorite dish - hands down - was the raft sized brined, grilled Pork Chop - ooooooh, piggy heaven!!! Melt in your mouth DE-LISH >nom-nom-nom< As for desert, I loved the traditional, tart, thick graham cracker crust key lime pie so well I never strayed. But I submit to you a photo of my dear friend from Britain twitching in anticipation as she holds back just long enough for me to catch this shot before she - most literally - plowed through her homemade brownie and ice cream. We loved Wet Willy's so much it is a wonder we had time to take in the sights! NOT TO BE MISSED KIDS!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great place to eat and hang out. Live music. Pulled pork sandwich is very good and filling. The ribs had good flavor but were a little lacking in substance. Great place to hang out on a hot day with a cool breeze.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wet Willy's Smokehouse Restaraunt also viewed

 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Wet Willy's Smokehouse Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wet Willy's Smokehouse Restaraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.