We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Banana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Banana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great room with an ocean view. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was not great for vegetarians.

The tours offered by their Travel Shoppe are more expensive than those available in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    109
    60
    20
    15
See reviews for
51
131
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

There was nothing that I didn't love about Banana Beach Resort. The staff was friendly, they gave us advice and set us up with a great snorkeling guide. The rooms were clean and comfortable, loved the fact that they had kitchens. We stayed on the first floor, ocean front. Falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean right outside your door is not to be missed! The entire island is walkable/bike able, go out onto the flats near the gym and look at conch. Snorkel around the docks, eat the food from the trucks, and most of all have fun! This island has captured my heart forever.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We have stayed here twice with family & friends and are fond of this low key spot. The rooms definately need updating but they are nice and roomy - all have a kitchen which is handy for snacks & storing drinks. It's a short walk along the beach to the main strip where you have a choice of a few good eateries and bars. The on site restaurant, El Divino's, is very good. The serve excellent breakfast which is included in the room price. You get a choice of 4 or 5 options as well as coffee/tea and juice. Staff are super friendly. Also on site is a v good travel shop which can arrange any kind of tour you want plus golf cart rentals. When we did a fishing trip the restaurant cooked up our catch in 4 different styles - hard to beat freshly caught fish cooked up by a chef. The hotel has 2 swimming pools and a bar which is steps from the beach (where we saw a ray swimming around every day). Staff will bring drinks to your chair and also lunch. They are so hospitable it's amazing. Unfortuately the new owners are not so friendly and it has last a bit of it's charm since we was there 5 yrs ago. The bathrooms could do with an update, the TV is tiny and some of the wood near the main pool needs repair. Having said that, I would def. stay there again. The staff really are so friendly and welcoming and help to create a v relaxing vibe.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars and get a beach view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were very disappointed as we walked into our room at banana beach resort. The furnishings were very dated, the bath tub was very small, the knobs were rusty and breaking, the tiles were falling apart..the rooms are just average. But, the staff definitely is friendly. It is also on the south end of the town, about a 30 minutes walk from downtown. Though it is a nice walk on the beach, i would have preferred to stay in the center of the town and explore the northern part of the island as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I've been to Belize twice and if you're planning on going, I think I can offer some helpful advise. Don't expect opulance, but plan on real fun. Take a good camera (I recommend the Sony Cybershot TX10 Waterproof to 16ft for great underwater photos). Pack some mosquito spray. The little critters can be a nuisance. Banana Boat Resort on San Pedro Island has two nice pools and is right on the beach. Their tour/travel office can book scuba, snorkeling, fishing trips, Mayan temple tours and lots more. Their staff is very friendly and helpful. The massage hut offered a superb massage. The weather is fantastic. Driving around San Pedro is easy with golf carts the primary mode of transportation. There are several really nice restaurants they can refer or eat in the hotel. Belize is a great place to visit that is off the beaten path but still pretty comfortable. Friendly people with English as the primary language. Every year the quality of the infrastructure and tourism improves. Check it out!

Room Tip: A room facing the Caribbean so you'll have a nice private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I travel to this little jewel every March. A Canadian couple purchased the business a couple of years back and quite frankly it kind of lost it's charm. They didn't market to the States at all. Rumor has it that the previous owners have taken control again which is great news. Belize is nothing like Mexico, so if you are expecting fake gold water faucets and toilets, you will not get that here. It is a quaint villa with friendly people and easy access to many activities. The decor of the rooms are kind of dated, but who cares, you are in paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a bottom floor beach view. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Comfortable place to stay at. The staff are very nice and helpful and all times. It does have one of the nicest beaches and swim area on San Pedro. We go for a month every year and we like the location. The rooms are comfortable also. I would go back for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Pick a Beach front room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Beach Resort

Address: Sea Grape Drive | PO Box 94, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#36 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest resort sitting on the powdery sand of Mar de Tumbo Beach just south of San Pedro Town on the Ambergris Caye of Belize, Banana Beach Resort has been a haven of fun, adventure, and relaxation for more than 10 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Banana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Beach Hotel San Pedro
Banana Beach San Pedro
Banana Beach Belize
Banana Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.