We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Save
You added Ruby's Hotel to your Saves list
Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in San Pedro - consider Ruby's. Its not a 5 star resort. You won't find satellite TV, mini bars, in room safes or fancy buffets. But, if you want a clean room with a comfortable bed , friendly staff and great service then this is a good choice. We spent 9 nights at Ruby's and we were very happy with our accommodation. If you have a room facing the street you will have to deal with noise but the "beach side" is fine. There's character here that you don't find at the fancy up scale resorts - coffee and breakfast on the patio with some of the locals will help you appreciate the history of the island and the stories are to be treasured. The ladies in the little coffee shop are most accommodating as are the staff in the beach office. Sometimes the best vacations aren't found at an all inclusive resort , they're found in spending time in simple comfortable surroundings with friendly , honest people - Ruby's in San Pedro. Ambergris Caye, Belize.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back facing the ocean are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
6
53
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here on our way to a resort. Frankly, I would have rather stayed here for the week instead of the resort. This place is no frills. It is simply a clean bed and bathroom that has a beautiful beach on one side and cute streets to stroll around on the other. If you are the type of traveler that freaks out about amenities in a room this isn't for you. For us it was cheap and awesome:) I would happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were on the 3rd floor in an air-conditioned, queen bed room so we were not awakened by the patio or cafe noise. However, there was a bar you could hear loud and clear until pretty late. The bed was rock hard. This is NOT a luxury place. In fact, we went and bought a bottle of bleach and cleaned our bathroom at the beginning of a five night stay.

With that said, it was only $55/night and so much cheaper than the next step up, which is NOT that much better. With San Pedro, you need to drop $300+ a night or it really isn't worth it to pay $150 for something barely better than Ruby's. It provided us with a homebase where we slept and felt that our belongings were safe. It has free wifi, a cheap cafe below, and is in a phenomenal location.

The only thing keeping them from a 5/5 star rating was that they said if we stayed 5 nights then we could stay for $50 a night (rather than $55/night). We paid for the first 4 nights and expected to only pay $30 on the last night for a total of $250, but then they claimed they made no such deal with us. It wasn't worth it to pack up all our things for just that last night, so we paid the full $275, but that was definitely shady on their part.

Room Tip: Try to work a discount with the more nights you stay, the cheaper it gets. I would pay with a credi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cvguru
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A colonial looking timber structure on the sea front owned and operated by local Belizeans, so straight away I was seduced by Ruby's charms.

It reminded me of the kinds of hotels I used to stay in in Belize back in the 1980s: timber; colonial and basic; functional but all a man needs.

The staff are charming, gorgeous (muy guapa) and very helpful. The room reminded me of the kind of room that Martin Sheen was in at the beginning of the film 'Apocalypse Now'.

I was tempted to replicate the scene where Martin Sheen goes a bit bonkers and ends up punching the mirror and then weeping like a baby with blood spattered white sheets wrapped around his naked body. But there wasn't a mirror and I don't approve of mindless acts of destruction, it's not very responsible is it?

Anyway, I digress. Suffice to say that if you want a bed, with a bathroom, and to meet some of the most eccentric characters you could shake a stick at, go to Ruby's. They don't do Ruby Murries (curries) but then no one is perfect.

Belize or bust !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were booked here for 4 nights and left after 1 night. We were in the room on the ground floor next to the patio.

SUMMARY: OVERPRICED for what you get. Does not support relaxing - fine if you are here to party until the wee hours of the night, but avoid at all costs if you are here on a diving trip or with family (or some other reason you value your sleep).

CONS:
1. LOUD. Close to bars - there was bass shaking our walls until 2am (Thursday night/Friday morning) and then drunk people yelling at 5am from the beach to the 2nd floor patio. Then a few older men were on the 1st floor patio at 5:30am to see the sunrise; they were speaking at a normal (if not quiet) voice, but it was as if they were right next to us (thin walls).
2. STINGY. There were 2 bath towels (poor quality) and they would not give us more towels on request for the beach.
3. LOCATION. Not suitable for relaxation - there were people outside trying to sell handmade goods until late in the evening, which was uncomfortable because they were about 30 feet from our door.
4. LIMITED OFFICE HOURS. If you need any help outside of 8am-6pm, you're on your own. By the way, the hours listed are 8am-6:30pm (which is still insufficient).

PROS:
1. Good service. We moved rooms twice - first to avoid what we expected to be a noisy night. Second, to move back to our original room because the other room didn't have wifi.
2. Free wifi - but poor quality. Fine for browsing the internet, but not sufficient for Skype.
3. View. Our room had a great view of the beach, which was maybe 100 feet away.

Room Tip: Don't stay here...stay north of San Pedro downtown for a quieter place. You'll spend a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is very noisy. They have a restaurant that opens at 330 am and lots of people also come home from the bar and make noise. I had a room on the ground floor and there are also chairs for people to sit and people came home all hours of the night and made noise. It's very simple also. No tv, or anything. It's just too noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
134 hotel reviews
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at $40B per night. Single room with fan. Free wifi in room and out on deck and surrounds. Friendly helpful staff. Room 20 downstairs fine for a solo traveller but does pick up the breakfast noise from the street and anyone on the deck late at night, including the security guy...so maybe ear plugs would be handy but didn't really notice it after the first night. Bathroom large functional and clean. Very central to everything and a good solid clean safe option. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.