We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portofino is the BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Save Saved
You added Portofino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portofino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #20 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Seward, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Portofino is the BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I recently stayed for a week at Portofino with my sister... it was amazing. First of all, the minute we landed in San Pedro, Portofino went the extra mile to make our stay exceptional. They arranged our pickup from the airport and then provided a ride via the portofino boat to the resort. We were greeted on the dock personally (and KUDOS for calling us by name each and every time we talked to any staff member, nice of them to make this such a personal friendly stay, we were not just another unknown guest) and the welcome drink was wonderful. The resort is absolutely beautiful and peaceful... being away from the crowds in San Pedro is a bonus... if you want a true get away this is the place to go... quiet, peaceful and relaxing!!! We had inquired about various day trips before our arrival and the staff was extremely helpful in making all arrangements in advance... all we had to do was get up in the morning and enjoy the day! The food at the restaurant is excellent!!! Eiful verything was perfect... Belize is beautiful but the trip was enhanced by the attentive, excellent staff at this amazing resort... I definitely recommend Portofino for anybody heading to Belize, I have nothing negative to say at all!!!! Laurie B

Room Tip: We had a cabana close to the water... it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you and your sister enjoyed all the tiny details our staff put into everything they do! It was a pleasure having you with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    72
    20
    14
    4
See reviews for
35
277
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited Portafino as part of a Surf and Turf package. The front desk staff, Yolanda and Elida, could not have been more helpful. They made sure our arrival and departure went smoothly and made every effort to plan our tours.
The waitstaff were most pleasant and efficient. Ivan, Alex and Dorrel were quite professional and personable. We enjoyed their company and they made our mealtimes quite enjoyable.
We both agreed that the food and menu rivaled those in New York City and San Francisco. We were able to watch the chef working and he was most impressive. The meals were an event by themselves.
The tours were fine. We would recommend that visitors plan tours immediately as all tours may not run regularly. Many have a minimum of participants and others are dependent on weather or sea conditions. For example, we very much wanted to do two tours but neither ran on the days we were there. One operator offered to run the tour if we paid for four people. The second offered a condensed version of the tour we wanted....for more money than the full tour.
We took advantage of the kayaks to go out to the Mexico Rocks to snorkle on our own. The sea happened to be calm and it was a most pleasant experience.
The accomodations were quite nicely decorated though some minor signs of wear are noticeable. It should be noted that the floors are wooden with a shiny, waterproof finish. This causes a squeaking noise when walking barefoot. Because each cottage complex contains two units, it is easy to hear your neighbor walking next door. The walls are typically thin and the sounds carry easily. Some more time could have been spent dusting and cleaning during our stay. Also, one side of the king bed was about 8" from the wall, making it difficult for a person 6'1" to get out of bed.
This resort provided a pleasant stay. I would suggest that, if you are active, used to walking, hiking, swimming etc. you should plan the tours upon arrival. Although the beach area is walkable, it is not the typical wallk in the sand. There are abandoned houses, excessive debris washed ashore and empty hotels. However, the Portifino grounds are impeccably clean
If I were to be in charge of planning, I would provide washable cloth slippers for guests so sandy shoes could be left on the porch and screens on the front doors so they could be left open at night. When the mosquitos and sand flies were not biting, opening the doors on the front door provided a delightful breeze. I would also provide a broom as it is almost impossible to keep sand out of the room.
Visitors may want to bring some soap. Upon arrival, an assortment of soaps was provided to choose from. Once chosen, two slices of soap were provided and we ended up using our own when it melted away.

Room Tip: Bring old socks or slippers for walking in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff. We will certainly look at your suggestions and make improvements were necessary as our goal is to exceed guest expectations. We appreciate the feedback and will certainly put it to use.

We hope to see you again on your next Belize trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We came here after 4 nights in the jungle and had an absolutely wonderful time. Loved the setup of the intimate property and the character. Beautifully maintained in and out. The staff were terrific, always going the extra mile. A little off the beaten path, but a fun water taxi ride into town made it an adventure. We stayed in the Colonial Suite, which was set back and quite lovely. Oodles of space and a cavernous bathroom setup. Loved the extra touches like the fresh flowers and the scented soap butler. Such a tranquil, scenic spot....we will be back!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the ocean with a decent view, but are on the smaller side. Our suite was tuc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the beauty and intimacy of our resort. Our staff enjoys pampering our guests so we are delighted that you enjoyed all the special touches! Not only is the soap butler service unique but it also supports a worthy cause and we are happy that we can contribute!

We looki forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Portofino gives you excellent, friendly service with a very personal touch. We dine there almost every night while in Belize and their food is always delicious, with excellent service. The waiters, staff and bartenders are very friendly, professional and personable and make you feel immediately comfortable. It's like home away from home! We love the food, the people and the atmosphere!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It is always a pleasure having you over and we are truly glad that you enjoy visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just returned from our delayed honeymoon vacation at the Portofino. It was the most relaxing week we have had in a very long time. The staff was extremely attentive and went above and beyond what we normally see in other resorts. They truly make the Portofino a special place to stay. The room we stayed in had a very comfortable bed and was beautiful as was the entire resort. We enjoyed many delicious meals at the Portofino including the fish and conch dinner the cook prepared from our catch of the day! Our overall experience was wonderful from the tours the staff arranged for us to the people we met.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! It was a pleasure having you with us. We realize that there are many choices on the island and we are honored that you chose us for such a special celebration. We are happy that you were able enjoy the beauty of our resort and the warm hospitality of our staff. We hope to welcome you to Portofino again one day!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for an extended long weekend ("babymoon") recently and I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The rooms are big and clean, as are the beds. Not your traditional concrete mattress that you usually encounter at a resort. The resort is cozy with only a few guests; a departure from the traditional "you and your closest 2000 friends all inclusive". Food and drinks are not included and while more expensive than in town are not daunting (still cheaper than dining in Canada or the US). The owners are delightful and have a real energy about their resort and what Belize will become. The staff is tremendously friendly, the food is fantastic (especially fresh fish). You can either relax with a book by the pool, on the dock or in a hammock or enjoy many excellently priced activities, i.e, Scuba diving, fishing, Mayan ruins tour. We will go back.

Room Tip: They are all great. There are cottages that can house larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We know that there are many choices in San Pedro and we thank you for choosing Portofino. We are glad to know that your experience was all you had hoped for and that you were able to enjoy not only our facilities but also the warmth and friendliness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again someday.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing Portofino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent six nights at the Portofino in the week of Thanksgiving 2012.... and we must say it was great! The part that truly sets the Portofino apart is the staff. We can't commend them enough, all the way from the concierge, to the boat driver, to the restaurant servers, to Orville the bartender, to the on-site dive shop, down to the wakeup knock guy. All of them seemed happy to have you staying with them and it seemed almost like family.

The Portofino Restaurant
Almost all of the food at the restaurant was very good to excellent. My wife and I mostly favor the seafood dishes when on tropical vacations (and what other kind are there?), and each and every dish at the Portofino was very good. Service was generally good to very good. Prices are reasonable considering the fact it is a resort and a tropical location.

Action Divers and Adventures
My wife and I, while being somewhat novice divers, have dived at numerous dive shops around the world. We must say this was one of our favorite dive shops we have ever dove with. The dive guide was very professional, while being personable and fun! We ended up going to the Blue Hole with another dive shop, and we did not feel this was in any way better than the two dives we took with Action Divers. Highly recommended.

Last thing is we had left our dive gear to hang and dry behind the Action Divers shop. While there, someone (possibly a local fisherman) stole one of our wet suits. We do NOT blame the dive shop operator for this happening. We must commend the Portofino for following up with us on this event, offering to pay for the cost of the wet suit, and ultimately reimbursing for this cost. This is highly noteworthy for a resort to go to these lengths.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that it was worth skipping Thanksgiving. Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are happy to have each and everyone of them. We pride ourselves in customer service and to us, guests are not just visitors, but also family. We surely hope to welcome you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.