We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home right away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Villas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caribbean Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Caribbean Villas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It felt like home right away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Caribbean Villas was a perfect get away boutique hotel located on the Caribbean beach. There's a wonderful pier that provides easy access to the swim area. The quiet south island location is just far enough outside of town. The hard working staff goes out of their way to make your visit special. Breakfast and lunch at the beach bar were fantastic....what more can I say...we had great huevos rancheros and lobster burgers and don't miss the pina coladas! Other restaurants are close by also. There was often something going on at the beach, but it was very quiet each evening and everyone we met was pleasant and very respectful of each other and the surroundings. Most beach days were perfect for reading/relaxing on the comfortable chaise lounges provided by the Villas. We felt like we had found a home away from home on our first day. We met other guests who returned to Caribbean Villas for their third stay...I also hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    144
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
76
214
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time in San Pedrp / Ambergris Caye. From afar, we found deciding on a place to stay quite difficult - there are a lot of high-end resorts on the island, but with accompanying high-end prices. Anything of any reasonable standard doesn't come too cheap either, so we ended up choosing Caribbean Villas.

The hotel is small, but with good facilities: the beach bar and accompanying restaurant are very good. Leon and Lewis at the bar were great, and we met Graham the owner a couple of times too, along with other guests and a lot of ex-pats on the island. The fact that the bar is a place of choice for ex-pats (especially on Sundays) is a good sign, and the bar area created a friendly, community feel. Staff generally were friendly and helpful.

The small pool and deck, beachfront, and the pier are nice, with water sports available. We were unfortunate with weather, but still got to use these facilities. The free bikes were fantastic, opened up the whole island, and are sturdy and fun. Cycling the beach north of the bridge is a must do in San Pedro. As it's a 15 minute walk to town, the bikes also shorten that particular trip.

Our room was ok - room 12. Nothing wrong with it, just quite small, and tucked away under the stairs on the ground floor. Nice hot shower, TV had all the channels (and a channel list: other hotels take note!), comfortable bed, microwave, food mixer / smoothie maker, and enough storage.

All in all, while there are more luxurious places to stay, Caribbean Villas offers good value, and a nice atmosphere, and is peacefully and conveniently located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were backpackers looking for a nice place to spend our final two nights of our trip. Reception was welcoming and accommodating. We got a great walk-in rate for a room with a view and unexpected amenities such as a beach bar, pool, fridge, tv with movie channels, microwave and blender for homemade piña coladas. They were able to answer all our question and provided us with two complimentary drink coupons. The free bike rentals was an added bonus to get to and from.

Where this hotel really stands out was their customer service. We had a medical emergency happen and was surprised to be visited by Renee a hotel representative. He was a friendly face when we needed it most. He asked if their was anything we needed and was accommodating to all our requests and needs. Nothing was expected in return except our well-being.

Above and beyond and well taken care of! Thank you to all the personnel involved with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A great little resort just outside of San Pedro. So quiet en calm. It is directly at the beach. There is a little beachbar with oceaan view. The pool looks good although we didn't try it because of the weather. But I can imagine I would enjoyed the pool or hottub looking over the pier and the caribbean sea.
The villa we were in was big and well equipped. Kitchen with everything, nice kingsize bed and
a perfect view on the oceaan. Good location to do your own cooking.
The lady at the front desk was very helpful so a good service. We were there for business so only only one night, but we hope to go back some day for a diving holiday.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good depending with how many persons you are. They alle have oceaan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Caribbean Villas at Ambergris Caye. Airport transfer and hotel check-in was a breeze, Mr. Paul took great care of our bags. A bottle of champagne was in our suite upon arrivial. The grounds and the view from our room was outstanding as was the housekeeping staff. This property is a breeze to come and go from, the grocery store and bakery is only a 5 min. walk to the South and town is about 20 min walk to the North on the very safe beech. Excursions were booked right at the front desk and water craft pickup was always on time. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Up grade to beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

the reservation staff was very prompt to answer my emails and offer advice on airline connections and dive operations. the beach and surrounding gardens where well tended and the palm trees gave a nice shade. the boat pier was handy for our dive group to pick up and drop us off. the sail sport rental company on the beach was handy and it was fun to watch the comings and goings of the sailboats and kite surfers. we used the free bicycles most everyday to tour around the island. being 1 mile south of town was handy, 20 minute beach walk or 10 minute bike ride. even though our room was cleaned every day, we never saw the maid. she was able to get to our room while we were away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Friendly staff, great location, good bar/food, housekeeping terrific, grounds maintenance perfect, great beach, lovely pier ... well, I could go on and on about Caribbean Villas. I lived on the island for 10 years and worked for a property management company so I am familiar with the resorts and beaches. My sister and I were very pleased with CV!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has luxury suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.