We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Ramon's Village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramon's Village Resort
Save
You added Ramon's Village Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great time at Ramon's Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2006

We spent the last four days of our week in Belize at Ramon's Village Feb.5-9. The beachfront room was clean and pleasant, not deluxe by all-inclusive standards. The views/scenery were excellent. Food was above average. Bar was always fun with a mix of clientele ages.
Hotel, bar/restaurant and dive staff were excellent.
Snorkeling at Hol Chan and S/R alley was the best in many years of Caribbean travel. The entire San Pedro
experience was a welcome change from previous all-inclusive vacations which we liken to being dropped in the middle of an adult playpen. The town was safe, the restaurants good and the shops were fine. We were not hounded by vendors or shopkeepers. The islanders were very friendly yet dignified. We enjoyed the freedom of exploring the area on our own terms. We highly recommend Ramon's as a great starting point for exploring Ambergris and Belize.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    211
    64
    34
    19
See reviews for
139
371
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Whiteland, indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

Quaint with very friendly staff. The island via golf cart was interesting to say the least. Diving was excellent in Ho Chan preserve, teaming with fish life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut/Quito
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2006

We arrived by water taxi from Belize City for three nights at Ramon's. Our first experience was at The Tackle Box, a restaurant at the ferry pier where we decided to have a light lunch before checking into the hotel. When the bartender learned we were staying at Ramon's, he offered to call the village to send their golf cart transportation for us. That was a great way to start our stay on Ambergris Cay.

Ramon's is a collection of separate and attached palapa style cottages with a restaurant, bar, pool, and gift shop in the center. We loved our garden unit and agree with those who mentioned less privacy with ocean view units and street noise of others. Ours had a direct view of the ocean, was a short walk to the beach, and backed up to another property rather than the street.

One of the tour books suggested that this is a place for the young drinking crowd. In Jan/February this late 50's couple found it a mixed age group (who would want it otherwise???)and a perfect place to spend time.

We did not need the air conditioner instead we opened the windows and enjoyed the ocean breeze enhanced by the overhead fan. The room was a good size, shower adequate as was the hotwater. The separate sink area outside of the toilet and shower room, was a bit small.

Ramon's includes complimentary lockbox, beach towels, a gallon of purified water, beach chairs, and hammocks. The bar staff appeared from time to time at the beach. The beach is great with lots of shade or sun depending on your wishes. The pool is more of a decorative one than a swimming one, although people did sit with their feet in the water and drink or read. The restaurant provided another shady place to eat or read.

We did not eat at the restaurant after our first try. Our waiter said there was no orange juice, but the waiter at the next table offered that as a choice to his table. Then, after questioning and being convinced that it was a breakfast item (fuzzy navels and screwdrivers???) we ordered lime juice (limeade) as the others had been served, and was told again that they were out of this too. What were they using for the various tropical drinks being offered?? Anyway, that was too much for us and we left.

So, we enjoyed all our meals elsewhere. We highly recommend The Blue Water Grill having eaten two breakfasts and one dinner there. All seats have ocean views, and it is only a few properties away going north on the beach. Carambas was also excellent, but not on the beach. The food and drinks were delicious, prices fine, and staff genuinely glad to see us. We would definitely recommend it and would return on another trip. Elvie's was good and not on the beach, but is overrated as was Celie's. Celie's is on the beach and so has a nice view and is north of Ramon's. If you want a bowl of spagetti or a grilled chicken sandwich like home, this may be your place.

We snorkeled from the pier and took a tour to Hol Chan and Shark Alley with Ramon's group. While we saw a lot of fish and had a wonderful trip, we saw only one nurse shark and a few rays because our guide did not feed the fish and neither did another boat in the area. We were disappointed not to see more sharks and rays and to swim with them as we had heard others had. Since we are amateur snorklers, we were excited by everything we saw. The coral at the barrier reef was beautiful and made my biology studies literaly come alive. The snorkel gear provided was better than what we had used in Thailand.

We also rented a golf cart at Ramon's late one afternoon to take a tour of the southern end of the island. It got dark before we could do the northern end. The rest of the time we took walks on the beach and into town in the evening to look in shops and to eat.

The location is great, i.e. an easy walk on the beach or road to restaurants and town, a good sized grocery just south, and without much luggage a walk to the water taxi to Belize City and the airport...a fun and less expensive way to travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

Ramon's Village is everything I hoped it would be. My wife and I had an ocean front villa and it was perfect. I was told August was part of the rainy season but to tell you the truth, the cool breeze and the 15 minutes of rain a day were great, not dissapointing! In fact, we snorkeled while it was raining and barely noticed! Stay at Ramon's. You won't be disapointed. I am ready to go back, swim in shark/ray alley again, eat all the great food, snorkel the reefs, and relax in the hammocks.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon in Belize. Our stay at Ramon's could not have been better. It had by far the best beach in San Pedro. Many hotels don't have easy access to the water. They handled all of excursions needs right at the hotel (snorkel, kayak, golf cart, etc) Our room was great. Very clean, good air conditioning. The only knock on Ramon's is the food. I don't recommend eating in the restaurant. There are plenty of good eats within a short walk.

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

I had finished a tour in iraq and wanted to do some diving, having read other reviews of ramons I selected their establishment. I was not dissapointed in the least with the service or the diving. The resort is close enough to town to walk to, were you can hit the bars and shops in the evening. The dive shop was first rate and the bar wasnt bad either. do keep in mind that this is a small cay so yes you are close to the road and to the airport, but then you get the convience of the town. I would recommend ramons to all.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2005

We didn't know what to expect when arriving at Ramon's but we were pleasantly surprised...since we had just come from a jungle lodge with no electricity. Ramon's is in a GREAT location, within walking distance to town. The seaside Cabana we stayed in was on the top floor and had great high ceilings, a porch and electricity (air conditioning too). Every day our room was cleaned promptly and swept up (cause sand is a little out of control). Hot water was plentiful, which was awesome, although they said its not safe to drink the faucet water...but we had a large jug of water to use to brush our teeth! Breakfast was included in our stay and for me, after 5 days...I was running out of options. Huevos, or Huevos (eggs if you haven't learned Spanish yet). The breakfast was good with fruit and a neat thing called a Fry Jack. Yum. We had a good time feeding the cats that frequent the resort. Or we would walk out on the long, wonderful dock to feed the fish our leftovers. Some of the food at Ramon's was sketchy but you might want to take me with a grain of salt, because I am pretty picky. I will tell you this about food though....right when you walk into town there is pizza place that states "NY pizza"....it was REALLY good and I wish I got more of it. Anyways, back to the resort...it was very clean and probably the best location of all resorts we saw. The dive center was somewhat helpful, I was a brand new diver and asked for an easy dive site...and ended up having a panic attack in the water because of the waves and never trying diving again. But the snorkeling was AWESOME. But watch out around dusk...there are many bats flying around. Our cabana had garlic tied to the outside. Overall our stay in San Pedro was great. Ask the locals about the Chicken Drop at the Pier Lounge, the local kids feeding the crocodiles (they are not trying to scam you into buying a chicken...you really have to). Also, you should plan on renting a golf cart one or more days to ride around...parking is easy on the street and Ramon's has plenty of parking. The staff is great, especially the restaurant staff...I don't think those guys get a day off.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#13 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramon's Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic thatched roof cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon's Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.