We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tikal tour!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amigos Jungle Tours Day Tours

Amigos Jungle Tours Day Tours
Barrier Reef Drive | PO Box 53, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
+501 226-2706
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amigos Del Mar dive shop has now opened a mainland department. We now offer: Cave Tubing, Zip lining, Xunantunich Mayan ruins, Lamanai river tours, A.T.M. Caves, Tikal Day Trips, Crystal Caves, any jungle combo we will do in Belize. We are now Called Amigos Jungle Tours.
Corona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Awesome Tikal tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros:
Great crew! Gerson, and the entire Belizean staff were wonderful! Funny, accommodating, and informative! Then at Tikal, Chino (Sam) is an incredible guide! Mayan that was born and raised in the Tikal immediate area...knows everything about the place! Even fished out a tarantula from its hole and let it crawl on any willing volunteers!
All in all, a great full day tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirbyville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carlitos " The Rock Star"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great staff, Babar, Jr, And Carlitos "The Rock Star" very knowledgeable, Was a great trip! The best entertainment we had on our trip was the ride with Babar then Carlitos.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional day at Lamanai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After weeks of researching tour providers, we chose Amigos Jungle Tours. Our amazing day with Gerson and Berto proved that we made the right decision. Our morning began with a boat ride to Amigo's dock and a light breakfast. Gerson walked us to airport where we flew to Orange Walk, and were met by Amigo's tour guide Berto. Berto gave us a brief tour of Orange Walk and a detailed history of the area. We then arrived at the New River and boarded our boat to Lamanai. As we traveled up the river, Berto went into great detail pointing out the natural wonders of the area, including beautiful water lilies, a friendly spider money (who almost climbed onto our boat!), and a family of native birds with their tiny babies. Berto's passion for the natural beauty and historic importance of the New River added so much to our experience. Upon arrival to Lamanai we had a delicious Belizean lunch and headed into the jungle. It had begun to rain, thankfully Berto had come prepared with rain gear. Berto's knowledge of the jungle and the ruins was incredibly thorough. As we explored the Mayan Temples, we learned the history of the area and were blown away by the view from the top of the structures. The boat ride back was challenging, as the rain had turned into a downpour, but Berto brought us back without incident and dropped us off for our flight back to San Pedro. We would highly recommend Amigos Jungle Tours and would definitely use them again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
2 reviews
“Greatest experience tour to Tikal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our day started out with being picked up at our dock, breakfast, and then a private plane to Belize city where then Carlos met us to start our land tour across Belize. The drive was informative and true belizean style with all the speeding, passing, and photo stops we have learned to expect. We eventually made it to the border of Guatemala and met Chinos, our Guatemalan tour guide. The border crossing was a little intimidating with the armed guards, but we made it through. Chinos was extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour to Tikal and thru the national park of Tikal was a great experience because of his him (Chinos)..he really knew the history, lived the life, pointed out plants and animals and gave us in depth history. The whole experience was wonderful and the company was so accommodating and most importantly made sure we enjoyed our day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lamanai River Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our family of four took the Lamanai River Tour with Amigos Jungle Tours on May 27, 2014. We arranged the trip via online chat with Gerson on their website and phone, and confirmed everything upon our arrival to Ambergris Caye. Our guide Cidro (sp?), was great. We were the only four in our group, so we ended up with a private tour.

Our day started at 9:00 with a quick walk to the Maya Air terminal for a the 18 minute flight to Orange Walk. We weren't sure about the air option from San Pedro at first, but it's well worth it and cuts a few hours off an already full day. Upon landing in Orange Walk, Cidro was waiting for us with an air conditioned bus for a quick ride to the boat dock for our ride up the New River to Lamanai. Cidro has been doing this for many years and clearly knew the river very well. We made a number of stops on the way to see a monkey that ate from my sons' hands, a quick glimpse of an alligator, and various birds and plant life. The boat ride was approximately an hour to an hour and a half, which was just about right.

Upon arriving at Lamanai, we had a quick lunch of stewed chicken, rice/beans, and cole slaw, which was very good. Water and soda was also provided. Cidro took us to the various structures where we were able to go at our own pace, climb on the structures, and take pictures. Keep an eye out in the trees for the howler monkeys. Cidro was very informative during the tour.

Back to the boat down the river and to the bus. We had a bit of time before our flight back to San Pedro, so Cidro took us for a quick side trip to see the local sugar cane plant. We were back at our hotel by 4:30.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Jungle Tours Day Tours also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Amigos Jungle Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigos Jungle Tours Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.