We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef

The Reef
200 Baca Del Rio Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 124 Restaurants in San Pedro
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Delicious fresh food and reasonable prices. Lots of options of types of cooking but limited in seafood offered - snapper, conch, shrimp. The service can be slow depending on the night.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good food, not the best on the island but enjoyable and reasonably priced. Authentic island experience. Sand floors and a local who plays the violin while you eat. Opens right on to the street so we did have a stray cat wander through while we ate. If you like a whole fish, head and all, give this place a shot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Local”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

OK food. Not touristy. The server/owner? was very pleasant and the rum punch drink was free. There is a really good ice cream shop across the street for dessert.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Local favorite for Local style seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Yes, it has a dirt floor and some options on the menu are average but we had the recommendation of the waiter and it was great food. We had the seafood platter for two with a coconut curry sauce --Conche, snapper, shrimp, stone crab! It was delicious. Another of my favorites. It was a slow time when we stopped in for dinner and the waiter sat and talked with us for a long time answering many of my questions on local seafood favorites and how to prepare barracuda which the locals eat but no one I know in the states. Will be coming back here on all our trips to San Pedro in the future. The price is right and the food is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

You can bring in your catch or order any of the fresh seafood (in season) and other meals off the menu. Low key and relaxed with sand floors and sea related decor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to The Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.