We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, gem of a place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capricorn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capricorn Resort
Save
You added Capricorn Resort to your Saves list
Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A friendly, gem of a place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in cabin #2 at Capricorn for 5 nights in February 2013 and just loved this place. We didn't lock the door to our cabin the whole time we stayed here - even at night. This is a very safe and friendly part of the island. We wandered up and down the beach - even late at night without any problems - despite being advised not to do this closer to San Pedro. The staff at Capricorn (Maggie, Jose, Kenrick, Elvis, Byron, Adam) and the owner Kit were so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We just loved them all and were sad to say goodbye at the end of our trip. The bartender Clive makes the BEST CocoLoco cocktails on the island. We ate at the restaurant many times and really enjoyed the ceviche and numerous other fresh fish dishes they serve. We left the windows to our cabin open at night and the beautiful sea breezes blew in to keep us cool so we didn't need to turn on the air conditioning. The resort has bikes which we used to explore the island to the north and south. We did yoga on the dock each morning and there is also a kayak for guests to use too. If staying here, I'd recommend trying dinner at Ahi's (walking distance south along the beach) or Mambo's at Matachica (they will pick you up by boat). Avoid the so called Belizean BBQ at Captain Morgan's - its terrible.

Room Tip: There are only 3 cabins. Cabin #1 is slightly closer to the ocean. Cabin #2 had two double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    18
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pulling in to the back entrance to Capricorn off of the bumpy one lane road to North Beach, one would not have expected to be scolded for not having reservations by the cranky owner. They did seat my kids and I and the food was very good but I just couldn't believe the arrogance of man. Wr were not recommended to the restaurant by anyone so it's not like his place is the talk of the town! The next day on our way to town in the daylight, my daughter noticed that not once on any of the tacky hand painted Capricorn signs did it say "Reservations Recommended."

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Let's start with this - the owners are divorced and still live on the resort...a slight feeling of dysfunctional reality show. The strange thing is this makes the place feel more genuine and just like home.
The cabanas are not top class in any way...but with only three of them (of which the ex-wife lived in one of them together with her new boyfriend!) this only added to the feeling of actually visiting in someones home rather than the usual resort feeling.
Now to the real treat (no, regardless of what everyone is writing here it's not the food - which is great and only beaten by Elvi's Kitchen in San Pedro village) - the staff!!
Maggie, Jose, Kendrick, Byron and everyone else - they act like they all owned the place. They are warm, genuine, personal and just...well, wonderful in every sense. They treat you like a long lost family member, taking care of you in a way that is far from the usual "professional" and superimposed way that you most often meet in vacation destinations like this. Thanks everyone for a wonderful week. Buy the place from Kit and make it your own!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went over to Capricorn to eat twice and the food was wonderful. While eating we noticed that they had a spa, my friend and myself decided on a massage. My friend is a massage therapist and she felt it was a very good experience. We had Mel as our massage therapist.
Mel is new to Capricorn and I believe a great asset.
We had Maggie as our waitress, she was kind and friendly. We had a wonderful experience at Capricorn.
We did not stay overnight. We were at a resort close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently visited Capricorn with three friends on an annual Scuba diving trip. We were all very impressed with the atmosphere and quality of food. The first thing you will notice is the big smile from Maggie when you are greeted to be seated. She has a wonderful laid back Belize-an spirit that makes you instantly feel both welcomed and comfortable. We ordered "off" menu slightly and were fully accomondated on our request. The wine list is only surpassed by the excellent fish quality cooked to perfection. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal with friends or a romantic ocean side dinner.

Room Tip: Don't forget to try the home made hot sauce!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch at the restaurant here. The setting was perfect, some outdoor seating, some indoor, both were very beautiful and very tropical.
The service was great, they were about to close for lunch, but they sat us and got us our food quickly but not too quickly.
The food was wonderful. We had a salad with lobster that was amazing, then the rice and beanns and stone crabs. All the food was fanastic, tasty and fresh. Would definitely not miss this place if going to San Pedro!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I have dined at the restaurant at least 4 times in the past few months. The setting is gorgeous - open air dining, right on the water. The food is always perfect - try their crab claws...so fresh, sweet and well priced! Every time we have had Maggie as our waitress - she always does a great job!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capricorn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capricorn Resort

Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Capricorn Hotel San Pedro
Capricorn Resort San Pedro
Capricorn Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capricorn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.