We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Tang Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Tang Inn to your Saves list
Blue Tang Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 16 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha,Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Another great vacation at the Blue Tang....staff and accommodations are superb. We stay there for a month, so we see everything. No surprises. Close to town if you want to shop, but also close to the quiet part of the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are great....lower level may get some breakfast noise from the guest, but hey..you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Garry and Jackie,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor for Blue Tang Inn.
We enjoy having you as wonderful guests each year. Thank you for your loyalty and it's a pleasure for our staff and the owner's to personally get to know you both and spend time having fun!
We are so glad you share in our feeling that Blue Tang Inn is such a special place!
Thanks again.

Kristin, Fanny, Allan and the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    87
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
75
169
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful ten days at the Blue Tang Inn! We can't say enough about the staff and how acommodating and professional they were From Fanny and Allan in the office, to Eric and Nelson, and Tito and all the wonderful ladies who cleaned our rooms--all so great!! We had a sailing day on the Sirena Azul and went snorkeling with the very capable help of Milow, David and Rowan.We enjoyed great snorkeling--so many fish, sharks, and turtles--it was really a treat.
We loved room 10 and the bed was sooo comfortable I took info off the mattress to see if I can get the same mattress at home!! We've never slept better!!
The entire resort inside and out is kept so clean and neat--and the complimentary breakfasts were always good--so nice to be able to have breakfast right there!
Our adult children were with us and enjoyed the trip as much as we did. Innkeepers Debbie and Curt were there at the same time and really made our trip special. We can't thank them and the entire staff enough!!
We hope to return to enjoy the hospitality and the beautiful sunrises and sunsets at the Blue Tang Inn. The location is perfect!! We would not have changed one thing!! Thank you all so much!!!!
Jon and Cheryl, Minnesota

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Cheryl,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay at Blue Tang Inn. I am sharing it with our entire staff and owners!!
Glad to hear you enjoyed your Sail & Snorkel Tour on our 40' Sailboat- the Sirena Azul. That is always a VERY special trip, floating along the aqua blue sea and stunning coral reef. Swimming beside sea turtles, stingrays and schools of blue tang fish is something to remember!
Spending quality time with your adult children, taking in the sunrise on the beach and sunset on the rooftop deck is amazing.
Thanks again for staying with us!

Regards,
Kristin Lamoureux
Blue Tang Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The suite with futon was perfect for our family with two teens. Kitchen was very well equipped and room was clean. In town location made exploring easy. Staff were very helpful in answering questions and making suggestions and arrangements. We had a great snorkel trip on the Sirena Azul - so nice to be able to sail out to the reef! Don't forget to climb up to the roof deck at night and look at the stars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Blue Tang Inn! Our staff love hearing from you and it helps other guests choose where to stay in Belize!
We are happy your family enjoyed their stay. Our location is perfect for families to enjoy the hotel and San Pedro Town freely without having to worry about transportation.
Thanks again!

Kristin Lamoureux, Sales & Marketing Director
Blue Tang Inn staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful location! We stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time. Staff were very helpful and gave great recommendations for tours and restaurants - also made all the arrangements! Very convenient location for everything. Our room was clean and spacious with a fabulous view of the ocean. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Blue Tang for a 4 day girls' trip. We wanted to stay near town and options were limited during high season. I was amazed by how great this place is and how friendly Allan and the staff are. The view is incredible and it's right by the dock, so we were able to just walk out in front of of the hotel for a snorkeling trip with our guide Oscar, who was wonderful. The Owner's Suite at Blue Tang was lovely and has a large bathroom. I would definitely stay here again! The location is fantastic and I would choose this again over staying at a fancier place at a more remote location.

Room Tip: Higher level floor is a bit nicer. We had a room on both the ground floor Suite 4 and the Owner'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great hotel. Staff super helpful with trip planning, where to go, eat, etc.

Location is perfect. Right at edge of downtown. Short walk to anything but also get a little more privacy.

We loved San Pedro. Would highly recommend the Blue Tang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived at the Blue Tang Inn, the service from Belize to the Inn was great, the service at the Inn was great. The first 4 days we had a beautiful room with a veranda overlooking the ocean, it was heavenly. WE could hang our wet suits to dry over the veranda rail and relax in the peace and quiet. Also an excellent choice of breakfast every morning something different, the staff were awesome and friendly. But then they changed our room ARRRR they put us on the BOTTOM floor with a small veranda facing a dirt road with lots of traffic in it. we were told if we hung our wet suites over the veranda to dry they would be stolen. The room smelled moldy and must and was dark and gloomy, noisy and like i said all the traffic and noisy people at the bar that was about 30 feet from the veranda. Also the Diving package that we paid for someone was scamming.. Adventure Diving or Blue Tang we missed a couple of dives because the weather sucked and regulator issues, we asked the dive master if we could make them up on our spare day becuase we had paid for them we just did not use 2 of them, the dive master said no problem, that will be ok. Not like the boats were full of people and we were pushing some one out. when i came to check out of the Blue Tang there was extra charges on there for extra dives. To my surprise i asked what is this, the lady at the Blue Tang said it is for Extra Dives, i said no, the dive master said that we could make up the dives. The lady at the Blue Tang said she would call Adventure Dives and talk to them well of course the owner was not there and his cell phone was not working. hmmm funny he was there every morning that we went diving. so i feel that i was ripped off for about $100.00 US. They said that they would check with the owner of the Dive Adventures and let me know but i have not heard anything yet, still waiting. So that put a damper on the vacation, it will be a long time before we come back, knowing that they are there to rip you off. That is no way to bring back tourists or divers. gust of Blue Tang from January 13 to January 20, 2014

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd floor or up at the front corners, but after you reserve it they will change you to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BzeMermaid, Director of Sales at Blue Tang Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Blue Tang Inn was very concerned to get this review and have taken measures to correct the issues with the guest.
We have refunded the guest $100 for the add'l 1 Tank Dive charge for 2 people.
The guest purchased a Dive Package with us for 5 Days of 2-Tank Dives. We explained to the guest that when you purchase a 2-Tank dive, it must be done in the same day. If you don't do the 2nd dive that day, it is NOT transferable to another day. This is because there is a diving discount involved in the price for multiple dives per day.
The guest cancelled their 2nd dive one day due to their personal regulator issues. They added a 1-Tank dive the next day and Blue Tang Inn was billed for it by the dive shop.
We did make a call to the dive shop on the guest's behalf to ask for an exception and could not get a response that day. We have now refunded the charge.
The dive shop Blue Tang Inn partners with is very professional. They are small and service-oriented just like Blue Tang Inn. Our guests are 99% satisfied with their diving experience and we often have professional Dive Masters from dives shops in the USA give us rave reviews.
Regarding the room, the Economy suite is NOT as desirable as the Ocean View Suite. That's why we sell it at $60 lower rate per night than Ocean View. Our guests looking for a more Economical suite, while still enjoying our wonderful location, great staff and nice amenities like this option.
At the time the guest made the reservation, there was not an ocean view suite available for the last 3 nights of the stay. They agreed to move to Suite #2 for the last 3 nights and received a reduction in their dive package as a result.
Every single guest at Blue Tang Inn has a confirmed suite # at the time they pay for their reservation. We always honor the room we promise and would not move a guest without their consent.
Our guest experience and satisfaction are very important to us. Please feel free to contact us with any questions.
Blue Tang Inn Management,
Kristin, Fanny & Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.5 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tang Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tang Inn

Address: Sand Piper Street - Beachfront, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tang Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On San Pedro’s north edge, experience a private paradise at Blue Tang Inn, one of the town’s most charming beachfront inns. Fourteen exquisite suites each offer full kitchens and air conditioning. Relax by the private pool or rejoice on the third floor sundeck with inspiring panoramas of the ocean and reef. Set your own schedule for amazing daily activities such as diving & snorkeling, fishing tours, sea kayaking, numerous inland tours and omnipresent romance during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Tang Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Tang Hotel San Pedro
Blue Tang Inn Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Tang Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.