We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Licks Beachside Cafe

Licks Beachside Cafe
Beachside, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 001111, Belize
+501 226-5425
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 121 Restaurants in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our dishes are made fresh daily. We have a large variety of delicious seafood, beef, chicken and pork dishes. Our desserts are as special as our savory ones. We are situated on the beach in front of the Belize Water Express at the end of their dock. We cater to locals and tourist alike. We only create dishes of seafood that have been caught and delivered to us fresh from the local fishermen here in San Pedro and you may see them deliver this fresh fish to us while you are enjoying a refreshing drink or eating a meal from our kitchen. You can indulge in some fresh Sashimi or Poki Tuna while sitting here and enjoying a clear view of the second most longest Reef in the world only half a mile away. We do make fresh vegetarian foods as well for the customers that choose not to eat fish or any meats. Please note: We do take credit cards.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped by a couple times and were greeted by the owner very warmly each time. The only meal we ate was breakfast, which was delicious. The mimosas were sooo good. Great seating on the sand under some newly transplanted palm trees, also :) Stop by if you get a chance!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanx for the review
Yes those palms are fantastic for the the beach and shade. The mimosas are very good and one of my favourites for morning. The breakfast is always fresh and good.
Thanx for the review see you soon
mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    117
    44
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Menu's and don't except Debit/Credit Cards???? Who are you?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

1st Impressions so are important. The server could have explained the strengths of the dining establishment but didn't. I'm guessing that there are no menu's because all the ingredients are fresh from the ocean so the menu is unknown util it is caught. It is neat in the sense that you are dining on the beach within feet of the ocean. Overall the service was slow for everything (Getting the menu explained, getting the food, getting the bill, finding out they don't except cards after waiting for a long time for them to give the bill, ect.).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Licks is addictive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ate here last Thursday and than everyday for the next four days. Saturday night we were joined by fourteen and the staff didn't miss a "lick". Over that time we tried the lobster, grouper, conch and crab, all were fabulous. The tuna poke was great and Mario sauteed the left overs for my wife, who hates sashimi, and she gobbled it up. We had great Pina Coladas and the Key Lime pie should not be missed. Mario is always a very attentive host/owner and with the help of Frank the service is wonderful. The restaurant is right on the beach with a parade of island color constantly passing by. You can't go wrong trying Licks for breakfast, lunch or dinner, but be warned you will become addicted.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Doctor Doctor, You folks were the best!!!
All the volunteer work you WONDERFUL people do for the local Belizeans is trully AMAZING!!
You donot get recognized enough for what you all contribute to Belize out of the generosity of your very big hearts you all have. This review response to you all is for you not us at licks !!
Thanx for being such wonderfully generous , big hearted people
Thanx very much and for all the people who may read this - GO LOOK AT THE PICTURES ON FACEBOOK AND TRIPADVISOR FOR THE PIC OF THESE AMAZING PEOPLE.
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss Licks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Licks was recommended to us by Susan (owner at Ecological Divers) who spends several months a year on San Pedro. The food was the best we ate all week - and we ate a lot of good food. We sat at a table in the sand ten feet from the water's edge. Perfect ending to a fabulous day of snorkeling and diving!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanx Susan from Ecological divers for recommending us to your guests.
We serve alot of divers from different companies here at licks. We really enjoy talking with divers and listening to your stories of diving. Sitting on the sand by the water is very romantic and peacefull. We are glad that you found our food to be the best as we try always to be the best as if we were eating it ourselves.
See you soon
Thanx for the review
Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Enjoyed dinner at Licks during our recent trip to AC. Owner is very personable and helpful, and the food was excellent. Enjoyed sitting at the tables in the sand by the water. Pleasant experience I would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcer, Owner at Licks Beachside Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanx for the review
We always make with love our food so you eat freshly prepared meals. I stress that we all like great service and being treated like family so we treat people like family and give great service here at licks.
Thanx Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Licks Beachside Cafe also viewed

San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye
 

Been to Licks Beachside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Licks Beachside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.