We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful--again!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Beach Resort to your Saves list
Portofino Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Minneapolis, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful--again!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

The resort is so quiet and beautiful. The people are awesome!
We stayed two years ago and were amazed at the new pool, outside bar, and the two new suites. Our family stayed in all of the mansion and were very impressed. We are already planning our next stay in two years and can't wait for it to be here. The kitchen staff were helpful in baking a special cake for us as well as the front desk helping with reservations for trips and medicine when we didn't feel good. They are always quick to have a smile and inquire about your stay. Thank you all for making us feel so welcome and special. Kudos to everyone from the grounds keepers to the laundry to the kitchen to the front desk staff. See you soon. The Reinbolds Kansas U.S.A.

  • Liked — The personal attention to all of your needs
  • Disliked — Wish the price point was cheaper so I could go more often
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    93
    32
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
361
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

My husband and I just got back from the portofino. I'm so glad we didn't read the negative reviews on this site before we booked our trip. we might have missed out on one of our best ever travel experiences! We travel fairly extensivly, have stayed in private bungalows in hawaii with full time staff and have never had a better experience with a hotel staff than at the portofino. We felt like we were treated as family by every single staff person. When the regular boat captain got incredibly busy the owner of the resort shuttled guests in and out. the front desk staff was extremely friendly and efficient. This is a small privately owned resort on an island that has only experienced intense tourism for under a decade in a third world country. there are things we in the u.s are used to that you won't find at the portofino. if you are looking for fresh water showers, boats or flights or tours that are on the dot punctual or food that tastes like home i'd suggest not traveling to Belize at all. but if you are looking for a wonderful, warm and unique travel experience both Belize and the Portofino deliver.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

I’m just going to layout the good and the bad…

Good – Fresh water in rooms, nice clean rooms with TVs, friendly staff (minus the front desk), hotel boat, and new pool (except no pool chairs).

Bad –
-Horrible/overpriced food. I guess they think the more salt, sauce, sugar, and Velveeta cheese, the better? Stay away from the humus and (stale) garlic naan, (salt soaked) shrimp kababs, and key lime (sugar) pie. They even have the audacity to charge $110 BZ/$55 US for a dinner entrée. Regardless of service they tack on 10% gratuity to everything you eat/drink.

-Sinks and showers had running salt water, or what they consider “well water”. If you care about your hair and like having your soap actually suds up when you shower, I’d recommend staying elsewhere.

-Incompetent Front Desk/Management staff . Prior to arriving to the hotel, my bf had to hound the front desk manager (via email) for our flight transfer confirmation as it was booked through the hotel. After, no avail, we tried calling just to be hung up on – twice.

During our stay, we had them book us a half day snorkeling trip and dinner reservations at a near by hotel. We were told that the boat for snorkeling would arrive at 2pm. However, we received a knock at our door at 110pm tell us our boat was ready. After we rushed to get ready, we ran outside to find out that our boat had left us. We waited 30/45 minutes for another one. “Mis-communication” was the reason we were given…
On our last night, we had asked the front desk to make us dinner reservations at Mata Chica’s Mambo restaurant. We were told that the boat would arrive at 745pm for an 8pm reservation. Again, we received a knock at our door at 710pm telling us the boat was ready. So for our last dinner on the island we had to rush, again, to get ready. We were not pleased. I guess this was a mis-communication too?

-Overpriced Rooms. If you like the seclusion of the northern part of the island. I would recommend staying elsewhere, like Mata Chica.

Overall, our experience at Portofino was fair/poor however, we didn’t let it ruin our trip. They informed us that we would receive a 20% discount off all future stays, regardless of the season. But even with a 50% discount and free unlimited Belkin beers, we would not return to this property.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a place to celebrate our honeymoon. Our travel agent found us the perfect place. After the rush of planning a wedding and the wedding day. What Mark and I wanted to do was to sit back and relax.
We arrived at Portofino and were greeted with a fruity drink (delish) while our bags were brought up to our room. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite. When we went up to our room our bed was decorated with fresh flowers. It was the attention to detail that we loved. Front Desk arranged trips for us and were very knowledgeable.
We went on a trip to Altun Ha with Seaduced and they were great guides. The snorkeling and diving was unbelievable. Thank you to Ecologic divers. We chose to have a special dinner out on the pier it was amazing under the stars. We will defiantly be back to Portofino again. Because of the service the location and the beauty.

  • Liked — The location it was beautiful and peacefull
  • Disliked — That we were only there for a week
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I recently got back from a wonderful stay at Portofino resort. I was surprised to see that the rooms had been totally renovated and there was a new beautiful Pool. The pool had 3 levels of depth and a "cool" tub. I was totally impressed with the entire layout. The staff was wonderful in all aspects from check in, to the bartender, and the dining personal all were top notch.
My husband and i have found a "Jewel" in Ambergris Caye

  • Liked — the large rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.0 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#26 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.