We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast not Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Licks Beachside Cafe

Licks Beachside Cafe
Beachside, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 001111, Belize
501-226-5425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in San Pedro
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our dishes are made fresh daily. We have a large variety of delicious seafood, beef, chicken and pork dishes. Our desserts are as special as our savory ones. We are situated on the beach in front of the Belize Water Express at the end of their dock. We cater to locals and tourist alike. We only create dishes of seafood that have been caught and delivered to us fresh from the local fishermen here in San Pedro and you may see them deliver this fresh fish to us while you are enjoying a refreshing drink or eating a meal from our kitchen. You can indulge in some fresh Sashimi or Poki Tuna while sitting here and enjoying a clear view of the second most longest Reef in the world only half a mile away. We do make fresh vegetarian foods as well for the customers that choose not to eat fish or any meats. Please note: We do take credit cards.
Chepachet, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast not Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We tried Licks for breakfast one morning the views were good either from the second floor or if you choose the in water table and chairs. The food at breakfast was very good and the service was outstanding. We later tried Licks for dinner, not so good. Our server was nice, but the food lacked everything our breakfast had. The four of us each had different meals and none of us finished them, it seemed there was no care or thought put into preparing our dishes. It was though they were slapped together by someone reading a script and not a chef preparing a meal you'd remember.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    88
    39
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelizeable Lick's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Your first interaction with Lick's may be in shaking hands with their chief promoter and friendly security man who will shake your hand during your beach stroll and provide you with a business card as a reminder to join them for a meal. And we did – dinner at a table in the beach sand was excellent with the blackened grouper, jerk chicken, and shrimp curry served in a conch shell being our favorites. We had lunch at Lick's later in the week with our new found British friends – breaded grouper and french fries made for a great proxy for English fish n chips!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We always make time for Licks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

It doesn't matter how much of a hurry we are in-- we ALWAYS make time for Licks. My fiancé and myself go to San Pedro a couple times a month, and we make sure to get there in the morning for the stuffed fryjacks (the BEST in Belize), and always always ALWAYS get a calamari snack before heading back. This place is great. Mario is great. The food is great. Put it on your list!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The owner, Mario, is at the restaurant daily and went out of his way to take care of his patrons. He went so far as to make a special bowl of oatmeal with bananas for one of our new fellow-traveller friends. While we never ate a full meal here, we did get the calamari and conch fritter/fingers appetizers, which were tasty. In my opinion, they also had better music playing than many of the other restaurants AKA NOT club music during dinner time. I can't answer whether they accept reservations or not, but having met Mario and his staff, my guess would be yes. Great place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I only ate at Licks once so I can't really speak from extensive experience when it comes to the food there, but my wife and I had a great dinner, and equally important to us, a nice evening. Licks sits right on the beach only a few steps from the water and if the weather's right, it's a beautiful spot to relax in, with some good food and drink. The night we went there we had the pleasure of meeting Mario, the owner, who is a wonderful person with interesting stories. We would have spent more time there if it wasn't for our tight schedule, but next time we're in San Pedro we'll certainly go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licks Beachside Cafe also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Licks Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licks Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.