We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramon's Village Resort
Save
You added Ramon's Village Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wow, what a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The area is a dive Mecca and the food is pretty good as well. Ramon himself was there and told great stories, there is an onsite restaurant to dine open air. The huts are very comfortable and located right on the beach. They have people on site to organize day trips and dive trips. Excellent place to relax

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    168
    50
    28
    16
See reviews for
110
296
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

the diving was incredible. Do the water park snorkel trip-for divers and non-divers-it is amazing! You see everything you would on a dive close up and sometimes too personal! the dive staff is friendly and helpful. We hope to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the fabulous dive shop here at Ramon's. We hope to have you back to take you on more great dives soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband stayed here with a group of friends (all in separate units). We ended up with a beachfront upper suite with a balcony - gorgeous and the kitchen bar area was convenient. Others had bigger bathroom/luggage areas which was good as we all had a lot of scuba gear. One couple had a much smaller unit but still nice. Their downside was they were closer to main area and had a lot of people crossing in front of their lower level room. My only complain, which nobody can really do anything about is that our "neighbors" on the other side of our upper unit would go out on their balcony and chain smoke so we would have to go inside! It's close to town which is where we all went to drink and eat. Convenient to our scuba as well (and we weren't using Ramon's onsite either - nothing against it, just had something else lined up). All in all, each couple was pretty satisfied with Ramons. They were able to get us somewhat close together which was also nice.

Room Tip: Wish I could remember our room number but it was beachfront, top floor, farthest down the beach away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joseyb0920, Social Media Coordinator at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your rooms and we were able to get your party close together. We are terribly sorry your neighbors kept you inside. Next time we hope you will take advantage of the on site dive shop and view under the sea the Ramon's way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Ramon's is centrally located, literally across the street from the airport. It's location makes numerous restaurants easily within walking distance, plus many diving/snorkeling trips leave from their dock. However, the location also makes it a bit noisy at night and busy with beach walkers/ vendors during the day. My husband went fishing twice and I felt comfortable staying on the beach by myself, knowing the staff was conscientious.

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend a thatched roof room, though they add to the island vibe, the do not block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the most convenient location I have stayed at San Pedro. Very close to the airport and to town. Walking distance to everything that matters. Very clean resort with very nice staff that remember you and your family. The beach is just steps away and it is clean and well manicured. Security was visible on the beach at night and the on site restaurant was top notch.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra if needed to get room with a view of the beach. you can sit on your porch and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at Ramon's. It is extremely convenient to the airport, town and restaurants. The minute you enter the resort, the bustle of the town and main road melt away. The grounds are gorgeous and very well maintained. The beach is manicured every morning. Seagrass is prevalent off Ambergris Caye and washes up daily but these guys keep it in check. The rooms are nice. Nothing extravagant but it's a beach resort. How much time are you spending in the room? They are clean with comfortable beds, tiled showers and hardwood floors and cabinets. My wife dove three times. Due to inner ear issues, I stick with snorkeling. Both were fantastic and the team at Ramon's dive shop were great. The pool is gorgeous. The wait staff are great. Who cares if they say "Un-Belize-able" or You better Belize it"? They are proud of their country. We had the prepaid breakfast every morning which was great. No hassle.

Now, the only negatives... We ate one meal outside of breakfast and it was mediocre at best. Also, it's extremely overpriced. In reading the other reviews, it's time to change chefs. Feel free to hire me! JK. The food should match the other high marks, but it doesn't. Second, the bar just sucks. It's small, with no bar stools. Crap liquor with very little choice. A high class place should have some high class liquors. Absolut vodka as top shelf is not top shelf. No Patron or Don Julio Anejo Tequila? I understand the owners frown on alcohol and are religious, but you are providing a service. Not to mention, if you are going to sell liquor, sell the good stuff.

With that said, there are plenty of places to eat and drink outside the resort. It is what it is. The staff are great. The owners are friendly and approachable. Ramon himself is fantastic. We made many friends at the resort, including the twisted sisters, Captain Al, Mark, Charlotte, Justin, Stephanie... All and all, fantastic vacation. We will definitely go back and if they improve the food and bar, it's an easy 5 stars!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the resort as a group of 6 for 10 days. The resort was convenient to San Pedro and the airport. We stayed in a room that looked at the beach - beautiful! Two of our group had requested two bed and when we arrived they had only one. The resort was able to accomadate the request after a short wait, but needed to have them move five days after we arrived. Unfortuately, the second room, though lovely, backed up to the street and the nearby bar. I was loud and there were even ear plugs provided in the room drawer. My only issues were lack of accessible electrical outlets and the lighting at the bathroom sink.
The grounds are well maintained, but the sand does get everywhere - you are on a beach! the beach is raked every morning and the sea grass is removed.

Since several of us were there to dive, we did have the breakfast. Nothing spectacular. I did bring my own coffee and filters ( I like flavored coffee). We did eat at the restaurant one night, but chose to eat in town the other nights since there were so many options. We did bring snacks and got rum at the local store and had our own happy hour before venturing out for the evening.

I do want to mention something about the dive operation. While we were there, we were on the dive boat that went to the Blue Hole and diver from another resort that joined us on the trip had some type of dive accident. I do not know what the final cause of the accident was, but the crew on the boat acted completely professional and helped all of us through a very difficult time. My special thanks to Earnest who checked on me during that day and the next.

Room Tip: Stay off the street side of the resort . The bar across the street can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramon's Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic thatched roof cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon's Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.