We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful and unusual experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Licks Beachside Cafe

Licks Beachside Cafe
Beachside, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 001111, Belize
501-226-5425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 126 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our dishes are made fresh daily. We have a large variety of delicious seafood, beef, chicken and pork dishes. Our desserts are as special as our savory ones. We are situated on the beach in front of the Belize Water Express at the end of their dock. We cater to locals and tourist alike. We only create dishes of seafood that have been caught and delivered to us fresh from the local fishermen here in San Pedro and you may see them deliver this fresh fish to us while you are enjoying a refreshing drink or eating a meal from our kitchen. You can indulge in some fresh Sashimi or Poki Tuna while sitting here and enjoying a clear view of the second most longest Reef in the world only half a mile away. We do make fresh vegetarian foods as well for the customers that choose not to eat fish or any meats. Please note: We do take credit cards.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful and unusual experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited Licks Beachside Cafe many times during our week-long trip to San Pedro in February. We liked it so much we went back for lunch and dinner just so we could enjoy the food--at different times of day. The owner is a fantastic storyteller and he introduced us to some of his regular customers as well as shared stories about the island. In addition to the beautiful sea-view balcony upstairs (where one can be seated for a meal) you can sit at beach level at shared tables tucked onto the porch. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the porch level because we could visit with other travelers and eat amazing food--and then plan our day. The storytelling was better with each visit (whether it was fellow customers sharing or the owner). We even miss the owner's dog who often hung out near the porch. This is a unique experience! - submitted by Wizie and Darwin Eads, Wichita, KS

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    88
    40
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meals on the island ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A MUST TRY! Licks had the best banana pancakes I have probably ever had! It was so good we went back for dinner. We had BBQ fish and BBQ lobster. Both dishes were fresh, succulent, and very tasty! Prices were very reasonable... Especially for the two huge lobster tails. You can find lobster elsewhere on the island but not cooked like this with this flavor. The drinks were great too. Try the sour sop tequila drink (it will rock your world). The view is great and the company is better! (Especially the resident pups) For us, our meals at Licks were the best we had on the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food and nice second floor balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate at Licks twice during our weeklong stay in San Pedro. We loved the food and really enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a nice sea view. The owner was very welcoming, and the food is all very fresh. We especially enjoyed the grilled lobster tails. This is a good restaurant for the whole family. Our kids liked it as much as we did.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had a group of 7 ranging 3 generations that had the privilege of eating at Licks. It was a long way to go for lunch, but definitely worth the trip. Most of us had lobster that beat out the lobster we got on the cruise ship the following night. Our kids, 18, 16, and 12, had smoothies that they still talk about 2 weeks later. An added bonus, Mario was awesome!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had breakfast here one morning; thoroughly enjoyed it. Nice place, good coffee, good service, great breakfast food. (Probably great for lunch and dinner too I would imagine, just didn't have time to eat there more than once).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licks Beachside Cafe also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Licks Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licks Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.