We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Save Saved
You added Portofino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portofino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #18 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Rowley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I had a great time. The staff was terrific. We relaxed on the beach most of the time and Mo took me for a trip to San Pedro to roam around the streets. The cabanas were spacious and comfortable. There is a large choice of TV channels and I was able to see the football playoffs. The staff was attentive and was ready to help with any question we had and with moving chairs to a new location etc. A great place and I would come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Portofino does not only offer great location, amazing food and wonderful views, it offers customer service at its best. Our staff is amazing and are always willing to go the extra mile, as we are dedicated to guest satisfaction. We are glad that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    64
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
245
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been trying to find the words to describe this place, but between all the languages my husband & I speak, we have determined there are none. Paradise, Heaven, Calmness, Peace, True Life. The second Mo picked us up & delivered us to the paradise known as Portofino, we were awestruck. Greeted by wonderful owners, Yolanda, Orville (aka Drunken Master) & Dorrell, our trip was unbelievable. I have traveled 95% of the Caribbean, and Belize & specifically Portofino resort blew my mind. We stayed in the Royal Orchid (Honeymoon Suite) & had no complaints at all. Food was fresh & local. The beach was extremely well maintained (raked clean every morning of seaweed). Every single staff member made our trip so enjoyable, to the point were we are in the process of booking for next January. You wont make a mistake with this choice!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Over the years, we have worked very hard in creating this little piece of paradise for guests to enjoy. It gives us great pleasure when we exceed guest expectations as this is what our team strives for. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we feel honored that we are in your top choices in comparison to other destinations.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have nothing but good things to say about this place. We hesitated because of some recent bad reviews, but once arrived we realized what a great choice we made. We were welcomed by Yolanda and greeted by the manager with a delicious rum punch and a refreshing towel. The 15 minute boat ride from town was well worth the effort. We stayed in a Beach Cabana and o lord what a cozy little room was that! Simple, but sophisticated design with impeccable views on the pool and the Ocean. The Soaps were freshly cut upon arrival and we had a choice of our favorite variety! Never had someone cut a soap freshly for us before. We had multiple dinners in the restaurant, and although there are a few great restaurants nearby, we loved the food and the service. You must try the Conch Trio and the Grouper...the local fisherman brought it in freshly almost everyday at the end of their dock! What else you could wish for? All-in-all we had a blast and hope to return soon to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our new soap butler service has been a great success and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We love fishing, and therefore we came to Belize. There are great fishing tours to be organised from the resort. Unfortunately it was quite windy during our stay so a few trips got cancelled...but hey, you can't help the weather! Instead we stayed at the resort and enjoyed the pool, the friendly attentive service and the conversations with Rafael. Alex took great care of us and we enjoyed the food, though service was sometimes a little slow (not to bad!), the quality of the food was great and the Chef even checked on us. We could not imagined a better vacation, if not next time we will pre-order some better weather:)!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are so sorry that the weather was not cooperative, but we are glad that you made the best of it and were still able to enjoy our little piece of paradise. Next time we will definitely order some good weather for fishing for you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We did not stay there but walked down from a rental we were staying just a bit north. WONDERFUL staff. I cannot enough good things about them. Conch was amazing. They even went so far as to prepare a special table with flowers for the night of our Wedding. I WE DID'NT EVEN STAY THERE! Company, atmosphere, food and drinks were great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our staff and facilities. Next time you come to Belize we would love to have you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile


Eight of us spent a week at this north Ambergris Caye resort. The place is a "has been". It needs a complete facelift to improve the tired decor and somewhat shabby rooms in the beach cabanas. I'm not sure which Is worse- the apparent unhappy, bored, aloof staff (except for Orville at the bar and Mo the boat driver or the very poor breakfasts (which were included in our package). The service was completely erratic, making it a challenge to get both utensils and food close enough together to eat. The menu boasts 4 types of juices, most days it's just orange from concentrate. The hollandaise sauce on the so called eggs Benedict was lumpy and flavorless. The granola was store bought and there was no yogurt for several days in a row. We resorted to eggs most days and the same old toast and jam. (One kind only for 7 days straight!) I had to ask for salt and pepper, milk and sugar as there was no anticipation that these items were needed with breakfast.
The first day there I noticed a number of chipped dishes and mugs. When I asked for a tea pot I was told there were none. Tea was a cup of lukewarm water and a tea bag on the side. Breakfast became a struggle and not a pleasant start to the day.
Lunch at the beach was better with OK quesadillas and fish sandwiches but don't dare ask for salad instead of fries. You will be told NO!
The place lacks good management. For a small place where our group occupied 4 out of 17 rooms we expected some interaction with the manager and his wife. Never once were we asked if we were having a good time or if there was anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. I tried to use the pay phone and when it didn't work I told the front desk. I was told, "oh , it hasn't worked in years." The manager seemed insulted when I suggested that he put a sign on it to advise other guests.
The New Years Eve menu was so bad that we opted to dine elsewhere. In fact, after our first dinner which was expensive and ordinary we found better places to have dinner on the other nights.
We are a well travelled family and know what service looks like in this price range.
I had expected much more from Portofino after reading mostly positive Trip Advisor reports and the "expensive category" listing in Fodors.
Needless to say, we won't be returning to Portofino, even though Belize is a great destination for a family holiday.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that your experience at Portofino was not the best and we sincerely apologize for this. It is, perhaps, even more disappointing for us to hear that we did not meet or exceed your expectations as this is always the most important thing for us. Over the years, we have established a reputation for having unmatched customer service and an amazing staff that go above and beyond to satisfy our guests. It saddens us to know that you did not feel that way.

We understand how important it is for a guest to enjoy a vacation and we are very sorry that we failed. We have taken eveything you have pointed out to avoid any further occurrences.

We are glad that this experience has not dampened your view on Belize as a country and are happy to hear that you would still visit our beautiful country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent service, friendly and effective. The grounds and landscaping are exquisite, the rooms are awesome with all Brazilian hardwood floors and furniture. The only negative is the cost of water taxies if you want to go into San Pedro or to dine at one of the other resorts on the Cay

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa but you can book massages on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thankful that you choose our resort out of all the options available here in San Pedro. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino

Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Belize/San Pedro
Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.