We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princess Diving at this Resort! Ask for DiveMaster: Turiano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramon's Village Resort
Save Saved
You added Ramon's Village Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 hotels in San Pedro
Orange, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Princess Diving at this Resort! Ask for DiveMaster: Turiano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

THE GOOD:
Our Women's diving club has booked this resort several times, and for good reason!
This time, our stay was Mar 2 - 9, 2013
The water temperature: 79 Deg; Air Temp Day: 78 - 85; Night: 68 - 72 (NO A/C needed; however, it is available)
The dive dock and boats are literally 30 seconds walk from anywhere on the resort!
Over 20 dive spots are within 10 minute boat ride, including Hol Chan Marine Reserve.
Blue Hole, on the other hand, is 2 1/2 hours away.
Turiano owns his own boat, and has Juan as his assistant. Turiano is delightfully humorous and very helpful to our range of beginner/novice, advanced and seasoned divers. Juan assists you putting on your dive gear before entering utilizing the backward roll. He unbuckles and lifts your BCD/tank out of the water before you climb up the ladder: VERY NICE FEATURE for us Princesses!
Breakfast at their feature restaurant was included in our pre-paid package, as was 12 dives.
It was gracious of the resort to credit us, and a couple other of our divers of the unused dives: TOTALLY UNEXPECTED and UNUSUAL, BUT GREATLY APPRECIATED
San Pedro is within a few minutes walking, or rented golf carts for further exploration. There were so many good restaurants for lunch and dinners.
The 2 to 1 dollar exchange rate made it easy (2 Belizean to 1 USD); although they readily accept USD currency, but no coin everywhere.
THE BAD or THE UGLY:
This is really an over-exaggeration (I just wanted to use that famous phrase :)
Our Beach Front Mini-suite #31 was on the 2nd floor of a 4 unit premium room category: 2 downstairs, 2 upstairs
The other upstairs mini-suite had a microwave; ours did not. This would have been a great assist for our leftover meals.
Although other reviews already mentioned the lack of nightstands as furnishings; I used the small stool holding the bathroom basket of towels for one nightstand. I used the wicker seat tucked under the desk as the other nightstand and placed the solo lamp on top of the room refrigerator on the make shift nightstand.... PERFECT!
The outdoor deck with 2 reclining chairs make relaxing very enjoyable, and the railings were great to hang out our wetsuit/dive gear to dry every night. Be careful however; it can get very windy at night and you may not find your clothing where you first put it unless it is secured!
The Mahogany wood is used extensively for the decks, platforms, doors, etc. throughout the resort.
It is a beautiful wood; however, the first few nights I missed seeing the transition levels and mis-stepped quite a bit.
Although I did not fall, some would or at least twist an ankle.
The diving facility has so many, but unused boat docks.
Compared to the space alloted to the locker storage space which was small.
A 2' x 2' locker with keyed lock is issued to each/pair of divers.
This did not allow hanging out of our BCD/wetsuit/etc. unless we hauled it back and forth to our room each day after diving.
We also had to bring/load our dive gear to the initial dive of the day each day.
Also mentioned in many other reviews is the proximity of the airport.
This can be good (day of arrival and departure) in quickness of transport; however, daily beginning 6 a.m.ish is all the noise of the small aircrafts beginning their days runs. If you are a light sleeper or late sleeper, it could make things difficult!
The Friday and Saturday night restaurant/bar music to midnight can be a bit loud also if you go to bed early.

All in all, I hate to use their overused phrase, but it really was Unbelizable! We would return and recommend it to our friends.
Even if you are not a diver, there is much to do!

Room Tip: No one is in front of you if you get the Beachfront Mini-suite; only white powdery sand, coconut tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    161
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
105
275
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at Ramon's for a week. It was great. We had a seaside room that was in great shape and included a King bed, nice little patio, safe, and fridge. The service was great from the time we landed to the time we left. They picked us up at the airport and brought all our stuff to our room. They showed us how to use the safe and asked if we wanted to be shown around the resort. They also have free wifi. We used it a little bit and it worked great. The restaurant and bar were great too. We did the breakfast plan and it was definitely worth it. There is a lot of variety, so you can have something different every day. The waiters will remember your name and strike up a conversation every time they see you. We ate a few other meals there as well, also good. Again, the staff was awesome at both the bar and restaurant. The beach is great. We walked and biked a long ways in each direction and I would say its one of the best stretches of beach. They clean the beach every day and there are a bunch of beach chairs and hammocks to use. They also have a great pier. We snorkeled off the end and saw tons of fish. There are buoys around the snorkeling area so the boats stay away. We also booked the snorkeling and catamaran trips right at Ramon's which was convenient. Hol Chan, shark ray alley, tres Cocos, and Mexico Rocks are all amazing places to snorkel. We did all of them. The catamaran snorkel/Caye Caulker day trip was great. Overall, our experience at Ramon's was extremely positive and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our 15 month old was treated like royalty by the staff. The entire restaruant and bar staff went above the call of duty in entertaining and occupying the attetnion of our son. The housekeeping staff schedule our room cleaning after our nap times to not interfere with our sleep schedule. Francis met us at the airport and constantly interacted with our son throughout the holiday, even taking time to allow our son to play with the water hose while he was preparing the grounds for a wedding. The diving was especially good with the dive guide Ernst and boat captain Andy. Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: Beach or ocean view would be the besgt
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I kid you not! Everything was clean and everything worked, but this was a throwback to vacations back in the 80s. If you get with the funky spirit of the place, you'll have a great time. We had two double beds in the main building and after the time warp kicked in, sat back and had a great time. I was told that ours was one of only four rooms to be graced with a television, so if that's your thing, you'd better ask about it upfront. (Our first room absolutely reeked of mold, so we were upgraded to the television-equipped room next door. No smell. Staff was great about the move.) It was clean, the people were friendly, and the location was good. It's right on a great stretch of beach and you can drink (oops, I mean't walk) your way from hotel to hotel. Breakfast add-on is a good value, but I suggest trying some of the other eateries along the beach or in town for the variety and the quality. Dinners tend to taste a little mass produced. Plus I think it had to be a management requirement that the wait staff kept using your first name over and over and over. A little over the top and more than a little annoying. Internet was available on a slow desktop in the lobby. No mini bar. No room service. Good margaritas. A lot of people rent golf carts to visit other areas, but we never found the need. Ahhh, the island life! Wish I were there right now!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our family just returned from Belize. We stayed at Ramon's for the the first part of our trip. We also had friends who stayed at Victoria House. We stayed in a cabana with 2 double beds in unit 46 which is steps away from the beach. The grounds and rooms are very pleasant. We are all divers (kids ages 17,14) and found the dive shop very convenient and well equipped. Our dive master Will was great and very competent. We rented a golf cart from the front desk and enjoyed exploring the island. We also visited Victoria house (where our friends stayed) it was very posh with a very nice beach. The resort reminded me of something out of a Tommy Bahama catalog.The area around Ramon's was much livelier and had walking access to restaurants and shops. After Ambergris Caye we went onto the mainland and visited Caves Branch Jungle lodge near Belmopan. I have written a separate review of this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I'm so glad we stayed here for the first few days of our Belize trip. It was indeed relaxing, well-kept, the service was great. We enjoyed our stay.

But, man, it was expensive!

And it was a simulated cultural experience - a resort designed so you don't have to leave the resort. They've got the hotel, restaurant, bar, beach, dive shop, snorkeling dock -- why leave?!

For what is is, it's great. If you want to be with a bunch of other Americans, relax, have drinks brought to you - GO HERE. We just didn't want that, but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I sometimes close my eyes and pretend I’m back in Belize, at Ramons, enjoying what is a true paradise. Let me help you decide to stay here: individual beach cabanas, beautifully designed with an authentic tropical feel. The cabanas are Caribbean chic, embracing a perfect blend of luxury and exciting local touches. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is spacious, shower is hot, air conditioning is as strong as you would like it to be, and the room is quiet – so you can sleep all through the night! The beach is AMAZING; you only have to walk a few steps before you’re swinging in a hammock under palm trees, drinking a local beer as the sun shines down and the breeze blows. If you get tired of relaxing and feel ready for some excitement, check out Ramons dive shop – you can arrange some fabulous adventures, like snorkeling the worlds second largest barrier reef (so fun), diving the mysterious blue hole, or a day trip out to the Mayan temples on the mainland. To my surprise I was very impressed with the food at Ramons – high quality, authentic and delicious, and the prices are some of the best in San Pedro. I have traveled around the world, and Belize tops the list for a Caribbean getaway, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Go for the seaside, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#17 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramon's Village Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic thatched roof cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon's Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.