We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Reasonably Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Banana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simple, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Banana Beach is a simple resort south of San Pedro. We spent one night there and it served its purpose, however may have fallen short for a longer stay. Staff was great and helpful, however hot water in the shower was hard to come by. Basic, clean accommodations, with a great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    96
    54
    16
    12
See reviews for
46
116
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Banana Beach for a week. We chose it because we got a good deal (5 nights for the price of 7, $75 US at the restaurant). All things considered, it was a good choice. The staff was incredibly helpful, the room was clean, and the restaurant was delicious. There are a couple things to consider, however. Unless you pay for a oceanfront suite, you'll have a limited ocean view, our king bed was actually two twin beds pulled together, and the jacuzzi isn't heated up. All in all, if you're looking for a clean, affordable place to stay while you explore San Pedro, Banana Beach is a nice choice. If you're looking for luxury, pay more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I thought I had written a review for BB, but I guess not, as it wasnt here when i began to look into another trip to San Pedro.

I would gladly return to his little quaint place anytime. Staff is wonderful, place is clean and cheaply priced.

Good bang for the buck!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The only nice thing I can say about Banana Beach is that the staff was very nice. Other than that it was not good. First they should remove the work "Resort", not even close more like a hotel. There are no services provided like (drinks and lunch served at pool or beach side), there is a bar with stools, but it was never pulled out to be used. The restaurant is located on the street side so you don't have a nice ocean view. There wasn't any hot water or even water pressure. And I mean none. We literally had a trickle of water the entire week. We asked for it to be fixed twice but apparently it couldn't be fixed because nothing changed. We had to upgrade our room because the first one was pathetic, the little frig was also used as a night stand.....Seriously! We wanted to rent bikes one day, but when they pulled the bikes out the bikes were older than me, we had to oil the chains and then we were about 1/2 mile up the road and a tire blew. We walked back to get another on but the ones left were in worse shape. We asked if they would pay for a taxi ($5) to take us in town so we could rent better bikes somewhere and they said no. If you offer a service you better be able to provide it. Our trip to Ambergris Caye was amazing, but we will NEVER and I mean NEVER stay here again and I hope I can keep friends and family from stay here it was that bad.

Room Tip: Simple - Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Front desk ignored my complaints, one lady was somewhat helpful and told me to sit at the restuarant. No access in the rooms. Rooms are dated and bathroom smells funny, but clean. Overpriced, IMHO. But beach area is great--snorkelers out this morning, one of the only swimmable beach accesses on the island. Would rather pay $30/USD a night instead of $115.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We got a room here through a package that included some dive trips, and the room price came out to be quite low, around $70 a night, during a week preceding the holiday rush.

For that, I thought it was a very good deal. The room was your basic hotel pad -- TV, large bed that was actually two twins pushed together (you can ask for an extra bed too), small balcony, small table and chairs, bathroom. A lot of the rooms in the place have more amenties -- for instance many include a kitchenette - but we were going budget so this is what we got.

Banana Beach is in a terrific location. You're just a short walk from some of the fancier places like Victoria House or Ramon's, and you're right on the beach. It's also not far from the town of San Pedro. So there's plenty of nice restaurants and beachfront thatch-roof bars a short walk away. Banana Beach's restaurant wasn't bad - had a continental breakfast there a couple of times and also sampled the ceviche. Happy hour drink specials are good too - particularly the Pina Colada.

Overall, like I said, this isn't super lux. But for someone who wants a comfy place to stay in a great location with all Ambergis Caye has to offer, this will do the trick without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holidays. I have nothing but good things to say about this resort. We had an ocean view room and it was outstanding. We particularly enjoyed the sunrises. The room was very big and always clean. My only complaint was the wifi service. We were given the password, etc. but were never able to connect. The only place we could connect was the restaurant. Other than that, it was awesome! We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Address: Coconut Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#36 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.