We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horse shoes with Frank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments
Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 37, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 San Pedro B&B and Inns
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Horse shoes with Frank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything you need-pool, massive bed, excellent staff and free rum punch. A well kept beach front is nice for lazy afternoons. Karaoke night at the in-house bar is a good night out.
You must challenge Frank to a game of horseshoes on the beach...but don't expect to win ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    77
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
113
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were in Belize over New Years 2013 and stayed at Corona Del Mar just outside San Pedro on Ambergris Caye. If you are looking for a 5 star upscale resort, this isn't the place. This was, however, practically perfect! The place was clean and the staff was top notch! Frank was there to help everytime you turned around. The bartenders were very friendly as was the front desk staff and houskeeping. Despite this being the busiest time of the year, there was almost no one on the beach in front of the hotel. We had an Oceanside apartment so when we opened our front door, we stepped out onto the beach. One night we ordered pizza from down the street and when it didn't arrive in the promised time, the hotel sent one of the security guards to find out what the problem was. This will without a doubt be our choice everytime we go back to this beautiful little island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Price is reasonable and in a great location. You can walk easily to downtown San Pedro on the beach. Rooms are good but need to improve maintenance. Doing some painting to refresh rooms and buildings would not hurt and it will give the hotel a nice clean feeling. We enjoyed our sea view and wide balcony. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was very basic, coffee, toast and some fruit. Not much but a good start. The hotel has its own dock, so if you are snorkeling or diving you will be picked up at the dock. Very convenient. One more thing, if you are expecting nice beaches to swim, this is not the island to be. Beaches are narrow, full of sea grass, and many are dirty. Not the hotel beach. They do a good job cleaning it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and that will be the last time! I was horribly surprised upon entering the room at the peeling paint, dark dingy lighting, and lack of overall maintenance! The shower was dingy and so small that I couldn't hardly turn around inside. They had coffee makers in the room but no coffee available! The beds were clean however. The continental breakfast consisted of the cheapest bread available, peanut butter and jelly and some fruit. The coffee was TERRIBLE! The beachfront consisted of sand and beach chairs however swimming in the ocean was not an option due to all of the trash in the water, including rebar and glass. The bar was the one bright spot. The bartenders, jasmine and marge were super and accommodating. Aside from that, I rate this hotel very low! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Dec 28, 2012-Jan 5, 2013........Upon arrival our rooms were not ready. Not a big issue the bar had cold beer. Two hours later we received the keys to our room. Wow was all I had to say. And mind you, it wasnt a good "WOW". The room was clean but everything was run down. Rust on all light fixtures, no lamp shades on the lamps only a bare bulb. Window frames were completely rusted out so the windows didn't shut or seal.

If you are looking for sandy beaches and swimming in the ocean Ambergris caye is not that type of place. We never did find a decent swimming beach. Besides there is a lot of garbage in the water.

Staff.........

The only saving grace the place has is the bar tenders and the maintenance man. Jasmine and Marge are the best. But the front desk girls are only somewhat helpful. One in particular is more interested in texting than helping a guest. I stood there on many occasions waiting and she didn't even look up until i said something.

So my honest review...........If Corona Del Mar is the best that Belize and San Pedro have to offer, find somewhere else to go. There are way better places to spend your money.

Dont be deceived by the pictures on their website!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great. We loved the fact that we could walk on the beach to the "downtown" area of San Pedro in just a few minutes. With it's own dock, the dive shops picked us up there for our dives. The hotel is just a few steps away from Caroline's Cooking and George's Kitchen, which both have good food. There are many other places to eat also within a short walk. My only complaint was that the bed was hard; my wife thought it was just fine. We had an ocean view from our 3rd floor window that was marvelous. Our room was quiet even over New Year's Eve- we worried it would be too noisy to sleep into the wee hours of the morning, but we heard nothing late at night on that or any night we were there. We would book this place again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Corona Del Mar. We had a great time! The hotel is very well-maintained, clean, and all of the staff is SUPER friendly. Whenever we had a question, needed advice on anything related to the island, they were there to help! Tons of beach chairs, nice bar, and great hammocks(our favorite spot) in the front. Also it was a short walk into town. I liked not being right in the middle of town, but just a few minutes away. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the "penthouse". nice and decorated with bright colors, very typical of centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments

Address: Coconut Drive | P.O. Box 37, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye 0, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments, your home away from home. A nice beautiful 15 minutes walk along the beach to town. Not too far from town but yet far enough from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy our free rum punch and fruit punch all day long. Once you are here, leave everything to us. We guarantee your vacation of a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Hotel And Apartments
Corona Del Mar San Pedro
Corona Del Mar Hotel & Apartments Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corona del Mar Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.