We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Save Saved
You added Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 37, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

There is so much to recommend the hotel: the great location, the unbelievably nice people who work there, the incredible value. Everything is just so nice and it really is a fantastic choice especially if you want to just put your feet up and relax. The people who work at the hotel could not be kinder or more accommodating. The beach is beautiful and there is a great swimming spot at the end of the pier. We loved that we could start our day with a beach walk for miles in either direction. My only difficulty with the hotel is that, as a light sleeper, I found the barking of the dogs all night long a little hard to bear. Maybe the whole island is like that since the dogs are everywhere; I don't know whether that is true. Make sure you take earplugs along.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    69
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
110
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just got back from a fabulous vacation. Corona del Mar was the perfect spot for us. From the moment we entered the office we felt at home immediately. Frank escorted us up to our 3rd floor ocean front room with a large balcony. What a view.!!l It was perfect. All the staff went above and beyond and made you feel like family. Mel the cook did a spectacular job with the food even when things got busy. Kenny and Marge made the best drinks in town. LeRoy, aka Happy Man, a rep from TuffENuff tours can set up any excursion from right off the pier at the hotel. Mel, Vikki and others in the front office where always helpful and the maids did a great job. The beach is great, nice palm trees and hammocks for those who want the shade. However its not great to swim in unless you walk to the end of the pier where there is a marked swimming area, lounge chairs and palapa.
Oh and by the way, Frank, makes the best Rum Punch !!! (free in the afternoons)
This is not a 5 star resort but the staff and great guests, who we now feel as family made this the ``Best Vacation Ever``

And as Frank says ``when you come back we will say Welcome Home``

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just completed our second stay at Corona del Mar. Once again the staff made our visit a pleasure. So friendly. So accomodating. Just so nice! As someone else said, "they're family".

We really liked the addition of a kitchen. The cook, Mel, is fabulous. The dishes she prepares are varied. We especially liked the Coconut Shrimp. We hope she's there next year when we go back!

The dive shop extention (Tuff E Nuff) via LeRoy booked a terrific half day snorkel trip on a catamaran that was very affordable.

We'll be back again next year! Looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: If you're staying one or two weeks, I'd suggest units 1, 2, 201 and 202. They've been r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazen, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There are fancier hotels, but there are not better ones. The staff is long term, caring, and personable. Mel in the kitchen is doing great things, making it a cut above the average. Leroy "Happy Man" is the contact for Tuff Enuff Tours on the wharf, and put together some wonderful experiences for us, right from the wharf in front of the hotel. The front desk, bar, and maintenance staff were all friendly, right on the ball, helpful, and honest to a fault. We'll definitely be back. Most of the guests I met were return patrons.

Room Tip: The north building has larger, more modern suites. The south building has smaller, older, but cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with this hotel and had initially booked 2 nights due to never having been to Belize before and uncertain what to expect. We ended up extending our stay for the entire week. Staff were friendly and we met lots of fun guests who were staying there as well. Our room was clean and spacious with a ocean facing deck. We had a microwave, coffee maker and mini fridge and there are several grocery and liquor stores nearby. The location was excellent as it is just a short walk into the action of San Pedro. There is a tour rep located on the pier so it is easy to book your excursions. A massage hut on the beach is convenient. The beach is raked and clean with comfortable lounge chairs.
Frank is the caretaker at Corona and will gladly show you how to play horseshoes. They also rent bicycles from the hotel if you would like to explore further distances on the island.
The hotel does need a bit of TLC in general. A bit of painting and junk removal would enhance the aesthetics for sure, but it is clean nevertheless. Our air conditioner sounded like a 747 but the ceiling fan and the sea breeze was all that was needed for a comfortable sleep.
The Crazy Canucks bar is just a skip away and lots of live music and fun to enjoy there.
We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband set up the trip on line, finding Corona del Mar. It's about a 8 - 10 min golf cart drive south of town, which is nice because it was QUIET! Seem to be quite a few ex-pat Americans and Canadians in and around the hotel/apartments. The place was clean and well kept. Air conditioner was perfect on the day the breeze stopped. Across the street from George's - tremendous stewed chicken meal. Nice beach, beach chairs and hammocks! Very good bar and bartenders! The only thing that was dicey was the internet. Couldn't get it in the room for 2 days, but could in the lobby. Once they got it fixed, service came and went. But I wasn't supposed to be going on line while on vacation any way!! Oh, and pillows were flat - only real drawback for a good night's sleep

Room Tip: Ask for a beach or water view room. No garden for the garden view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff. Very quiet. If you want crazy party action don't go here, this is laid back and relaxing.

Have to take a cab and a water taxi to get to San Padre from BZE airport (about 2 hours and $40 US), or a short flight on a local airline (about a half hour and $80 US).

Easy walk to San Padre town center for shopping and groceries. Set up tours right from the hotel for snorkeling, diving, Mayan ruins, etc.

Very good food at the bar, only about $15 US for a great fish dinner or $20 US for a lobster dinner. Caroline's right next door is an excellent restaurant.

$1 US = $2 Belize. Everyone takes US though, and credit cards.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel Apartments
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro
Address: Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 37, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.