We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel: Clean, safe, inexpensive, CHEAP BEER right on the beach!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Save
You added Ruby's Hotel to your Saves list
Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel: Clean, safe, inexpensive, CHEAP BEER right on the beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ruby's during our honeymoon. It is a family- run business. Our room was cleaned daily, sheets changed every 3 days, and towels changed every 2 days. The johnnycakes and fryjacks at Ruby's cafe were newsworthy, inexpensive, and something to look forward to every morning. Right across the street at Celi's Deli they also have a bangin' breakfast special. There was a security guard to walk the premises at night to keep everyone safe. At first I was worried that the guard would tell us to go into our rooms because we were partying with the other travelers, but he was just making sure that no one harassed us and that we weren't jumping off the third story and getting hurt. :-) The beer at Ruby's is ridiculously cheap: $3 BZ or $1.5 US if you could get it before 7 (when the "office"/ concession closes). There were 3 patio/ balcony areas with ample seating to read a book, relax, play games, or just have a beer on. Overall, San Pedro was awesome, and Ruby's made our trip fantastic.
*Note* If you like staying at resorts, overpaying to have the comfort of home while in foreign countries, and having your butt wiped for you while on vacation, then this is probably not the place for you. If you are not too prissy and just looking to have a clean, fun, and safe place to crash at night, then Ruby's is perfect for you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
52
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I've stayed at Ruby's 3 times this past year and just left a few days ago. I've stayed in AC and non-AC rooms and each has been comfortable. They are cheap, clean, friendly and convenient and I know I'll stay there every time I'm in San Pedro. They are in the heart of the town, a 2 minute walk from my favorite dive shop (Island Divers Belize), favorite bar (Wahoo's Lounge) and the cafe in the morning is the perfect place to pick up a johnny cake and some coffee to start the day. There is wifi and they are right on the beach...so what more can you ask for? Only complaint is the pounding bass at night from surrounding clubs, but that's not their fault, and the best way to fix that is just stay out and party! No frills for sure, but comfortable and clean and I'm counting the days until I head back to the island and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

It got to the point I was PROUD that I had found Ruby's. We'd go out and discuss our hotels with others and they'd tell me they spent $XX for basically the same thing I got at half the price with a much better location. Ruby's is on the beach in the heart of town with a great view, private bath, they cleaned the room daily, it was cheap, best deal on the island. They even had a security guard hanging out on the deck at night to make sure no one came up who wasn't supposed to be there. Their bakery in the front was good too but get there in the morning because by noon most of the stuff is gone. Smart, simple travelers stay at Ruby's and then can take the money they saved to buy a lobster dinner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Ruby's was beach-front and in a great location in San Pedro Town. Close to everything.. had a two minute walk to reach our day-trip departure points. Friendly staff, very clean rooms (basic - nothing fancy), great price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIngsbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

This is the best budget digs I have ever stayed in, Room 12 mattress is as comfy as home, cool breeze straigh into the room, good quality bathrooms with a wardrobe (and hangers!!). The little cafe downstairs means you can have a nice cup of tea on the balcony looking out over the beach or looking down at the rush hour golf carts trundling by ... we loved it so much we stayed a week.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Some of the best and least expensive food on the island is located downstairs, the cheapest beer on the island is served from the palapa hut on the beach right in front of the hotel, the view is equal to any other beach front establishment on Ambergris, the staff is great and it's ridiculously cheap. If you want mints on your pillow then pick some up at the airport and DIY.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

2nd stay @ Ruby's in late August, 2010. Had another great experience. Stayed in Room #12 (third floor @ the top of the stairs). No AC, but didn't need it as the breeze off the ocean was famous. Met so many great people who were staying at the hotel as well. Really didn't spend alot of time @ the hotel--other than @ night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.