We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Save Saved
You added Portofino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #20 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
saint paul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Portofino and we had a great time. The staff were very nice and helpful. We did open water referral with Dive Master Roberto at Portofino right at the hotel dock; he was a great teacher and very knowledgable. He took us out, just me and my husband, which was really special. It was fun and we learned a lot. He tolerated my nervous behavior with a great deal of patience. We also did a snorkel at Hol Chan and Shark alley which was really fun. Thanks Roberto! The bartenders were funny and nice (Rafeal and Orvelle). The waiters were great (cant remember all names except alex). And the ladies at the front desk were very helpful and friendly (yolanda and ?cant remember her name). Even the other guests seemed to be extra friendly here (hi to Bob and Marianne if you are reading this, hope you got the heavy duty bug spray I left at your door! and thanks for the nice note). Also, when we first arrived, we got a fantastic welcome from Kentucky! The cabana we stayed in was perfect, great big king bed. We had to move after the first night due to being in the cabana close to kitchen and were woken up at like 5 am to cleaning sounds. But they moved us right away so no other issues. Slept great after move. I only gave this resort reluctantly a 4 rating because I did not like the food here. There are limited food options close by so it is pretty much necessary as part of staying at Portofino to eat there as well. Some of the guests liked the food so maybe I just had bad luck. I had a shrimp dish that was very over cooked and flavors off. I had chips and salsa one night for a snack it was really embarrassing how awful it was (broken crushed chips and salsa tasted really old and sour). I couldn't eat it. Eggs in the morning were never as I ordered but it was not the waiters fault because I heard him ask the cook correctly. The only good item I ordered was the quesadillas however to be fair I did not try most of the food due to a couple bad experiences. In town, there were some good options for meals. We didn't have any bad food in town. Mata Chicas is walking distance about 20 min walk south on beach. Fish tacos there were very good for lunch. Jamaican place 10 min walk south had really delicious wings (you could easily miss the place)! I wish the resort had BIKES to use or rent and also "to go" snacks available to purchase (although the nicest girl at front desk offered to give me her own granola bar one day which was very generous). We didn't have any trouble catching a free ride into town with Mo the boat captain and never had to pay the water taxi. We just looked at the boat schedule on the black board in the morning to plan the day. Mo pick us up and dropped us off at the airstrip at arrival and departure with no extra fee and was no problem. Overall, I would recommend this place mostly because the people here are so very friendly!

Room Tip: Do not sleep in room 3 (the cabana closest to the main building) if you have any trouble sleeping wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in general. So sorry to hear about your bad dining experience, but thank you for the feedback. In this way we can address any issues that may be occurring. We are actually in the process of adding a few more options on our menus to give some variety for our guests. We are delighted to hear that everything else was great. We hope to welcome you again one day for another opportunity to show you the changes in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    71
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
275
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My friend and I were booked at another hotel (won't mention name) and could not stay there. We were so lucky that Portofino had availability. We stayed there over New Years and the staff could not be nicer. Lovely beach and pool. We went snorkeling and had a great time.

Highly recommend it you want a great vacation. Only downside that it is far from town and the water taxi is $11 roundtrip. You can ride along on the hotel boat but it only goes once or twice a day. If you want to eat in town you need to add the price of the water taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure having you with us and we are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and our staff. We hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Portofino..Our room was large and clean, but not well lit.The food and service were very good. Actually the week we were there not many were at the place so serivce was impeccable.All were delightful. We took the kayaks out to snorkel several times.The water is so beautiful, and right off teh Protofino beach. My only suggetion would be that they have a few bikes ther so we could have ridden and covered more ground as we had no car, and road is not a place to be. It was quaint to have to take a boat to go anywhere else on the island..Loved it and would return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would come back someday. Although we do not have bikes, our concierge is happy to arrange a rental from town and have it brought up to the resort on one of our boat runs and return it when you are finished.

Once again, thank you for taking the time out to post your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a true paradise Portofino is. It is quiet, beautiful and peaceful. We really loved this place. The suite we stayed in was the VIP beach suite which was very nice and felt like home. From our porch a beautiful view on the pool and ocean.
The Portofino Restaurant is good, nice food and good ambiance. The portofino beach resort is a small resort with everything you need to make a lovely holiday. Pool, beach, good food and drinks and friendly and helpful staff. It is outside of the village san pedro, but you can the protofino boat everyday and there is also the watertaxi. So if you want to go in to town that's no problem.
If you go on a dive trip the boat will pick you up from the private dock of Portofino. And because you are close to the reef, the boatride will be between 5 and 30 min depending on where you are gonig. We would definately go again if we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in the VIP beach suite, which is very good and big. But if you will spend less money you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write about your experience at Portofino. It was a pleasure having you. We are happy that you enjoyed our property, the world class diving and the unmatched hospitality of our team. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I had a great time. The staff was terrific. We relaxed on the beach most of the time and Mo took me for a trip to San Pedro to roam around the streets. The cabanas were spacious and comfortable. There is a large choice of TV channels and I was able to see the football playoffs. The staff was attentive and was ready to help with any question we had and with moving chairs to a new location etc. A great place and I would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Portofino does not only offer great location, amazing food and wonderful views, it offers customer service at its best. Our staff is amazing and are always willing to go the extra mile, as we are dedicated to guest satisfaction. We are glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been trying to find the words to describe this place, but between all the languages my husband & I speak, we have determined there are none. Paradise, Heaven, Calmness, Peace, True Life. The second Mo picked us up & delivered us to the paradise known as Portofino, we were awestruck. Greeted by wonderful owners, Yolanda, Orville (aka Drunken Master) & Dorrell, our trip was unbelievable. I have traveled 95% of the Caribbean, and Belize & specifically Portofino resort blew my mind. We stayed in the Royal Orchid (Honeymoon Suite) & had no complaints at all. Food was fresh & local. The beach was extremely well maintained (raked clean every morning of seaweed). Every single staff member made our trip so enjoyable, to the point were we are in the process of booking for next January. You wont make a mistake with this choice!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Over the years, we have worked very hard in creating this little piece of paradise for guests to enjoy. It gives us great pleasure when we exceed guest expectations as this is what our team strives for. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we feel honored that we are in your top choices in comparison to other destinations.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have nothing but good things to say about this place. We hesitated because of some recent bad reviews, but once arrived we realized what a great choice we made. We were welcomed by Yolanda and greeted by the manager with a delicious rum punch and a refreshing towel. The 15 minute boat ride from town was well worth the effort. We stayed in a Beach Cabana and o lord what a cozy little room was that! Simple, but sophisticated design with impeccable views on the pool and the Ocean. The Soaps were freshly cut upon arrival and we had a choice of our favorite variety! Never had someone cut a soap freshly for us before. We had multiple dinners in the restaurant, and although there are a few great restaurants nearby, we loved the food and the service. You must try the Conch Trio and the Grouper...the local fisherman brought it in freshly almost everyday at the end of their dock! What else you could wish for? All-in-all we had a blast and hope to return soon to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our new soap butler service has been a great success and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.