We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Beach Resort to your Saves list
Portofino Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northants
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a week at Portofino Resort. It was the perfect place to wind down after travelling in Guatemala. The resort setting and rooms are fantastic. The staff (especially the lovely receptionist and barman) were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. The owner, his wife and family were there to greet us on arrival, check we were happy throughout our stay and there to wave us off as the hotel speedboat whisked us off to the airport at San Pedro. Our final evening was made very special when a dinner for two was set up for us on the jetty - a complete surprise! What a wonderful place with wonderful people. Highly recommended from regular world travellers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    89
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
44
340
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Recently stayed at Portofino and had a great experience. Ambergris Caye is fairly remote and a great way to get away. San Pedro as a town is very busy and noisy. Escaping to Portofino was fabulous. Love the cabana atmosphere instead of over developed hotel. The grounds are gorgeous and they really keep the beach clean & organized. The staff is incredibly helpful and kind. They were really integrated in our surprise birthday celebration and pulled it off incredibly. The restaurant is very good and so easy since it is so close. The rest of Ambergris is a bit more difficult to get around to so staying at the resort is so easy! Highly recommend if you are trying to get away from hustle and bustle. The hammock on each porch is a great treat for the morning readers. It feels like it is your own backyard that you are wandering around. The kayaks are great. The boat service is very accomodating. It is not overly luxurious, but certainly enough to take you away from your every day life.

Note: They really need to get darker curtains, becuase you are up with the sun! I would suggest softer sheets for the future!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nothern Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Portofino was such a wonderful place to get married. The staff was accommodating and went the extra mile to make sure that our day was special. It was such a great experience, the floral bouquet that Rosalie put together was fabulous and the conch shell walk way to the floral arch overlooking the sea was breathtaking. A Belizean ceremony is very special and captures the essence of what a great marriage should be.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite that looked straight out to the ocean. Every morning we had a glorious view. Every day the room was decorate with fresh flowers from the onsite gardens.

We had the full board meal plan - and the food was great. There were many seafood selections to include Lobster, as well as Steak and Chicken. Make sure you have the Chocolate Cake it was divine. There are tons of restaurants to choose from, and all have great “fresh” menus.

Almost all resorts that are not in the vicinity of San Pedro require you to take a boat to get into town. Portofino is 6 miles north of San Pedro. Thus, be prepared to take one of the water taxis if you plan to be in San Pedro after the Portofino boat scheduled times of arrival and departure.

Overall, the stay was outstanding. If you are truly looking to get away from it all, this is it. We told the staff what we wanted to do, and they told us what time to show up – no planning on your part it was handled by the staff – just be on time and have a great time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hingham, ma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

We have traveled quite a bit in the Caribbean and Mexico and never have felt compelled to write a review about the many wonderful places we have stayed. Portofino was just such an amazing and beautiful place, we had to write! Our 7 night "honeymoon package" (we have been married for 37 years) was outstanding. The resort is small, intimate and quiet. Our suite was lovely with fresh hibiscus every day. The beach is pretty, well maintained with many palm trees. Lots of sea grass so not the best for swimming but, honestly we only spent 1 afternoon lounging on the beach. The pool is aslo beautiful. Otherwise, we were out and about enjoying the splendor of Belize. The brightest jewels of Portofino are the staff and owners! We felt we had our own private staff for a week. Warm, attentive and accommodating in every way. Where have you stayed where the owner goes to her home and digs you out a pair of her own brand new sneakers so you can go caving?!! The restaurant is small and charming and we ate dinner and breakfast there quite a bit. Food was very good and the service excellent. We had a very personal sendoff home at the dock with hugs and good wishes from the manager and owner. We feel like we made many friends at Portofino and would go back in a heartbeat. By the way, we are pretty picky travelers!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We spent Valentine's weekend at Portofino as a weekend getaway. Overall, Portofino was very nice, and I would probably recommend it. That being said, I don't know that I would stay there again because of our concerns with the customer service. The property itself is really beautiful. The beach was clean, and the cabanas are lovely. The showers were hot, and I didn't experience any problems with the water. We enjoyed the drinks at the bar in the evenings, and we were able to book our tours right at the hotel.

The restaurant is average. We also dined at Capricorn and Rojo, and we highly preferred both of those. The food wasn't bad at Portofino, but don't stay there because you're expecting a gourmet restaurant.

Our big concern occurred the night before we left and the following morning. Portofino had booked our in country flights back to Belize City and emailed us a confirmation. According to their info, we were leaving in the afternoon. The night before we left, they informed us that we were leaving at 9am. This posed a serious disappointment for us, because we had saved our snorkel trip to Mexico Rocks for that morning and had to cancel it because of their mistake. The problem wasn't so much the mistake, though, as the way the staff of Portofino handled it. Instead of admitting the mistake and apologizing, they acted as though it was our fault for not confirming our own flight reservation, and really got quite an attitude about it. We spoke with management, and even exchanged messages with the owner upon our return home - but no one really seemed to care that we were disappointed with the customer service in how this issue was handled. Really, all we wanted was someone to say "I'm so sorry we made this mistake."

On check out, no one bothered to say "How was your stay?". It very much felt that once they got our money, they didn't really care. I'm a big customer service person, so I was disappointed in that. Overall, go for a beautiful, clean property. Don't go for a spectacular restaurant or great customer service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Portofino is situated on a nice little stretch of beach just six miles north of San Pedro center. The setting is perfect for sunbathing, snorkeling, hanging out, and just relaxing. The staff is exceptional and very accomodating to your every need. Water sports such as kayaking and snorkeling are provided complimentary. The snorkeling is excellent just a quarter mile from your beach. Water taxis into town are provided by the resort twice daily and a return trip is usually around 6:30 P.M. If you miss the taxi, there are pay water taxis running every hour. The town can be explored by foot and there's usually something going on every night if you feel you need to leave the resort. There are plenty of great places to eat and drink. The on site restaurant at the resort is excellent serving gourmet food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you are looking for a place to relax in the sun, that is not overcrowded, that serves great food with exceptional service, I highly recommend Portofino. We would definately go back. It is one of the nicest places on Ambergris Caye. D & L . Maryland

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

five days in paradise after five weeks touring Central America.
From start to finish it was the perfect holiday.
Accommodation was excellent,staff wonderful, food superb.
The location was brilliant, and use of kayaks etc. a bonus.
The first time in 30 years of travelling we found a hotel which we didn't want to leave !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.