We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Beach Resort to your Saves list
Portofino Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Glendale
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed w the honeymoon package. It is expensive for sure but the honeymoon package seemed like best fit for a couple getaway. We got the cheapest room do it was like a room cut in half. When we first arrived I was upset at how tiny the room was for its price, just enough for a bed two chairs a tv and bathroom. Never stayed in such a small room but it was decorated very nicely and romantically w flowers in a vase, flowers even in the toilet which made me laugh and the cleaning was great. Portofino is a very nice little secluded place. It's not a huge resort its private and yes each room gets a hammock which I loved. The beach was beautiful and nice with the warm ocean. The portofino restaurant was overly priced and not that great. Easier to take the boat to town and eat some local food especially Lilly's! We ate there a lot and loved the conch soup. The boat driver was nice and friendly. (you have to take boats to get anywhere on the island from portofino so make sure u check in what time they are leaving if u want to go to town and sometimes it's not always right on time) the activities by portofino were great! I enjoyed the romantic dinner on the pier a lot one of my favorite nights while at the resort. Def reccommend visiting the blue hole! This is a quiet little secluded place so if you are a party animal maybe this isn't right for you but of you want a great time w just the people you came w then definitely this is your place. Staff was nice and friendly. I'd come here again when I can afford it and have finished visiting other places. The managers even have us drinks bc they were holding us up from getting back to the resort. Very nice couple.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are happy to hear that your overall experience with your stay with us was pleasurable and that you would come back again. Our beach cabanas are duplexes, but are still very nice. For more privacy, we would reccommend our VIP Suites as these are very spacious and they stand alone. Our sincerest apologies if your experience at the restaurant was not up to expectations, but we are pleased to announce that we have made some great improvements within the last two weeks. We now have casual dining on our newly expanded terrace on the beach, and fine dining upstairs, for our guests' convenience.

We are glad that you enjoyed the location and privacy of our property and the warm hospitality of our staff, and we look forward to welcoming you once again when you come back to beautiful Belize!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    93
    32
    17
    7
See reviews for
46
361
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

if you are after an exclusive yet down to earth place a get away from it all then this is your place. this resort is just a 15 minute boat ride from San Pedro, close enough to visit the mainland for the day if you want to see ruins but far enough away from the larger more less exclusive resorts closer to town. My highlights of Portofino was the exclusive location, the excellent food (try the Belizean Breakfast) and the closeness to the reef. We actually kayaked to the reef one day for some snorkeling less than 1km from the beach. There is also a snorkel/dive centre based from here for people that would like a more structured journey which we also did and very much recommended. exclusive yet down to earth are the key words here.

Room Tip: pay the extra money and stay in one of the suites, well worth the extra dosh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy the exclusive location of our beach resort, our ammenities and the convenience of our dive shop.

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope to welcome you again to Portofino!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayettville, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a beautiful property, well run and the grounds are wonderfully manicured. The beach is lovely, with plenty of space to relax on lounges or perhaps a nap in the hammocks suspended over the water. At the end of the dock is easy access to sandy bottom clear water.
The pool is top notch, with adarondack chairs around and also available to sit in shallow end for total relaxation.
We ordered several items off lunch menu and enjoyed "icy cold" beers thanks to Orville.
We had dinner upstairs and the food was fabulous. The blue beef was great, we also enjoyed seafood pasta dish and lobster with a bottle of white wine. The evening was delightful, the breeze, the stars and the pretty setting.
The staff was always attentive, at poolside for drinks, generously mixed and also in resturant;
Orville always had a smile on his face and a joke to share, also some helpful island info.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality of our staff and the tranquil atmosphere at Portofino! We are always working to ensure preserve our little piece of paradise and it gives us great satisfaction to be able to share it with our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the not so distant future. Once again, thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're considering staying at the Portofino and you don't have a stick up your butt, you will absolutely love it. My new wife and I stayed here for 7 days for our honeymoon and we literally enjoyed every minute! Portofino is a small intimate family-owned resort that is perfect for a romantic getaway. After arriving in San Pedro, we were picked-up at the airport by Mo, Portofino's boat captain. After a 2min taxi ride we were taken to a pier where we boarded a boat which took us north on a very scenic 15min ride up the coast to the Portofino. The key points to the Portofino include very well-kept grounds, beautiful rustic thatched-roof suites, nice pool, delicious restaurant, you can walk barefoot anywhere including the bar, and a very friendly staff. We opted for a tree-top suite which was roomy with a large deck with table, chairs, and a hammock. Restaurant food is top-notch and service is excellent, however prices are a little high. And if you don't eat in town there is no other choice. Lounging beach side you feel as though you're on your own private beach, quiet and relaxing! The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Although Portofino is a 15-20 minute boat ride from the center of town, we managed to avoid having to take the $11 US (per person per way) water taxi for most of our trip by working around Mo's schedule. Which has a daily last-run from town back to Portofino at 6:30pm. Some of the most fun we had at the resort was when we would grab masks and snorkels which are provided by the resort and snorkel in the chest-deep water right off their own pier. On our last night we were served a complimentary honeymoon dinner which we opted to have served on our own private deck. We found our deck decorated beautifully, including white table cloth, candle-light, and flowers. As romantic as it gets! Overall an excellent experience and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time out to share your honeymoon experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you both many wonderful years to come and hope to welcome you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Almost dont want to write a review not sure if I want everyone to know about a little slice of heaven.Well here is goes arriving in San Pedro by water taxi we were greeted then walked to another pier where a girfriend and I were wisked off to the North End of Ambergris Caye in the resorts own private boat.When we arrive we were greeted by the staff at the pier and walked to the lobby . We were then greeted by the bartendar also who gave us some fruity alcohol beverage it was tasty beyond belief There she sat us down and went over the ameneties as far as were the resteraunt was where the bar was. She told us we had free use of the kyaks.She had the biggest smile then said " NOW YOUR VACATION STARTS". We were walked to our room everthing the pictures have on the internet are true pictures no false advertisment there. I will aslo add pictures. Hmmmmm lets see no casino's not a lot of people privacy - private beach - no hustle and bustle. If you are looing for a spring break type atmosphere this is not it. This would be an ideal spot for a honeymoon or couples resparking that flame.The staf was incredible funny and made everyone feel at home. Since this is a small resort met some great people that stayed there and we went to dinner together almost every night with different guest . The resteraunt on the grounds had amazing food. ( pictures to follow) I write travel blogs for the company I work for in the Travel Industry and I hope you trust when i say this is a little slice of heaven it is. That got everything right to flower petals in the toilet . To the management of the hotel walking to the pier with us telling us goodbye and waving. This resort has thought of every single little thing to make youre stay incredible. If you have any questions I am more than happy to answer.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8 but honestly it looked like every room had a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure know that you had a great vacation and that you enjoyed all the effort our team puts into making our guests have a great stay with us. We also love the privacy of our location and we are very happy that we were able to share our little piece of paradise with you. Hope to have you again with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The moment for me was half way into my trip as I swung in the porch hammock and gazed out on the grounds. The winds lightly blew through the trees & the light of the almost full moon glistened on the ocean. The pool lights lit up the grounds & the temp was perfect. It was that moment that I realized I was sitting in a little piece of paradise to be duplicated no where else in the world.
This is a private property, owned and run by a family who lives on site, this is their baby. My husband and I have traveled to many places around the world & we Love Portofino! The staff is Wonderful....the grounds intimate & unique. The food is Outstanding, the Bar Fun & in just the right spot. Lets face it, much of an impression is made by those around you & we Loved Each and Every person we met at Portofino!!
We purchased a packaged & we thrilled with all our perks!! The VIP suites are the BEST!! Breakfast was K-I-L-L-E-R!! Dinner Even Better!! Portofino gifted us with our best meal on the island for our anniversary. I could (&should) go on & on, but to sum things up....
It is our dream to return to Portofino. Its amazing that a place as remote & off the beaten path as this can be so wonderful, but it is!

Room Tip: If you want the Best ask for Barracuda or Seahorse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
'It is our dream to return to Portofino'..These words will forever stay with us. We are are so happy that you have enjoyed our little piece of paradise so much. Nothing makes us happier than when our guests leave our resort with memories that will last a lifetime. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely week at the Portofino. The staff are amazing, so helpful in every way from scheduling tours to helping with unforeseen health issues. Personalized attention is their greatest strength! The special dinner for the honeymoon is a must! Accommodations are beautiful...rustic yet elegant. The food was good, not outstanding but fully satisfactory.

Our one big disappointment was due to location and had nothing to do with Portofino. Being right on the beach we thought would mean swimming. But Ambergris Caye is not made for that although there are great snorkeling/scuba trips from the Caye. Wish we had researched that more.

We highly recommend Portofino for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: stay in one of the cabanas on the right on the beach. we loved cabana 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortofinoBZ, Owner at Portofino Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very glad that you were still able to enjoy our little piece of paradise despite your expectations for a swim up beach. The water is absolutely beautiful and provides some of the best snorkeling and diving in the world. Due to the reef being only a mile away from the shoreline, the water is not really deep for swimming. At the end of the dock allows for some swimming and exploring, but its definitely not a swim up beach.

All in all it seems that despite this fact you still had a great time and we are glad that it all worked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro
0.0 mi away
Grand Caribe Belize Resort and Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#12 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
X'tan Ha Resort
X'tan Ha Resort
#17 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
0.0 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: 6 Miles North | PO Box 36, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterized by its warm and friendly hospitality, Portofino is the epitome of barefoot luxury, unpretentious and relaxing… for most; it will be an experience of a lifetime. Our small, boutique resort offers just 17 beautifully appointed rooms, ranging from charming beach cabanas to spacious suites, dotted amidst swaying palm trees, in a private setting with unmatched personal attention and the modern comforts of home. It is a haven of tranquility, where guests will enjoy the subtle sounds of the nearby waves lapping over the reef, gentle breeze, breathtaking sunrise, star studded night sky and spectacular views of the crystal waters of the Caribbean Sea. The perfect setting for a romantic getaway, intimate wedding, honeymoon, family and friends.Portofino offers leisure options to suit every taste. Relax in our fresh water outdoor swimming pool; enjoy a great book from our book collection or simply indulge yourself in a massage on the beach under our hand thatched palapa hut. Explore the underwater world with snorkel equipment or skim along the surface in our complimentary sea kayaks. Delicious meals prepared by our resort chef can be served in the privacy or your beach cabana or suite, on our private dock with a romantic setting or at the Portofino Restaurant. Sip on amazing tropical cocktails at the Green Parrot Beach Bar or perhaps a late afternoon snack from the Green Parrot Bistro. Take advantage of our DVD library and unwind in front of the flat TV screen in your room. Or, simply take in the view. In short, relax and enjoy! Reception in the main building is manned by professional and knowledgeable staff. From, activities bookings and directions to itineraries and dining reservations, our friendly and professional staff is eager to assist you. Access to PORTOFINO is by boat only, and therefore we offer a complimentary meet and greet service at San Pedro Airstrip and boat transfer to the resort, an approximately 20 minutes ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Portofino Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel San Pedro
Portofino San Pedro
Portofino Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.