We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to rest and recharge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Caribbean Villas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
mcpam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to rest and recharge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Praises to Caribbean Villas for a wonderful vacation. The new owner was there often to oversee the bar renovation, but he made no attempt to visit with guests. No worries, as the staff was very friendly, rooms were clean, grounds were immaculate.

This small 12 room hotel is about a mile from town, and we walked the beach daily to find a new favorite spot to eat. We also bought alcohol at the duty free, local beer at the distributor, and shopped at Marina’s just up the street for a few things to have in our furnished kitchen. The bar closed at 8:00 so if we wanted a nightcap we had to be out and about or make our own and watch the stars.

Tonya at the front desk arranged all our trips. We snorkeled (Ramon’s), scuba’d (Ramon’s), fished (Guererro’s, then took our catch to George’s Kitchen to cook - YUM), and one couple did the Zip Line/Cave Tube (Seaduced). Otherwise we vegged at the small pool or by the water. Not a great beach, which seems typical of Ambergris, but groomed daily to be seaweed free.

If you're looking for a high activity, entertaining resort, Caribbean Villas is not for you. But it's a perfect place to rest and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: We couples occupied all 4 one bedroom suites. Room 8 was the most updated. Room 1 (ours) was in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    162
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
87
248
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

What an Amazing place! Ambergris Caye. This little tucked away gem of a boutique hotel is just the ticket if you want to unplug, relax, get away from it all, truly a little slice of heaven. The rooms are just perfect, the hosts/owners are equally accommodating and friendly. "Coconut Leo" make an appearance every now and then, an Island local that climbs palm trees upside-down! Clings to the very top of the tree upside-down while cutting you a fresh coconut - he's amazing. Probably one of the most relaxed vacations I've ever had and would def. repeat again and again.

Scuba Diving - decent, but not world-class compared to the Barrier Reef or Red Sea, but not bad at all.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms only have an A/C in the bedroom(s) not the entire villa. Wasn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Caribbean Villas for five days in March 2014. From the moment we got there, I knew we had chosen the perfect place! When we arrived at the airport, the staff there called Caribbean Villas and they provided a taxi to pick us up. Nice to have service like that included. Once we arrived, we were shown to our room, #10 upstairs, which had a great view of the beach. The room was small, but had everything we could've possibly needed - refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, air conditioning. Bed was comfy and bathroom with shower was adequate. Housekeeping did an excellent job with thorough cleaning everyday.

Being about a mile or so away from town was ideal. There was no noise other than the chirps of birds and the sounds of other native wildlife. We enjoyed walking into town via the beach. Another nice perk was free access to bicycles. We rode bikes around a couple of days to check out the north side of San Pedro and the Marco Gonzalez archaeological site.

All the staff seemed genuinely interested in ensuring we had a pleasant stay. The front desk folks always had good recommendations for dining and the beach bar staff whipped up refreshing rum punches and other tasty concoctions. Food there was also top notch.

If we ever make it back to La Isla Bonita, you can bet we'd stay at Caribbean Villas again!

Room Tip: The hotel currently has just 12 rooms, but is planning to add another 40 rooms in the future, accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had an awesome experience at Caribbean Villas! The new owners are fantastic and every single employee was great. We had our two kids (1 and 4) and they were very accommodating! The location was everything you'd imagine. Great food (and drinks!), friendly service, and very clean. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I know some other reviews have mentioned that CaribbeanVillas has new owners, and I just want to reiterate that I hope the new owners realize that the Staff make the place the success that it is. I love Luis, Tony (so nice, helpful, and great smiles), Leon, and the housekeeping staff. They're hard work, attitude, and friendly service are the flavor of Ambergris Caye, and the success of CVH. I raved to everyone I met at the different airports that CVH has the greatest Tiki bar, great food, and the best staff on the island. I invited them all to join us for happy hour where the beers were 3 for $5. When I got there, I found out the prices all went up. After paying $20.00 for a double brandy, I bought my own bottle of Brandy (a whole bottle for half of what I paid for a double shot), we stocked our fridge with beer, and enjoyed our deck and neighbors.
On a positive note, CVH has one of the nicest beaches on the island. It is kept clean, has nice, cushioned chairs, hammocks and a nice Pier to swim from.
My sister made our reservations in October, and requested our favorite room, the Pelican Perch. It was confirmed in an e-mail that was what our reservation was for. It has 2 bathrooms, kitchen, and plenty of room for some of the other guests we invited to join us. When we got there, we were put in a different room, smaller, and only one bathroom. They said the e-mails were lost in transition (still had the reservation though), and that all of the lofts were the same price. We were offered no refund, and, since they were booked solid, could not change our room. The room was still nice, and our housekeeper kept it very clean and stocked.
I love the location of CVH, the nice beach, love the staff, and the Pelican Perch. I hope the new owners don't change the flavor of the hotel, which we have come to really enjoy. I would recommend it, and hope to return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed eight nights at Caribbean Villas, our first trip to Belize and to Ambergris Caye. We were very very happy with the staff and the location and though our room (#12) was small it had a blender, microwave, coffee pot, toaster and fridge! This little room was our evening hideaway, all day we were snorkeling, diving, reading in hammocks or swimming, kayaking, running, or resting out in the beautiful sandy beach, under palms. On Sundays they have a band which was great and a beach barbecue. The breakfast is good and the lunch is too, but mostly fried food. The location is enough out of town to be super peaceful and the hotel dock is where we were picked up for our adventures. Within walking distance along the beach there are many good restaurants and only about a block away is a little market and pharmacy, some fruit stands, things like that. The other travelers in Belize are very friendly, Canadian, Brits, lots of Americans. The Belize people are also friendly, direct, and kind. Louis at the front desk is very good at booking anything you need and has good recommendations, and the beach bar and restaurant staff are very nice. The service and cleaning was great and we are very very happy with this choice. Usually we book at a higher level of stars but after walking past all the other four and five star places on this side of Ambergris Caye we have decided we would definitely return HERE! Rooms 9 and 11 are upstairs and have a great view and location, especially if you have a family and need a little more room. There is a windsurfing/sailing rental guy right next door and you can get lessons and sail or windsurf.

Room Tip: corner upstairs rooms are large and have great views, standard rooms are fine since you will be outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is our second and third trip (my second, their third) to Ambergris Caye and Caribbean Villas resort, the place is in a bit of transition at the moment with new owners but that said it's located perfectly on the island and has great atmosphere for those who want a laid back comfort in their travels.

Leon, Lewis, and Tony as well as the kitchen and maid staff make this place what it is, they go out of their way to make sure your trip is what you invision it to be, and the place would not be the value it is without them, lets hope they are there for the future!

They are expanding to another 30 unit buliding and parking at the moment, with all the changes going on preserving the character of the place should be priority to me choosing to go back and stay there or not, time will tell. Good luck to the new owners, it's a great place on Ambergris caye with nice access via the beach to San Pedro and tours of the mainland.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean so choose your package to the size of your group, some have kitchens and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.8 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#29 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Caye Casa
Caye Casa
#18 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedro's Hotel
Pedro's Hotel
#35 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Caribbean Resort
Royal Caribbean Resort
#31 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
Ocean Tide Beach Resort
#30 of 53 in San Pedro
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#27 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has luxury suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. With an onsite Dive Shop on our dock to arrange Scuba and Snorkeling excursions, and the Belize Sailing Center on the beach with Sailing, Kayaks, Paddleboards and Windsurfing & Kite surfing rentals, there is no lack of activities for adventure seekers. Or just relax with an oceanfront massage from their onsite masseuse. Our full-time concierge is available to book any mainland tours including Reef & Deep Sea fishing, Jungle Zip-lining, Cave-tubing and Maya Ruin tours. Golf Cart rentals are also available on site. Guests also have access to a Jacuzzi, two fresh water pools and the on-site restaurant which serves gourmet Caribbean and Belizean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.