We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un-Belize-able!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas
Save
You added Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas to your Saves list
3.5 Miles South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Milo's Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Un-Belize-able!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I just returned from a week vacation at Hol Chan Reef Resort & Villas and my only complaint is that I wish I could have stayed longer.
The location is perfect! It is only a short golf cart or bike ride to town, yet far enough to get the secluded/resort feeling. Which is a win-win in my book. You are literally on the water in front of Hol Chan Marine reserve. You won't realize how special Hol Chan is until you see it for yourself. The area is flourishing with different kinds of fish, sea turtles, sting rays, and SHARKS (docile nurse sharks, so don't let that deter you). The best part is you get to go in the water with these animals and see them up close and personal. Snorkeling, scuba or even both are highly recommended. Not to mention the wildlife has been known to swim right up to the dock. (Talk to Sue for the best excursions and trips.)
the amenities are also amazing. A beautiful palapa dock with lounge chairs and a hammock to relax on. There are two pools to wind down and relax in. One with a swim up bar complete with bar stools in the water and infinity edge. The beach area is huge and perfect for kids to play or just to relax under one of the large palapas. The lounge chairs are padded and very comfortable. There are even sea kayaks available for you to use. This was really cool, because you can practically kayak right out to the barrier reef.
The villas are all top of the line and have amazing views of the ocean. This is a fairly new resort, so you don't have to worry about dated appliances or old, beat up furniture. We honestly didn't spend much time inside, but it was nice knowing there were simple luxuries like a big screen tv, wifi and a/c waiting for us at the end of a fun and exhausting day. The natural breeze from the coast is actually better than the a/c in my opinion. Leaving the doors wide open and screens closed was an even bigger treat. Something about the breeze and soft roar of the waves crashing in the distance on the reef could lull me to sleep at any time of day. Now that is relaxation.
There is so much to do and see in Belize and most of the excursions will pick you up right from the dock. Whether you want an action packed vacation, a relaxing getaway or even a combination of both, this place has everything you need. Don't be afraid to just ask and you will be so glad that you did. I would definitely stay here again and can't wait to plan my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great views near Hol Chan dive site. Secluded but construction was occurring on both sides of resort as well as in the resort itself. Very distracting to have concrete drilling occur at 7:30 am until 5:00pm. No elevator yet so be prepared to walk up to your room.
That said, Sue and Omar took great care of us. Sue handled all if our plans quickly and never seemed to tire from our endless questions. We were very pleased with all her suggestions, she is great. Omar always was available to help with his wonderful smile and friendly manner.
Hol Chan Resort will certainly be a 5 rating once the construction is complete.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Sue and JOEL were absolutely fantastic and took great care of our large group. Condo was perfect, great condition, clean. Being outside the city is not a bad thing, as it's really great to be at calm and relax. Can't recommend it more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had an incredible stay here - the place is gorgeous, right on the water with a lovely dock & hut/hammock on the end, plus two pools. The unit we stayed in was on the 4th floor (3BR/2 bath), with spectacular views and was very clean with modern appliances (including dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer) - everything we needed to cook was there, and more. The caretakers Sue and Joel are absolutely amazing - helped us arrange golf carts, tours, groceries, etc. We had lots of questions for them and they answered them all.

Only downsides are that the resort is a bit far from San Pedro - 20-25 min golf cart ride - and the place is still in the final stages of construction. However, in the coming months they should have things under control! Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The units on the top floor (4th) have great views though it's a lot of stairs to climb. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hol Chan Reef Resort is an absolute wonderful place for a relaxing vacation. Stayed on the ground floor 1B and was able to walk straight out to the pool and pier-this was a great asset for this unit. Unit has 3 bedrooms and can sleep 6 adults. Patio on the roof for hosting and BBQing with great views.
Bikes available to guest, and kayaks. Pier with lounge chairs and hammock over the Caribbean.
Sue and Joel great with setting up adventures-snorkeling, mainland Belize cave tubing and Maya ruins sight seeing, and massages on the pier "Pier Bliss".

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Our family needs a break from Seattle rain every Feb-March and this year we chose Hol Chan for our "shot of sunshine" week. We stayed 7 fabulous nights and had an absolute blast! The combination of clean, luxury accomodations, a variety of activities and genuine hospitality made this vacation a permanent bright spot in our family's memory!

We arrived to a stocked kitchen and fabulous smells of dinner cooking, thanks to our reasonably priced personal chef! Email ahead of time and you can set this all up! After a long day of travel, it was beyond wonderful to be greeted by an air-conditioned, clean, warmly decorated home and a hot, wholesome meal on the table! Everyone's beds were super comfortable & my husband and I appreciated having our own separate master suite. We have traveled a lot, but this condo was by far the nicest and the most homey-feeling.

Our boys are ages 13 and 10 & they were worn out by fun in the sun every day! Some days we went on excursions, like deep sea fishing, snorkeling with sharks and rays, and cave tubing... Other days it was nice to simply lounge by the infinity pool. We bought a big beach ball and played some "water polo", paddled on the SUPs, and adventured into town on our golf cart.

But what really made the vacation extra special was the genuine hospitality of the entire staff. Within a day or two, they all felt like family :) Sue and Joel, the managers, accomodated our every wish. I wanted to check out local meat and produce markets, so Sue obliged me with a morning trip into town. They also had great recommendations of "hole in the wall" local restaurants and food stands that were amazingly delicious and not-so-touristy. The caretaker staff were very friendly too... They respected our privacy when we were relaxing, but also helped us with our whims, like "can you cut us down some coconuts?" to practical matters like, "Can I borrow a broom?" Every morning we woke up to not only breathtakingly gorgeous sunrises, but also a freshly swept patio, clean pool, and SMILES.

The absolute only caution I'd mention: If you plan on traveling with family members who have pain issues, you may want to re-consider. The golf cart ride into town is very bumpy and could aggravate someone who has physical sensitivities.

My next plan is to hopefully come back SOON: It'd be an amazing getaway alone with other couples, just the two of us, or... a girlfriend getaway! Whatever your vacation plans, you seriously will be hard-pressed to find a better tropical getaway than Hol Chan and the San Pedro area!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but heard zero noise from above us. You can request rooms on any level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Hi!
We recently traveled back to Hol Chan Reef Resort for a two week vacation in February 2014. We had an amazing time and we were greeted with the upmost hospitality. The management staff (Sue and Joel) arranged for us to have a case of beer, a case of water, a nice fruit plate, and coffee in our condo to help get us settled in right away. We stayed at the Hol Chan in February of 2013 and we enjoyed all of the improvement to the facility and the management staff. Three new pools were added, several new tiki huts were added to the beach, new kayaks, new paddle boards, and a bunch of bicycles available for use! Almost all of the work on the second resort building has been completed and the condos are gorgeous!!
Sue and Joel are the top notch managers of the resort. They were always around to answer questions, give a recommendation, or to help you plan an excursion. Joel was great with understanding the guest desires and on several occasions asked us for our opinions on improvement ideas. It was great that Sue and Joel are so interested in the voice of their customers. Albeit, our wives can offer up some pretty expensive suggestions sometimes- lol.
One ask and Sue/Joel took care of everything for you in a jiff. In fact, we wanted some more Belikin beer and Joel delivered it right to our door. Sue helped us make arrangements for in house cooks (Maria week one and Marfa week two) during our stay to cook our own caught fish. They also cooked chicken and lamb for us and the food was just as amazing. Their company was just as enjoyable!
Patrick and Omar were great as well. They worked tirelessly to keep everything around the resort in great condition. They were always around for questions and advice about the island (i.e. were to go fishing off the beach to catch good fish!).
We fully enjoyed our stay at Hol Chan Reef Resorts. We made several new acquaintances and friends along the way as well. Truly a wonderful vacation in Belize!!

Read the review by Tony "Great Place to stay" He sums up everything perfectly. # 1 rule, Sue and Joel rock!

Sincerely,
Adam C

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas

Address: 3.5 Miles South of San Pedro Town, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize (Formerly Milo's Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#18 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Major renovation including NEW Villa Building completion Jan 14,2014 with eight spectacular 2400 SF 3 Bedroom condos. New pool and beach & pier palapas. Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas is a new elegant beach resort featuring two bedroom and three bedroom villas on the south end of Ambergris Caye. Lounge pool side or enjoy the Caribbean Sea where the incredible Hol Chan Marine Reserve, one of the best snorkeling spots in the whole country, is a short boat ride away. We are so dedicated to helping you relax and unwind, we have an onsite management team providing personal concierge services to assist you with anything you want and need. And as an extra treat, we have an elevator that goes all the way up to a dual rooftop deck with unobstructed panoramic views of the Barrier Reef and island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hol Chan Reef Resort Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.