We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Villas Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Villas Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caribbean Villas Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We just returned from a great trip to Belize, and our stay at the Caribbean Villas was wonderful. We wanted a small hotel on the beach with a relaxed atmosphere where we could appreciate nature and have a low-key vacation. Caribbean Villas was perfect for us. We had a "celebration of life" trip with three generations of our family. We left 3 husbands at home (with their blessings), and the 4 "girls" ranged in age from 70 to 19. We had the "Pelican's Perch" loft suite where we had plenty of room, 2 bathrooms, a nice kitchen and a balcony overlooking the ocean. From the balcony we watched the sunrise while eating our breakfast, appreciated the lovely water, the birds, and the full moon reflecting on the water. We could walk to the grocery stores to get snacks and breakfaast foods, which was convenient.
The staff is great--everyone is friendly and helpful. Rene (in reservations) was terrific answering many questions over the phone and by email before our trip, so we could plan what we wanted to do. Luis, Gladys & Lilly in the office were super in arranging our tours fro bird watching, fishing, snorkeling, and trips to see the Mayan ruins & zip lining/cave tubing. SEAduced had a good trip to Lamanai with Ricky, Devon and Eddie as our knowledgeable guides.
Please ask for Ramon Guerrero as a guide for a fun fishing trip--he was wonderful. We weren't that experienced, so he baited our hooks, took the fish off and cleaned the fish. (Ramon also guides more experienced anglers.) The boat ride was great over the beautiful water. When we returned, the hotel cook prepared our fish for a delicious lunch.
For taxi service, we always asked for Alberto. He took us to the markets for fresh produce and meat, to the shops and good local restaurants and, best of all, he took us to a local artist, Kurt Cruz. We made several visits to see Kurt painting on the street, and to buy some of his paintings to bring home. He does beautiful work and the pieces make great souvenirs.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Caribbean Villas and hope to come back some day. We had something interesting and exciting planned every day--we have so many wonderful memories of our trip!
Yes, I gave the hotel a 5 for the fitness center. Although they don't have a formal fitness center, they arranged the tours so we did something physical every day. With walking in town, bird watching, hiking, climbing, fishing, swimming, snorkeling, zip lining and cave tubing, we had our own fitness program!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    137
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
73
205
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Caribbean Villas was a great location, had fun bikes to explore with, perfect to walk in to San Pedro on the beach, friendly bartender. The only downfall for us is that we wished there had been water other than out of the faucet in the room and more soap. Other than it was perfect. Fun to meet the other guests and sit at the bar or pool with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was my third time at the Caribbean Villas. I think it has the best location on Ambergris Caye, close to town but very quiet. The beach bar has good food and the best bartenders with Luis and Tony, they are wonderful. It's a small enough place so you get to know some fellow travelers in just a few days. A great value for room rate and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Great location accompanied by awesome and very helpful staff. Close to amenities yet far enough off the main track to have seclusion. There is sailing and non-motorized water craft available on location and the dive/snorkeling/fishing operators are willing and eager to pick you up at the end of the dock. We used the bicycles provided or walked to most of the venues we wanted to go to. We rented a golf cart for further distances and on the larger grocery shopping junket. If you’re going into the denser foliage or Mayan ruins, I would recommend mosquito spray. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The resort is very private and secure feeling. It has all of the basic amenities I enjoy without a lot of fluff. OK, without any fluff. In general, the property is clean and well maintained. We had an issue with the wall A/C unit our first night but, I simply let them know at the front desk and later that day after returning from diving, the unit was cranking out cool air. We slept just fine after that.

The distinct pros, in my mind, is the secluded quiet atmosphere. The resort is a 5-10 min beach walk from downtown San Pedro so, there aren't a lot of tourists around. At the same time, there are enough guests hanging out at the tiki bar or pool to make it enjoyable. We met many really cool people while there and exchanged contact info for future dive adventures.

On the cons side, the water pressure is a little low and temps can be erratic even without flushing or running any other water. Also, we were pretty much house guests of tiny little ants. They were up on the counters, etc., searching all the time and if you left a crumb, it was an ant party. They didn't seem hostile so, we worked around them and kept all food in the fridge.

Ambergris Caye is primarily a diver's dream. Of course, all the usual sea activities like snorkeling, fishing, jet skis, etc., are also available. The beaches themselves are white sand but, there is sea grass in many/most of the shallow areas so, if your objective is to stand in the water, etc., you may have to look around for a sandy spot. They are there but, plan on spending time in deeper water and then, it's absolutely gorgeous.

Room Tip: We really didn't see inside any rooms but our own. I recommend getting one with an ocean view l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were there from May 9-12, 2012. We arrived and checked out Banana Beach Resort and did not like the feeling of that place. We were suggested this place by a local and fell in love right away. The mix for tropical jungle feel and beach resort was balanced perfectly. The view was great from the room and the bar on the beach was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We chose Caribbean Villas for our first trip to San Pedro and were not disappointed! The location is perfect...close enough to town that we either walked or used the bikes available at the hotel. There was a great swimming area off of the hotel's pier that we swam in most mornings and late afternoons. The beachfront bar had really good food and Tony, the bartender, was always extremely friendly and took great care of us! Our 1 bedroom suite (#8) was clean, spacious and had beauttiful views of the beach. The front office staff were helpful anytime that we dealt with them. As an added bonus for pet lovers, the hotel comes with Smoothie (local dog that hung out in the bar all day) and Sylvester (sweet cat who stayed up around the office). During our trip we checked out a hotel south of Caribbean Villas and another hotel several miles north of town that we had considered staying at and we both agree that when we come back to San Pedro there's only one place we'll stay and that's Caribbean Villas. You can't beat the location and it's a great value for your money!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Villas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Villas Hotel

Address: Seagrape Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caribbean Villas Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Villas Hotel on Ambergris Caye has luxury suites/rooms with Caribbean views, beautiful grounds, a large sandy beach all within sight of the reef. Whether you want a romantic vacation or a getaway from the crowds, a spell of renewal or a stepping stone to adventure, we can cater to your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Villas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Hotel San Pedro
Caribbean San Pedro
Caribbean Villas Hotel Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Villas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.