We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place to stay in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Pedrano Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
San Pedrano Hotel
Save Saved
You added San Pedrano Hotel to your Saves list
Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in San Pedro
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute place to stay in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Totally decent place to stay, especially for the price. The room was clean, the lady who runs it is friendly, and if you need anything, a store is conveniently located directly underneath it.

San Pedrano is right off the water taxi station with easy access to the beach and main area of San Pedro.

There's a balcony on the top floor that's nice to sit on and watch the town.

I’d recommend asking for a room that does not face the street as the noise from the golf carts driving by and the surrounding bars on the weekends can be kind of noisy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zell, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I haved stayed in San Pedrano for 2 nights and can only recommend this hotel. For the quality they offer a very good price since San Pedro is in generall not really cheap.
The room was clean, it had a cable TV, 2 fans. The only thing missing was a fridge. If there is a problem they really try to fix it, this might take a while longer but it will be done.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I stayed at the San Pedrano with Florintino Gonzalez and family when no one knew where Belize was on the map! The streets were sand, and everyone knew everyone....including guests who flew to the island. (late 70's-early 80's ) It was a sun-sand-sea-fishing lovers paridise. I was a personal guide to Belize and Guatemala (traveling with only couples) but ended up living on the island for several years before sailing into Guatemala where I remained for 15 years....only to return to San Pedro while sailing. The accomodations are in agreement with the lifestyle one desires...and I didn't want to be pampered...I wanted to "experience". For elegant features, there are other islands in the Easter and Western Caribbean....even in San Pedro if one wants frills, service, and pampering ! The island is one big family. The hotel San Pedrano is your family. Any request would be acknowledged and performed. Prop your feet up, have a "cool one" and enjoy yourself. The nature around you is your "elegant " backdrop.... unexcelled anywhere in the same leisurely manner.. Many small family hotels are not accustomed to catering in "resort" style. Take this into consideration. If you are outgoing and help them know your needs, they will be friendly and helpful. They can be intimidated if you are expecting luxury accommodations or pampering..

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Actually used San Pedrano many times over the years that we would do student groups on San Pedro(until coming to the conclusion that San Pedro is not safe for student groups, or conducive for anything but student drinking - hey, the truth shouldn't hurt) They always were able to reserve every room for us with just 3 or so weeks notice. It was nice in that aspect of having the whole hotel to ourselves. It was never expensive, and of course that meant that sevice and amenities were almost non-existent. C'est la vie. You get what you pay for, and we didn't need much. Always had a fun time, and an unhindered stay.

I would recommend this for people on a budget, and who also want to be right in the center of San Pedro's yucky downtown.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel San Pedrano in December 2007. Although it is a fairly clean small hotel with a decent location in the heart of San Pedro, the hotel staff is almost nonexistent. When we arrived at 3-4pm the office was closed and locked. It is a sort of "mom and pop" place, run by a family who lives in the house below. So we essentially had to knock on their living room door to get them to check us in. Each day thereafter, the main office was NEVER open. We couldn't get help with where to go, how to make a phone call or anything. They also did not inform us we could purchase air conditioning for the room at only $10 US extra per night until we asked the cleaning lady the next day. At check-out, of course they were closed. We again had to bang on their house door to get any service.

It is cheap and clean, and a reasonable place to stay for the budget traveler. However do not expect any service and be prepared to pound on their house door to get your room key. And in Belize where everyone is so friendly, they stand out as quite annoyed by tourists.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff, low celing fans
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

I recently visited san pedro in ambergris caye and stayed at hotel san pedrano. I recommend this hotel for the traveler who doesn't want to spend too much on lodging. The hotel is clean with a decent size bathroom, although the shower water smelled like urine when you first turn it on. Keep in mind that many of the hotels in san pedro are in old buildings and not that spacious. If you want a hotel room with a lot of space and amenities, go with the resorts. I stayed at Lily's hotel as well which is located right next door, and found that it was smaller and costed a little more. I also saw a room at Martha's hotel and found it dark and small. Overall, I think hotel san pedrano is the best one. I paid $65 belize dollars for a triple room with A/C which fits well with my budget. It is located towards the end of the strip and steps away from the beach. don't worry too much about not being in the center of town because san pedro is very small. Everything is within walking distant. However, you can rent out golf carts to get around if you prefer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Pedrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedrano Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
San Pedrano Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pedrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.