We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap place great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Save Saved
You added Ruby's Hotel to your Saves list
Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap place great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are back packing and on a budget this is a great location. It has a nice area to lay on the beach. Very close to the water taxi and night life. Simple rooms biggest down fall no air conditioning but you do get Wifi.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
5
51
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Backpacker suited with decent rooms. We stayed here for four nights the price initially was $40USD which dropped to $35USD per night without us asking.
You can hear a faint beat of music & happy tourists at night but with the fan on it drowns out the noise. I'm a light sleeper but it didn't keep me awake at all. It's far enough away from the main spots to not need ear plugs but just a short stroll up the beach.

Some of the best dive schools at the front door. I went with Ecological Divers a bit further up the beach but they are all same price.

It's fine for what you pay. Don't get jealous by all the other lovely hotels on the island. They are at least twice the price. Recommended by lonely planet I would stay here again.

Try get on the top floor for views & much needed breeze!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ruby's for 4 nights. The room was always clean when we came back at the end of the day, which was a nice surprise. The value was not bad; $60 US a night for a room with AC. The service, however, wasn't so good. In my opinion, when you have a hotel there should be someone around most of the time in case customers have problems or questions. This was not the case. There were 2 days that there was absolutely no one around, which wasn't very professional.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Clean enough. But the bed is horrible. Make sure you get a room beach side. Street side is extremely noisy and it was really difficult for me to sleep.
Wouldn't be surprised if better options are available on the island for the same price. I just stayed for 2 nights, so it was OK.

Room Tip: Make sure you get beah side. Street side is too noisy to have a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location couldn't be better. You're right on the beach, and the rooms on the upper level overlook the ocean. However..... this place needs a serious session of bleach. The tables on the communal balconies hadn't seen a clean cloth in months. The rooms were clean enough, but if you're in San Pedro, you want to be outside in the communal areas of the hotel, not your room. The beach was very noisy at night, as there's a club out on one of the boardwalks that plays music until 3am, so bring ear plugs.

The young girl who seemed to be running the hotel was not helpful. We'd been promised an ocean view room, in writing in an email, and this girl wouldn't have any of it. We were allowed an ocean view room for a few days, and then at the crack of dawn she came banging on our door waking us up to move downstairs to another room, as someone wanted our room. She was really rude about it, and pretty much that ruined the rest of our stay there to be honest.

The patch of beach outside our hotel was supposedly reserved for hotel guests only, but all the locals & touts used it as their hangout, and no one in the hotel asked them to move on so that guests could actually sit on the loungers.

The hotel's location is PERFECT, and that's what you're ultimately paying for. The people who run this hotel really let it down. I probably would stay again, but only because of their budget friendly rates.

Also, go to Estelle's for breakfast - don't bother with their breakfasts

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper level if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We wanted to stay at several different places while on the island. We stay at Ruby's 2 nights.
It's a clean bed and a shower. Close to the City Center and at a very reasonable price. The price is very attractive and you are close to everything. You might hear music late into the night and city activities early in the morning. For this part of our trip we didn't want anything more than a bed. 1 block from the airport. Right on the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Its the cheapest spot on the "beach" in San Pedro. There really is no reason to be in San Pedro for more than a night or two anyway. So it did the trick. The room with private bath was ok, mattress was one of the worst I've ever had, springs shot up like spikes, but whatever it's cheap. The music was no big deal at all so don't fret that. You should be in Caye Caulker anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#42 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.