We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what do you expect for $44 a night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Hotel
Save
You added Ruby's Hotel to your Saves list
Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Altanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“what do you expect for $44 a night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This hotel was what you would expect for the price .. you hear any and all noise from the 2 inch gap under the door lol.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
6
52
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
as yet unknown
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had to check in during an emergency and after some initial hesitation, they let us check in quite early in the morning (about 6:15 am), for no extra fee (they initially wanted to charge us a whole extra day!) the room was clean and basic and comfortable enough. Ours faced the street, but there were decks on each level and loungers on the beach. I don't really recommend this island in general - the beaches aren't too great, the streets are dusty, and literally everything is crazy-overpriced (example: $4.50 USD for a cheap pre-packaged ice cream bar in a deli. What?!) Caye Caulker, although it has its own annoyances to be sure, is a better base if you want to be in the area for snorkeling or diving. You can't swim anywhere here but if you want to sit in the sun near palms and don't mind it being very very crowded and guys constantly offering to sell you weed, go for it. If I had to stay on this island again I would happily stay at Ruby's again (although the shower curtain and rod did fall down on me.) We paid $40 USD for a room with two twin beds facing the street. Seems crazy for Central America but probably a good deal for this overpriced and overrated island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed at Ruby's twice now, and both times I was happy with the experience. It is VERY basic but also incredibly cheap; a private room with shared bathroom goes for $20 a night. It is located right on the beach in central San Pedro and has decks on the 2nd and 3rd floors that look right onto the ocean. The cafe downstairs does takeout breakfast and lunch that is good and super affordable. I agree with the reviewer that said to bring earplugs; there is a bar right across the street that has music blaring pretty late, but with earplugs I slept just fine (and my room was facing the bar). It's a good idea to make reservations ahead of time, because this is a very popular spot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ruby's is a budget hotel with basic accommodations. It's right on the beach and close to many of the restaurants and shops in San Pedro. We stayed as a member of a mission team group. The rooms are comfortable. Our room had good beds, sea breezes, and bathroom with shower. While there is no AC, the provided fans made the room quite comfortable. There's cold beer and drinks for sale on the beach all day. The coffee shop on the first floor serves good coffee and some baked goods. If you're looking for basic accommodations at a reasonable price, Ruby's fits the bill.

Room Tip: Pick one on the ocean side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our first time to San Pedro and Ruby's; we were not disappointed at all. We had room #10, 3rd floor, end unit (room) so we actually had two windows and a door to open and let the trade winds circulate our room! We also had a fan, so it was just great! I was originally concerned with the bed, but found our room to have a queen sized pillow-topped mattress, which was VERY confortable!! The view from our room on the 3rd floor was the best, because the second floor was blocked by foliage. We ate at Ruby's, had the Johnny Cakes and Fry Jacks, but also found that Neri's (1 1/2 blocks west, on the left) had great b'fkast and so very very inexpensive! Our favorite place to eat turned out to be Warugama's, on middle street, a couple of blocks north of Ruby's. You must have the lobster Pupusas there!!!!
There is also an Internet Cafe, about 1/2 block from Rubys, that you can use for $2.50 (US) for 20 minutes.
The younger crowd is crazy, and yes, with your windows open, you will hear the LOUD music, talking, the bass of the music with boom , boom until the wee hours of the morning. But, it is what it is.
We found a styrofoam cooler, and put it in our room with ice for drinks. The Belikin beer is really good in San Pedro.
We did a couple of snorkeling excursions, both with Tuff-E-Nuff tours, right on our dock. We enjoyed them both immensely. Talk with Jacky and Raqul, they are very helpful, and we found that they were less expensive than most.
We would go back, and would request room #10. Enjoy your stay in San Pedro!

Room Tip: We recommend the third floor, because of the view -
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Yes yes the rooms are old, the sheets are threadbare but the third floor deck is absolutely perfect and the location "can't be beat"... bring earplugs for sure because the young crowd is pretty loud, all night long....
San Pedro is party town, so just know that there are always trade offs and this one is location, location, location....it feels like an adventure, just being there....

Room Tip: Room 11 has a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for six nights- cost US$30 for a double room with fan and WIFI. We had a downstairs room which was ok. The room was a good size with a double and single bed. The mattress on the double bed was so thin and made the bed feel so hard that we had to move the mattress from the single bed on to the double bed and sleep on top of that! The room had a fan but it did get very stuffy at times.

There wasn’t any daylight really coming in to the room either so it was dark for most of the time. Our room was beside a storage room where glass bottles were kept so each morning at 6.30, there was glass bottles being moved around and people talking! Not a very quiet room!

The bathroom was fine- hot water in the shower. Storage in the room was ample. The staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is set overlooking the beach so it is in a really nice setting. The beach is small though and not what you would expect for a beach!

Overall, this hotel was ok. It was the cheapest option we could find in San Pedro and did the job!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | P.O. Box 56, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Pedro
#39 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rubys Hotel San Pedro
Ruby's Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.