We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel, clean and run by locals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Pedrano Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Pedrano Hotel
Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
livingstonguatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value Hotel, clean and run by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

i have stayed at this hotel twice and if i have to return for vacation to San Pedro definitely i will chose this hotel again. There are only two hotels in San Pedro with a decent budget choice but this is one is the perfect place if you want to sleep in a clean room for decent price. Run by a local and friendly family who also has a grocery store in the first floor which is also good for those who wants to buy some juice or fruit in the morning. The best thing of this hotel is the location, everything is close! Stay here...no doubt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

this hotel is a steal for the location alone! Forget pedros inn! that place is inauthentic and honestly not that nice. San pedrano is run by a native family and has that charm of a guest house . They have both a/c and non a/c rooms and all rooms are on a balcony, so you get the lovely breeze and sunshine all the time. I moved from a previous hotel to this one after my first night and running around the island looking for alternatives! this is def the best deal for a good room at a great locations.

ps.. amazing water pressure (always), daily room cleaning, convenient store and restaurant downstairs

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed here for a night with my boyfriend last month and it was a breath of fresh air after the one terrible night we spent at Martha's Hotel. It's what you'd expect from a small, budget hotel that is indeed a "mom and pop" kind of place. Not a good match if you want luxury service and amenities, but the low price, great location and cleanliness of the rooms are what drew us here. It's a bit noisy at night and the walls are thin but it quieted down at a reasonable hour. Overall, a good little place and a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Totally decent place to stay, especially for the price. The room was clean, the lady who runs it is friendly, and if you need anything, a store is conveniently located directly underneath it.

San Pedrano is right off the water taxi station with easy access to the beach and main area of San Pedro.

There's a balcony on the top floor that's nice to sit on and watch the town.

I’d recommend asking for a room that does not face the street as the noise from the golf carts driving by and the surrounding bars on the weekends can be kind of noisy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I haved stayed in San Pedrano for 2 nights and can only recommend this hotel. For the quality they offer a very good price since San Pedro is in generall not really cheap.
The room was clean, it had a cable TV, 2 fans. The only thing missing was a fridge. If there is a problem they really try to fix it, this might take a while longer but it will be done.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I stayed at the San Pedrano with Florintino Gonzalez and family when no one knew where Belize was on the map! The streets were sand, and everyone knew everyone....including guests who flew to the island. (late 70's-early 80's ) It was a sun-sand-sea-fishing lovers paridise. I was a personal guide to Belize and Guatemala (traveling with only couples) but ended up living on the island for several years before sailing into Guatemala where I remained for 15 years....only to return to San Pedro while sailing. The accomodations are in agreement with the lifestyle one desires...and I didn't want to be pampered...I wanted to "experience". For elegant features, there are other islands in the Easter and Western Caribbean....even in San Pedro if one wants frills, service, and pampering ! The island is one big family. The hotel San Pedrano is your family. Any request would be acknowledged and performed. Prop your feet up, have a "cool one" and enjoy yourself. The nature around you is your "elegant " backdrop.... unexcelled anywhere in the same leisurely manner.. Many small family hotels are not accustomed to catering in "resort" style. Take this into consideration. If you are outgoing and help them know your needs, they will be friendly and helpful. They can be intimidated if you are expecting luxury accommodations or pampering..

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Actually used San Pedrano many times over the years that we would do student groups on San Pedro(until coming to the conclusion that San Pedro is not safe for student groups, or conducive for anything but student drinking - hey, the truth shouldn't hurt) They always were able to reserve every room for us with just 3 or so weeks notice. It was nice in that aspect of having the whole hotel to ourselves. It was never expensive, and of course that meant that sevice and amenities were almost non-existent. C'est la vie. You get what you pay for, and we didn't need much. Always had a fun time, and an unhindered stay.

I would recommend this for people on a budget, and who also want to be right in the center of San Pedro's yucky downtown.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Pedrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pedrano Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
San Pedrano Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Pedrano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added San Pedrano Hotel to your Saves list