We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Save Saved
You added Portofino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #21 of 56 hotels in San Pedro
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievably beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent service, friendly and effective. The grounds and landscaping are exquisite, the rooms are awesome with all Brazilian hardwood floors and furniture. The only negative is the cost of water taxies if you want to go into San Pedro or to dine at one of the other resorts on the Cay

Room Tip: No fitness center or spa but you can book massages on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thankful that you choose our resort out of all the options available here in San Pedro. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    72
    20
    14
    4
See reviews for
36
279
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We recently had our wedding at Portofino's beautiful resort. The experience was nothing short of mind-blowing (in the best possible way!) From the moment we stepped foot on the resort we were truly treated like royalty! We have traveled all over the world and never felt so welcome or had such a personalized experience. Even after our 30 wedding guests arrived, all of the staff at Portofino took the time to know every single person by name. It was truly extraordinary.

The scenery is amazing and the sunsets are truly to die for. If you like boat rides and ocean-front property, this is the place for you. The only way to travel around between San Pedro and Portofino is by boat. Portofino is very good about scheduling trips to and from San Pedro to suit the needs of the guests. Some people do travel up and down the coast by bicycle or golf cart, but it is more for recreation that really trying to get anywhere.

The ocean right off of the resort is more like a giant aquarium full of interesting sea life and beautiful nature. Because the reef is so close, the waves break a few miles out (on the reef). So if you want to go to a place where u can jump into the waves right from the beach, this isn't quite it. Because of the shallow water near the shore, the sea-grass grows abundantly right up to the shore. It is visible and not exactly pleasant, but it surely is not a hinderance to having fun. My wife and I thought this may be an issue, it really was not. We had just as much fun snorkeling right off of the dock and seeing all kinds of sea life, even nurse sharks! (Don't worry, they are as friendly as cats!). We saw sting rays, crabs, nurse sharks, and a whole gamut of sea life from just off of the dock at Portofino, it truly was amazing.

The restaurant at Portofino is also VERY good. They are always freshening up their menu with new items and they have a very multicultural and dynamic range of flavors in their food. Not to mention they will work with you to customize almost anything you want by request. Sometimes when it is VERY busy the service is a bit slow, but the restaurant manager and wait staff are always there to reassure you and make you feel like you really are being taken care of and that the food will be delicious and freshly made.

Then there was our wedding. It was an absolute marvel. The staff at Portofino arranged the most beautiful wedding we could have ever dreamed of! We could not have been happier. Everything from the cake, to the outdoor tent for the reception to the little area were we said our vows was just perfect. So much attention to detail with flowers and shells and everything you could think of really showed how much the Portofino staff wants to make your stay amazing and what lengths they will go to really knock it out of the park!

The rooms and accommodations were just perfect for a nice mix of luxury and truly feeling like you are living on a beach. The rooms and decor just perfectly fit the beach feel that you will want right after you step off the boat onto the Portofino dock. Everything was just right for us. There was a TV, air conditioning, several fans, drinkable water, a refrigerator, and plenty of space in both the bedroom and the bathroom to suit our needs. Everything was also very clean and tidy.

If we had any complaints at all, it was the mosquitos and sand fleas. They really are a nuisance even if you have a lot of bug spray. You will get lots of bites, but it is still totally worth it! Just make sure you bring heavy duty bug spray and you wear as much long clothing as you can at night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite and it was....well SWEET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
A wedding is indeed a very special day and we are very happy that it turned out to be all you dreamed of! Our staff are dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest at Portofino are well taken care of. We are glad that everyone enjoyed our little piece of paradise and we hope to welcome you again someday. May you both have many wonderful years together and may your memories last a lifetime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

For us it was the ideal place to stay! The Treetop suit was very romantic and charming, with terrace, hammock, and see view. The rooms offered space, beautiful bathroom, marvellous decoration. Alltogether: Luxury combined with carribean feeling, relaxed atmosphere, cordial and warm service. Food was fantastic!!! The resort also has a dive shop associated, you arrive the best places around Ambergris Caye within 5-15min boat trip (Esmeralda, Mermaid´s Lair, Pillar Corall..) and organizes tours to the Blue Hole (2,5 hours boat trip to go there, 3 dives: Blue Hole, Lighthouse reef, Half moon Caye, return in the evening).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your vacation here at Portofino. It was great having you with us and we surely hope to see you again in the future. There are a lot more dive sites to discover on our beautiful barrier reef!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are in love with Portofino. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. From our airport transfer with Mo, our welcome from Yolanda, our bar conversations with Rafael and Orville, and our lovely interactions with Tristan in the restaurant, we LOVED the staff.

The grounds are elegant, simple and very well maintained - it offered all the relaxation we needed.

We really liked being separated from town - we felt like we were in our own little oasis, which was perfect for our honeymoon. I can see if you were looking for a more social environment, this may not be the place for you as it takes about fifteen minutes by boat to get to town and you are restricted to the Portofino boat schedule which makes its last run back to the resort at 6:30. This was great for us as we were on island time and were in bed by 9:30 just about every night!

My husband and I had some of the best nights sleep in recent memory here - it's very quiet and private and the beds are incredibly comfortable.

The food is great - the continental breakfast is delicious and filling (and complimentary). The lunch/bar/snack menu is great - an awesome burger! - and the dinner menu is wonderful for a treat, but it definitely gets a bit pricey. For us, it made sense to eat dinner in town most nights and try out some smaller, less expensive options.

All in all, we adored our stay at Portofino. We plan to return for our five year anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which was wonderful - but for those looking to save a little money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you again for your 5th anniversary! It was indeed great to have you with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed everything, especially the warm hospitality of our staff. Once again, thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We ended up staying at Portofino because of a package we arranged through another resort. If you want to be close to San Pedro and the bars and restaurants, then it's not the place for you. If you want to be more secluded and have the beach to yourself, then it is wonderful. Rooms come with a/c, TV and wifi. The restaurant is pretty good, but the service can be slow and the menu is a little limited - the only authentically Belizian dish was conch 3 ways. To get to San Pedro is about a 10-15 minute boat ride which is free if you go with the Portofino's boat, but you can get a water taxi for a cost. The snorkeling was divine and I wish we had had more time to do more. The bartender, Rafael, was great! Who doesn't love receiving a tropical drink at your chair on the beach!?! One other comment is that although they try to control the mosquitoes by spraying every evening, they still come out some evenings, especially if the winds are calm, so make sure you bring bug spray (they have some for purchase in the reception hall). The staff is very nice and it was nice to be welcomed with a refreshing tropical drink (non-alcoholic but you can get it with rum thereafter) and a scented towel!

Room Tip: For couples, the rooms are fine but if you need more space, you'll need a bigger cabana. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thanks for your review. The privacy, peacefulness, amazing sea views and friendly staff of Portofino Beach Resort are certainly amongst the best in San Pedro and we are glad that you were able to enjoy it! Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for 5 days after a hectic tour of Guatemala and it was idyllic. Arriving by boat made it special and the welcome cocktail hit the spot. The location was perfect and we loved our room which opened straight on to the beach, The pool was lovely. It was all spotless. We enjoyed the diving although it was expensive but we really liked kayaking out to snorkel as there was loads to see. Yolanda on reception was excellent - friendly, natural and very helpful. The food was excellent - for all the meals. Service was very mixed - either smotheringly attentive or hard to get he waitor/waitress' attention. I liked Dorral though as he just about got it right. We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Our room opened on to the beach which was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our facilities and the hospitality of our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to having you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Portofino provides wonderful accommodations. A mere few steps from the beach and boasting a rather large swimming pool, there's no shortage of entertainment. The staff were very willing to cater to our requests and the food was exquisite. Portofino is the place to be for beach-based comforts in Belize.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, our scrumptious menu and the beach life at our little piece of paradise...We hope to welcome you again. Thanks for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Portofino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.