We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Holiday Hotel
Barrier Reef Dr. | Beef Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
United States
Level Contributor
204 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 521 helpful votes
“Central Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Walking from the airstrip, this is the third hotel you'll see. It's priced less than the first one with similar quality rooms, and more than the second. Paid $69 for a good-sized 2nd floor room above the restaurant, with verandah right in front of the beach. Most anywhere else, I'd pass on SP Holiday Hotel standard, but the pickings are slim in the center of this town. Room felt sort of like a cabin in campout country. Rate included internet but no breakfast. Air conditioner muffled exterior ambient noise. Lock to door was so substandard, would have been no surprise if room was broken into. Safe was a homemade wooden thing. Staff ranged from happy friendly to downright rude and crude. The reef and diving is the only reason to be here unless downmarket vacation venues are what you seek out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
10
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was clean. However, it was extremely noisy, which I expected based on other reviews, but did make it difficult to sleep. Good location right in the midst of the action of the island, so no golf cart was necessary.

My problem was more with San Pedro itself - I think if you're looking in this price range one of the other cages might be better for you. For me, San Pedro was way too touristy - full of Americans, American hotels, American bars, and American restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Yust moved out of there.
No good airco
Horrible beds with spirals comming thru
Very expensive (127 us per night for a horrible room)
Now in the maya princess.
Big room with tv/kitchen/balcony/ocean view/ 2 fans/Ac for 110 US !!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This place was a great place to stay. The service was good and the staff were very helpful and knowledgable. The rooms were clean and the location was excellent. The nights were a bit noisy but this is the down town area and people party late.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our 4 and 6 year old for 7 days and loved it. It is a small hotel that sits right on the beach and is in the heart of San Pedro. We actually chose this hotel because my parents used to stay here in the 70's (and the owner and some of the staff are still here!). The hotel architecture is charming and the rooms, while not super-modern, are comfortable. We had a room on the first floor that was perfect for us as the kids could walk right out onto the sand in the morning. The room was large (queen + 2 twins) and had AC which we actually never used since the ocean breezes were sufficient to provide a cool sleeping environment. The bar and restaurant on site was great (conch ceviche, fish fingers, snapper burgers, etc) and the small take out place across the street was perfect for breakfast and lunch (the chicken burritos were great). The hotel is very centrally located and there are restaurants and grocery stores within a 5 minute walk. Also - there is free wifi available if you have your notebook with you. One of the biggest pros for us was the small beach right out front that was perfect - sandy with a gradual slope and big palm trees and chairs on the beach. This hotel is definitely not a resort, which we really liked - there were not tons of tourist with umbrella drinks lined up on the beach and in the water (which you can see plenty of down the beach at Ramones). We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the charm of the San Pedro Hotel and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Stayed here for two nights, and while I wasn't expecting anything spectacular--really just great location, decent price and half-decent room--the room was pretty bad. The floor literally sloped downhill in the room and the ceiling was drywall material with no finish or paint. Thankfully the room was clean, but the floor was this rubberized mateial intended to look like hardwood floor except that it was rippling up in several places. We wouldn't have stayed here anything longer, but quite frankly, it served its purpose of central location for a decent price. Thus, an average rating, but be aware of what you might be getting into. The room didn't match up with the photos on the hotel's website, I will add though that the beach area and lounge chairs directly in front of the hotel were perfect for relaxing after a long day of adventure.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

I love this hotel. It's one of the best deals on the island, Sure it is more expensive than other hotels in Belize but not on the island. The staff are great and The bar tenders are a lot of fun. I have stayed here on several trips and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.0 mi away
Spindrift Resort Hotel
Spindrift Resort Hotel
#43 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
10.2 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
8.8 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Address: Barrier Reef Dr. | Beef Front, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first, the original in San Pedro....Holiday Hotel...The most recognized name in San Pedro, Holiday Hotel stands newly renovated while maintaining its colonial charm. It sits directly on a stunning beach, where you can enjoy a relaxing massage through our spa services! As our pampered guest, you'll be able to experience fine dining at our very own Caprice Bar.Grill! All rooms offer a spectacular view of the world's second largest barrier reef! Stay at Holiday Hotel and immerse yourself in all we have to offer! Visit our very own "Celi's Deli" Open 7 days a week from 5:00am to 5:00pm - is situated in front of the hotel, and is the perfect place to find your delicious local treats that can be accompanied with a warm coffee or drink of your choice. To give it a special touch to your breakfast please walk to our restaurant deck to sit down and enjoy your treats while contemplating the mesmerizing Caribbean sea that washes along our shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.