We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location for diving and fishing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Princess Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mayan Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mayan Princess Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location for diving and fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is older but its very clean and well kept. The Wifi is limited but you can use the site from the dive shop next door in your room. That's what makes this place so great. Diving or fishing is just right there out front. Takes about 5 minutes max to get there. The other places on the Island usually transfer you down which takes 30 minutes or more. The early morning departures for Blue Hole and others distant areas leaves at 5:30 A.M. If you have the hotel transfer it means getting up about 4:00. At the MP you get up about 5:00 and walk over to Amigo's Dive shop for coffee. Good fishing here too. The guide that docks in front of the hotel took me on some great fishing trips. His name is Abell and the MP can line you up.

Room Tip: Upper floors are great. End rooms are somewhat larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a great local hotel in the center of San Pedro. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and have balconies that overlook the beach in the center of town. Moreover the hotel is directly across from the Amigos Del Mar Dive Shop, the best and most professional on Ambergris Caye (5 stars). We made a package deal with this hotel for accommodation and dive package that was of great value despite some last minute changes that we had to make (wife had ear problems and could not dive). I cannot say enough about the ease of making these arrangements through Adelita Valladarez on the hotel staff.

Wifi is limited to the hotel lobby and the room above this lobby but if you are diving with Amigos you can access their wifi from the balcony of the rooms on the north end of the hotel. The continental breakfast presented in the lobby is OK but we usually go down the the street to MT's, a little hole in the wall restaiurant south of the hotel on front street for Johnny cakes, omlettes, breakfast burritos and atomic coffee which we bring back to the room to eat on the balcony.

Being in the centre of town the place can be noisy but you soon get used to the local bustle and the friendly staff.

There ain't no swimming pool but you are conveniently located in front of a long beach with a great marine reserve not far offshore. Go south of the hotel for a ways to find good swimming.

Very handy location for walking to the dive shop for those early and mid- morning dive trips.

Room Tip: If you are hot for wifi choose Room 8 above the lobby. Room 14 at the other end gets Amigos wifi rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The service was great, and the rooms were amazing! Our room was huge, and the balcony was wonderful. The hotel truly is right next to the ocean and right in the heart of town. The only problems were that the bathroom is incredibly small and the breakfast was horrible, but these are small prices to pay for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic room --like a florida condo--staff great-on the ocean- clean centrally located $80 and a bargain- had reservations at Pedro's Inn ROOM LIKE FLORIDA CONDO--STAFF GREAT- ON THE OCEAN-CLEAN- CENTRALLY LOCATED- $80 AND A BARGAIN-- had reservations at Pedro's Inn (real dump ) and checked into this hotel instead-- great move for sure

Room Tip: The Mayan Princess was like a Florida Condo on the beach--$80 a real bargain-- On the beach and cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved our stay at the Mayan Princess it is right in the middle of the action. Excursions, the water taxi were close by and an easy walk to everything, even the airport! The French doors opened right on the beach. My only small complaint would be no wifi in the room, but free wifi in lobby with a small continental breakfast and the best cable TV(in the room). The staff was great, the beds were comfortable and we plan to return.

Room Tip: We asked to see several rooms and they accommodated us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Came down for the week before Christmas with my boyfriend. Could not have asked for a better place to be while trying to relax, pre-holiday madness. I have been staying at the Mayan Princess for at least 5 or 6 years, and have been coming to San Pedro for about 15 (this was my 8th trip). The Mayan Princess is by far my favorite place to stay. It is convenient to everything in town, whether you're looking for a place to eat, a diving/snorkeling activity (go to AMIGOS right in front of the Mayan Princess) or just something fun to do. The staff is amazing and more than willing to accommodate any need you may have. Also, the rooms are fully equipped with a stove top, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, etc - so we were able to make a nice dinner in the room a few nights (got a great deal on lobster tails!). Breakfasts downstairs every morning are key too - breads, fruits, coffee, etc.! Definitely coming back... Again and again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a great stay! We fell in love with our room at first site. It was very uplifting with elegant French doors leading to our outdoor patio right on the beach. It was like being on the beach with the comfort of having a living room, kitchen, bedroom, drawers, big closet and bathroom. Everything you need is provided. What could be greater? Well, having staff to clean for you and take care of you when you lose your wallet or seriously cut yourself with a knife. The staff returned my wallet I carelessly left outside of the room. They also have a computer with internet to use. We look forward to staying their again. San Pedro is so pleasant. I just get an overall happy and warm feeling from being there and sitting in our room, on the patio, walking the streets, and eating at the many delicious restaurants. The Belizean Fudge Ice Cream with hot fudge is also delicious. Hemmingway’s had the best all natural 100% real juice drinks in the world, next to the ones I make of course. They also have great breakfasts and lunch. We really enjoyed dining at the Phoenix Resort, Red Ginger restaurant (www.redgingerbelize.coom) as well and the Mesa Café. They all take time to talk, to make sure they please you, going out of their way to serve whatever you want, when you want it, with style, attractive plates of delicious food, including special drinks they recommend and luscious deserts. We love chocolate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayan Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Princess Hotel

Address: Ambergris Caye, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Princess Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mayan Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Princess San Pedro
Hotel Mayan Princess
Mayan Princess Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.