We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite spot in San Pedro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Licks Beachside Cafe

Licks Beachside Cafe
Beachside, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 001111, Belize
+501 226-5425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 137 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our dishes are made fresh daily. We have a large variety of delicious seafood, beef, chicken and pork dishes. Our desserts are as special as our savory ones. We are situated on the beach in front of the Belize Water Express at the end of their dock. We cater to locals and tourist alike. We only create dishes of seafood that have been caught and delivered to us fresh from the local fishermen here in San Pedro and you may see them deliver this fresh fish to us while you are enjoying a refreshing drink or eating a meal from our kitchen. You can indulge in some fresh Sashimi or Poki Tuna while sitting here and enjoying a clear view of the second most longest Reef in the world only half a mile away. We do make fresh vegetarian foods as well for the customers that choose not to eat fish or any meats. Please note: We do take credit cards.
Windsor, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Favorite spot in San Pedro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Licks was my favorite restaurant in San Pedro. It has the best coffee, I have ever tasted, no sugar required. Make this restaurant your first spot upon arriving to the island. Order the fruit plate or bowl of oatmeal for a light breakfast. One night we tried the chicken barbeque with coconut rice, it was delicious. Not only is the food good, the view is tremendous, sitting at the restaurant looking out onto the bluest ocean. It was a pleasure meeting and talking with Mario the owner. He made us feel so welcomed, he was accomadating in many ways from apprising us of upcoming storms in the area, to valuable information helping us to easily naviagate around town. It meant alot to my husband and I, because we were new to the island. Ashley who also works there is very sweet and kind, she wears the most cutest tops and clothes. Licks is a gem of a restaurant not only for the food, service, ambience, but for the genuine good people who work there. Two weeks later, I still miss my morning cup of coffee and fruit plate with Mario, Ashley, and their dogs Blue and Patch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanx for the review.
We try and do really good coffee, because coming from Canada, I know a good cup of coffee! Let's just put it this way, I won't drink coffee if it's bad. Haha. I try and be as friendly as you are to me. Accommodating guests and people who dine with you is apart of the service industry.
Ashley does wear cute stuff.
Miss you guys too!
Hope you come back soon.
Thanx again,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    117
    44
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Coffee on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food was great and the coffee was the best on the island. Try the fresh fruit plate for breakfast - it was loaded with fruit and oh so delicious! It was a a laid back place to sit & enjoy the ocean & the other guests. The owner Mario is very friendly & a excellent host!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanx for the review.
We try to do a bit above everybody else's food on the island and that is what makes it so good. The fruit plate is one of my favourite breakfast dishes.
Thanx again,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Classic beach front dining experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great place to grab a cup of coffee and watch the world pass by! The food was fantastic and the service impeccable. The owner Mario is great for conversation, offering a lot of information on the surrounding area. We'll definitely plan on being back here on our next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanx for the review.
We try our best to satisfy every customer that comes in to our small place.
I try to be as nice as I want other people to be to me.
Thanx again,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hangout spot, great people and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our go-to, hang out spot in San Pedro. Mario and the staff are awesome and you can't beat the view. Good food and drinks, great value and great people!! The Key Lime Pie is the best! The menu changes daily based on the freshest ingredients of the day and Mario will always accommodate any special requests.

During our two weeks in Belize in September 2013, we chose to spend many afternoons and evenings here just hanging out, eating, drinking and socializing with other tourists and locals alike. Great company and good times. Do yourself a favor and stop by Licks. It's directly in front of the water taxi pier which makes for interesting people watching as well.

And if you are an animal lover like me, don't miss meeting Blue and Patch. Thanks for the hospitality and great memories, Mario!

Curtis S., Atlanta, Georgia

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley S, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks for the review.
We try our best to satisfy everyone, and apparently we did great with you. :)
Thanks so much,
Come back soon,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

great johnny cakes, and loved the stuff fry jack. Real maple syrup. Reasonable prices. tasty fruit bowl. would def go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thanx for the review.
The stuffed jack is a creation I thought of and it is delicious.
The fruit plate is good too.
Thanx again,
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licks Beachside Cafe also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Licks Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licks Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.