We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the price! I want to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Tide Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   57 Boca Del Rio Dr, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Chico, California
1 review
“Great place for the price! I want to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

I loved the Tides! I planned this trip for myself and an ex, I went by myself anyway, and had the best time of my life! I had another room booked for the first three nights (Hotel Rio), and decided to find a room for the remainder of my holiday when I arrived. I had looked at The TIdes website and wanted to stay there, but didn't book anything. I found the bar my first hour in San Pedro, and stayed there the whole time :)! Butch is SWEET, as you will see.
There were a few drawbacks, like being located next to the high school, but it made for interesting scenes being played out right in front of me! Everyone was so friendly, and heplful. It's about a ten minute walk to town, but it is so beautiful who cares! They rent bikes but the beach is pretty bumpy to ride on and the bikes not the best. The rooms were cleaned every morning, so if you want to sleep in leave a note on the door!!!! I was able to stay there six nights in three different rooms. I liked the top floor on the corner. I paid cash and received the discount. You can pay for your drinks as you go, or pay the tab at the end, ouch! Thanks to Chabo, Butch, Martin, Tony, Said, Mari, Sagri, Patojo, Sabrina, and the rest of the gang for making my trip the best I've ever had! DeBelize

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the price, the bar
  • Disliked — The early morning activity! That's island life...
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    50
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
74
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

some friends of mine stayed at the tides last year and suggested it to me.it is small and quiet(after 10pm-when it matters)and a family operation.my room was spacious and pretty with cold a/c and a nice tub with plenty of hot water.the bed was very big.it was nice to have a fridge in the room too.breakfast is included with the rate and every morning the staff would fix yummy eggs,ham,toast or johnny cakes,fruit and delicious fresh squeezed orange juice.everyone who works there-from butch the bartender(that title does not do justice to describe all of his duties and the importance of his job)to the ladies who take care of the rooms and fix breakfast(marie and shantel are fabulous)to the paz family(all 8 of them!)and the divemasters(patojo and martin and john-they are all so passionate about the tours)every single member of this staff/family went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and relaxed.it is a few minutes north of the main area of town-just enough to be convenient yet not in a crowded or loud area like some of the more centrally located hotels.i will never stay anywhere else when i visit san pedro!also people should know that the operation is one of a handful that is owned by the locals and the money that is spent there actually stays on the island(where it is needed!)forgo all those snooty private isolated establishments and stay here!!unless you are snooty!i stayed north of the bridge my first visit and missed out on a lot of special interaction with the people who live there-it is much better to stay near town!
the only negative thing i have to say is that the mattress was a bit worn-but it was a king size so there was plently of space to avoid the bumpy parts(again,if you are coming for a memory foam deluxe gazillion dollar mattress than you should either stay home or stay in a resort where you can isolate yourself away from any semblance of real interaction with the beautiful and kind san pedranos)that said,i restate that i will never stay anywhere else-the mattress was sleepable and i had lovely dreams-then i woke up and looked out my window and thought i was still dreaming!!

  • Liked — staff,location,view,wondeful room,staff staff staff!!!!
  • Disliked — a few bumps in the mattress-no big deal
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

We have stayed at the Tides on two occasions and believe that much about the facility is fantastic. The dive shop is good, the divemasters and mates take care of all the needs that visitors have. They also have a tendency to get lazy and take divers to the same dive stops repeatedly, often to the dives closest to the Inn. (This was not the case when Patojo, the owner, took us out He loved showing us new and lesser seen dive sites).

The rooms are small, but well kept. The beds are, for me, uncomfortable, they squeak incessantly against the boards underneath the mattress.

Butch the bartender is the best. He is a classical and wonderful local, known by all, who goes out of his way to make sure that each person's stay is a good experience.

Patojo is a character, more comfortable in the background than with dealing with customers, he has a thousand stories that are a treat to hear.

OK, the big complaint. Summer 07 we visited for a second time; after a great first experience. We checked out the night before we had to leave, paid by Visa, and made our way home. The hurricane went through about 2 weeks later, I sent an email afterwords to see if there was anything I could do to help and to see if everybody was ok. Got a reply a few days later from Sagre (sp) the manager. She said she had made a mistake and submitted our bill through Visa twice, but that she would clear it up. She did not and we had to inform Visa and deny the (second) charge. This was a charge of over $1000. Neither Sagre, nor anybody from the Tides, bothered to contact us again. We were disapointed but, when we return will not be staying at the Tides. I regret this because we really enjoyed the people there.

  • Liked — Location, people
  • Disliked — business dealings
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed at the Tides for four days in March, 2008. I have both praise and criticism of the resort. Here goes...

Praise: The Tides Beach Resort is located just 0.6 kms north of the center of San Pedro, making it far enough away from the town to offer guests quiet at night, but near enough to make restaurants and shops a short, pleasant walk away, either along the beach or along the street.

Their rates are lower than other resorts in the vicinity.
They have a clean pool and a bar.
The swimming area is located at the end of the pier and is kept clean and free of sea grass, permitting easy access to ocean swimming.
Rooms face the ocean and those on the third floor offer a very pleasant view.
The staff is eager to please and can be quite helpful.
The owners operate a dive center, with friendly, safety-oriented dive masters, who can bring guests to any of a number of popular dive sites. Snorkelers can also avail themselves of their guides, who can bring guests to the Hol Chan Marine Reserve, Shark Ray Alley and Mexico Rocks. Dives and snorkeling trips are priced fairly.
Transfers to and from the airstrip or water taxi terminal are included.
Breakfast is included. The breakfast is freshly prepared, functional and tasty. It is nothing fancy.

Criticism: The rooms are functional and clean, but prone to malfunctions. During our visit, several guests complained about non-functional air conditioners. To the owners' credit, our A/C was fixed on our third day (the remote control was damaged by previous guests). Mattresses are not comfortable and no mattress pads are provided. The shower enclosure leaked, necessitating a towel on the floor.
During the day and early evening, the property can be busy and noisy. It is the center for social gatherings for guests, owners' family and friends and locals. By 9 PM, however, the property is mostly quiet.
The issue that presented the biggest concern to us is that some guides employed by the Tides are unlicensed, meaning that the Belize Tourism Police can halt their activity without warning.
This happened during a snorkeling excursion, when a police boat came alongside our boat and asked our guide to board. He was not licensed to bring guests out to sea and we were directed to return to the resort. Now, this issue is complicated by local politics, but I am troubled by the hotel's failure to disclose this information to guests and the resulting potential for safety issues to arise. Our guide said he was 17 years old, but appeared younger. The previous day, we were taken diving/snorkeling by one of the dive masters, clearly licensed and experienced.
To the resorts credit, they apologized and did not charge us for the excursion (we had already snorkeled in one location for 45 minutes).

  • Liked — Location and dive personnel
  • Disliked — Noise and problem with one excursion
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.louis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

Staying at the Tides is literally staying with the Patojo family. all 8 of them. This is a family operation, and home . If you want to totally immerse yourself in Island life this is the place to stay......
Pat and Sabrina own the place Sagreb and Butch do a lot of running it. The Dive shop is very experienced. However Martin is no fisherman..... it is hard up against the beach and the center of Island life along the Coconut Highway. It is a pure joy to watch as locals and tourists alike sing out to Butchie at the bar, as they sail by on the Coconut Highway. The rooms are okay, the food OK.
Pan Dulce Bakery is nearby as is Richie's Mkt.
Ps. The absolute best food is found at Waruguma. (on Middle street or Pescador) 10 minute stroll on the beach from the Tides. Best local product is Jankunu Rum Cream........ You'll see the Crasy signs all around town.

  • Liked — Island life
  • Disliked — Island life
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Ideal for families, located 5 minutes from the town centre on the beach. The rooms were a good size and clean, as was the pool. The hotel is run by a family and you are treated as such - warm and friendly welcome, excellent drink measures and a relaxing and comfortable vibe throughout! Any question or request for help was efficently and immediately dealt with. The dive centre is great (Patojo's) and one I would recommend. Breakfast was great and the menu varied everyday. Would definitely go back!

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

Stayed 1st week of July with family (sisters & b-i-l's). Owners and staff were extremely nice, and place was very casual and laid back - breakfast was set menu (eggs, pancakes or french toast, fruit, coffee/tea, juice) but they would accomidate special food request. Pool and beach bar very cozy - Butch (bar tender) knows everyone. Walk into town was 5-10 minute stroll along beach.
Enjoyed sitting on porch in morning watching sun rise, and locals walking/riding to work - always a friendly wave or greeting.
Diving was ok - drift dives - very casual, but dive staff very helpful - I always like to bring and set up my own equipment, but they caught on quickly and had everything ready. They would assist in rinsing equipment, and stored at dive center. Boat ride out was short - back flip entry - always nurse sharks crusing bottom - no nitrox.
We rented the beach house for 6 people - plenty of room, and kitchen/refrig available to store snacks and Belikin.
Looking forward to return visit!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Tide Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Tide Beach Resort

Address: 57 Boca Del Rio Dr, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#31 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Tide Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town San Pedro, on the island of Ambergris Caye, you will find our beachfront resort with unobstructed reef views. Enjoy snorkeling, diving, fishing, along with free wi-fi all walking distance to downtown.Ocean Tide Beach Resort is Different from Other Belize Vacation Resorts: * Ocean Tides is a property offering an outdoor pool and is located in the beautiful beaches of San Pedro. * We serve breakfast and lunch poolside from the beachside Bar / Lounge, The Lazy Pelican. * Free Wi-Fi access is available in this property. * These functional rooms offer air conditioning, cable TV, coffee maker, and a small fridge. The bathrooms feature a bath and a shower. These rooms overlook the great barrier reef. * Other facilities offered include a tour desk and a laundry. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including snorkeling. * San Pedro Airport can be reached in a 5-minute golf cart drive. The property offers free parking and is located right on Boca del Rio Beach.* Every room has an ocean view: Whether you stay in our charming 2nd floor Beachfront suites or the 3rd floor Reefview suites, you'll treasure the views from your windows. * We're small enough to offer you the best: You'll get individual attention, and won't be over crowded. Our resort is modern and charming. We make people feel like long missed family. * We have our own dive shop, snorkel/fishing guide and massage therapist: We're give you all that a Belize vacation has to offer: mysterious Mayan ruins, world class fishing, spa treatments, boating, jungle exploring, snorkeling, some of the best scuba in the world and plain old beach bumming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and T4B so you can book your Ocean Tide Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Beach Hotel San Pedro
Tides Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Tide Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.