We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quiet Place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Island Condos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Caribe Island Condos to your Saves list
Caribe Island Condos
Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Temecula, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Quiet Place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Our family of 5 stayed at the Caribe Island Condos for spring break. We had the Manatee Condo. It fit us perfectly. The place was clean, quiet, and away from the bustling crowd.

The beach directly outside of the condo was clean for Belize, but step off of the condo site to the left and the story is vastly different. Be prepared to encounter a lot (and I mean a lot) of trash, including tin, broken bottles - everything!

This condo has a sister property next door, Sunset Beach Resort. That property's pool had a jacuzzi, ours did not. That property also had internet access, ours was broken for the entire 5 nights that we were there. Even though we were assured each day that they were 'working on it'-- internet access was never available in our condo.

This place is about 2.5 miles from town. If the desk arranges a taxi for you, be prepared to pay $10 us. If you find your own, you can pay as little as $5 us.

For food, we walked down to Fido's Sandbar- about 15 minutes down the beach. Food was good, but pricey, but that's the case everywhere in Belize/San Pedro. Be careful walking along the beach and definitely wear shoes. There is garbage, including broken glass, tin, etc., everywhere.

We also bought food to cook in the condo at Marina's Market and Super Buy in town. We avoided the Island Market because it was way overpriced. We ate BBQ chicken one night from the vendors in town - absolutely the best meal we had the entire time we were in Belize (10 days). Highly recommend it. Don't recommend any of the ice cream shops. Apparently, the cream that they use to make the ice cream is much less than fresh. The two times we ate ice cream, 3 of us became sick.

They really pushed the golf carts on you. We rented 1 for 1 day and that was sufficient. Most of the tours picked us up directly from the pier that is located directly out of the condo so there was no need to go to town. The cost to rent the golf cart was $70 per day (taxes, insurance included). That same money could have gotten us back and forth to town at least 3-4 times in the same day. Not worth it in our mind.

We booked the manatee reserve/snorkeling tour with SEArious Tours. It was an all day event. Highly (strongly, very strongly) recommend that you take light weight sun-proof clothing to wear in the boat and during snorkeling time in the water. Sunscreen 50+ did NOT work at all - even though we re-applied every hour or so. The only one who didn't get burnt was our 8 year old who wore a sunscreen shirt all day. The trip it self was awesome - absolutely great experience. Our guides were perfect. Very good at what they did. They looked out for those who couldn't swim very well and knew where to go for the fish, away from the crowds.

The 2 hour snorkeling trip to Hol Chan with Suya Tours next to the condo was uneventful. Our guide barely spoke English and he was very difficult to understand. I would book with SEArious Tours again, but not with Suya. I felt that the Suya Tour price was way too much for the service.

I recommend Caribe Island Condos if you are looking for a condo to house the entire family under 1 roof. I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for a party night life. There isn't anything to do on this end of the island at night.

  • Liked — It was clean, quiet and good value for the accommodations compared to the rest of San Pedro
  • Disliked — No internet service like they advertised
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

What is great :
- The beach
- The condos are nicely , but sparsely decorated
- Location

What is not great :
- The restaurant which used to be open is now closed down, so you cannot eat on site.

- The staff was not friendly or helpful at all. (Prior staff was GREAT)

- The water trampoline is not in working order

- The tile in the condos gets moist due to humidity and is VERY slick... rugs should be put in the condos to prevent slipping.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Caribe back in March of 2006. When we first arrived I was a little dubious about the good reviews I had read on this site. Our room the first night was very small and LOUD. We could hear people outside all night long. The next night we switched to an ocean-front room that was much, much better. We loved the pool, the quiet location, the free bikes and the internet connection. We would walk down to Victoria House or some of the other hotels for dinner each night. I would have liked to have a restaurant on-site but it was nice to walk on the beach each night. All- in all we had a wonderful vacation. We went diving through Ramon's and had a great time - Blue Hole trip, many reef dives, etc...

  • Liked — steps to the beach from our room, comfortable, free bikes to ride around the island
  • Disliked — Lack of a restaurant (other than snack bar), room experience the first night
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We had a great time! Beautiful beach. The Dock had a swim ladder. The room was only a "view" room but we felt like we were ocean front. Great staff, booked all of our trips and even did our food shopping for use while we sat at the pool. Make sure you get the rum punch at the pool bar.

  • Liked — Beach and Pool
  • Disliked — Walking Distance To Town
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

VERY DISAPPOINTED. He advertised a 1 bedroom--& it was a studio-the air conditioner sounded like a B52 Bomber. The staff was not all that
attentive, and we ended up changing hotels. We went to Mata Rocks-& that hotel is FABULOUS! Would NOT recommend Caribe Island.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

This is our first trip to Belize. My husband and I went with another couple on a last minute whim to Belize. We had a very difficult time trying to find accommodations during Dec 25-Jan1. If you plan to go, book well in advance.

We stumbled up Caribe because of a cancellation. We had done no research because we had no other options. It turned out to be a pretty good spot. All condos are privately owned and the owners are pretty down to earth. Very simple floor plan with good views. We stayed in room 3 and found it not the best room. There were no screens on the french doors that opened to the pool so we had to keep the doors closed (kind of a bummer with such a great view). The furniture was also very uncomfortable. They had a very firm built in couch and chair. Though the free wireless internet and cable TV was a benefit on the one rainy day we had.

Our friends stayed in room 26 (on the third floor). It was much better. The furniture was more comfy and the view was spectacular!

Overall, the place was pretty cool. We were very happy to find out that we were staying in a nice location (on the south island).

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

This was our first trip to Belize, though we've been to many other islands.. We liked it so much we've recently bought a unit. Caribe Island is perfect for people who want to have the options to relax on a private beach, swim in a fresh water pool, enjoy the awesome snorkeling/diving Belize has to offer, or go on one of the many other excertions available (cave tubing, zip lining or horse back riding through the jungle, exploring ruins, etc...). The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. We had no trouble booking activities. All boat trips had pick up right off Caribe's own dock, so no need to travel anywhere else first. The rooms were very clean. Joel the bartender has a great personality, and makes a mean tropical drink. HUGE Lakers fan if you want to score points. We traveled the island either by taxi with George, or golf cart. The roads are dirt & bumpy , we'd expect no less on an island... We were only a couple miles from town, so going in for dinner, or shopping (which by the way the condo supplies free taxi 5:30pm-9:30pm) was no hassle. The food was wonderful, not one meal would we complain about. Some of our favorite places, Blue Water Grill, Elvi's Kitchen, Victoria House for breakfast, a little pricey though. It really was all good though.
While there, we learned the resort had been going through some changes, and they have great plans for the future. All in all it's a great place and can only get better! We can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — private beach, beach bar
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
2.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.4 mi away
Caribbean Villas Hotel
Caribbean Villas Hotel
#28 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
5.6 mi away
Coco Beach Resort
Coco Beach Resort
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Island Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Island Condos

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#37 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Oceanfront condominium complex with various sized units that can accomodate up to twelve persons. The Caribe Island condo resort is a small, full-service resort that is located on the Island of Ambergris Caye, just outside the town of San Pedro in Belize, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Caribe Island Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Island Condos Hotel San Pedro
Caribe Island Condos San Pedro
Caribe Island Condos Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Island Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.