We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramon's Village Resort
Save
You added Ramon's Village Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rustic Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Ramon's offers a full service beach that other resorts and hotels in San Pedro town do not offer. The location is very convenient if you want to walk to most anything. The dive center on premises offers convenient access to diving, snorkeling, and many other water activities and day trips. This was our third visit to Ambergris Caye, and we have always wanted to stay at Ramon's. We reserved six months in advance to guarantee our stay. Overall, we were quite happy there, though the beds were not the most comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The restaurant food was acceptable, The separate beach bungalows were charming and the grounds make you feel like you are in a private tropical setting. I would recommend this resort to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    211
    65
    34
    19
See reviews for
140
371
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Wanted to share our thoughts on our stay so people know before they go. Ambergris Caye and San Pedro are not your high end resort areas, so expectations should be lower than normal for most resorts/hotels on the island. However, from looking at the photos we saw on the Ramon's website and seeing the description of amenities, we thought things would be much better than they were. There were many pros and cons so will try to describe those below.

We booked the ocean front "Guest Suite", but frankly, "Suite" should NOT be in the name or the description. This was about a 12x12 Room with two small chairs, no nightstands (my wife used her suitcase for a nightstand), and only three small drawers and a very small closet for clothes. The desk was connected to the three drawers and only had a short stool, so really not there as a place to work. There is almost no room to even store luggage, so the room became even smaller. We asked if we could change to a real suite, but were told they were sold out (other guests said they were not).

The bathroom was very small with only a sink and almost no counter space, and the toilet almost always kept running after flushing. Had to replace the small refrigerator (on the floor) and have the sink fixed as both did not work. We were told there was a safe in the room then when someone came to show us they said they were wrong about that. So valuables had to be stored at the front desk. Not sure why, but housekeeping seemed to show up in the middle of the afternoon and not in the late morning which we are accustomed to when people are out on the water or beach.

I better say a few good things here before I get carried away. The grounds are kept nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. They quickly picked us up at the airport. We did not spend much time on the beach but there are chairs and loungers for hotel guests. We only saw one person in the pool all week. The bartender was good and there were good drink choices. Food at the restaurants was pretty good - definitely not 5 star, but pretty good, although a bit pricey. And it is very nice to have the restaurant and bar right there. We selected the prepaid breakfast plan and believe that was a good value since you can order anything off the menu and most items were pretty good. You can get a massage there. The pier, dive shop and boats were very good, but believe they are independently owned. Three trips a day for diving/snorkeling and many choices for activities on the island or the mainland. Some people snorkelled off the Ramon pier and liked it. We did go diving and the team we had there was very good, so highly recommend them.

OK, back to a few negatives. Internet service was frustrating. The first day I tried to log in numerous (over 40) times without success. Called the front desk and they said my laptop might have a problem (it did not). Called a second time and they said they might need to reboot their router but they did not know when they could do that. Then brought my laptop to the front desk and of course they were able to log in. Then back to the room and no access. Went back to the front desk and then one person admitted that Internet service in the rooms is not good or not available. It worked fine around the bar but was fairly noisy there. Yes, the planes get going every morning around 6:40- 7am, and yes, you can hear them clearly in an ocean front room. It was not a big problem for us, but you do hear them every morning and everytime they land and take off, every hour. Other than the planes, the area was pretty quiet.

Other issues, the shower is very small and the curtain hangs about 3-4 inches on the bottom of the tub. I had to duck to get in the shower. Hot water takes about 5 minutes to get going. If you rent a golf cart from the hotel be aware these are all battery powered, so much slower and less powerful than the other gas carts on the island. In fact, we barely made it up the bridge across the cut to the north side of the island. The bed has limited support as I seemed to have a backache every morning. One big item was my wife found a few tiny bugs between the sheets. Apparently they bite as she was bitten by something one night with swelling. You can get ice and water daily from the bar.

So, some negatives and some positives. This island has plenty of choices at various price points. We did look at others while there and frankly most are of similar quality, so keep your expectations fairly low. If you want a top resort on this island you will have to pay much more, but maybe that is worth it to you. Victoria House is one of the best around with a great beach, but a ways south of town and pretty pricey. The Phoenix is a great location in the heart of town, but again very pricey. Personally, we like to stay a little closer to the restaurants/bars, etc., but quality of hotels/rooms goes down some, and noise levels could go up some, although size of rooms does get bigger which we like. All hotels/resorts have pros and cons so decide what is important to you, ask questions and try to get photos, and go with it. Just know that you probably cannot have it all. If you want a suite with a little more room at Ramon's select the Guest Suite which has a lot more room and we recommend since it is only $15 more per night.

We will probably not stay at Ramon's again, but it does have many good qualities (staff, dive shop, beach, etc.) and I know they get many repeat customers. If we do stay there again, we will be prepared, and will make sure the room we book really is a suite, with a lot more room.

Room Tip: Do your homework
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian-Marketing, Marketing at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and please allow us to provide some feedback which may be helpful. Over the past several months, Ramon's Village Resort has been in the process of upgrading each and every room at our resort to include new mattresses, bedspreads and sheets, new interior design features along with replacing all of the doors and windows in each thatched roof cabana. This process involves taking the room out of the reservation circuit while contractors upgrade each room and maintain a low profile so that our resort guests are not inconvenienced by the sounds that accompany the renovation work. In addition, we have ordered and installed in-room safes in almost every guest room with the balance of the safes being installed over the next week. In order to enhance our Internet wireless connectivity, we are also installing additional devices that boost receptivity across the entire resort with that work being concluded over the next two days.

Our Pineapples restaurant has added many new specialty items and if you haven't dined with us lately, you should take the opportunity to try some of our signature items including steak, fish or lobster on a hot cooking stone served at your table and the delightful Pineapple Boat filled with exotic delicacies. All of our dishes are prepared fresh daily and are moderately priced with guests enjoying a stunning view of the azure blue waters of the Caribbean right from their table. Chefs Rommy Kie and Ronnie Kie craft delicious and wonderfully presented breakfast, lunch and dinner creations each day certain to please the tastes of even the most stringent food critics.

Our staff is committed to providing you an unforgettable vacation experience in an authentic thatched roof cabana surrounded by native flora and fauna. Our resort is not a concrete box with identically decorated rooms. When you visit Ramon's Village Resort, you are stepping back into the Caribbean of fifty years ago albeit with some modern features that make life more comfortable. Our location right on the beach near downtown San Pedro makes it convenient for guests to experience Belize and the entire island of Ambergris Caye right from our resort. Our electric golf carts, which are available on a rental basis, provide ease of access all across the island, and are emission free and quiet. In addition, Ramon's Village Divers is a PADI 5 Star IDC resort with six dive boats and the most experienced dive masters on the island. Combine all of these features with our Beach Spa, incredible pool, fully stocked Gift Shop and the renowned Purple Parrot and you have a resort from which you can experience all of the wonders of Belize right from the doorsteps to your thatched roof cabana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This trip was our first time to Belize for scuba diving and Maya ruin tours, and was a special treat for my wife who has been battling cancer for the last year. From the time you are picked up at the airport (Aloha Francis!) until you are dropped off to leave, the staff at Ramon's will take great care of you. Reservations for the room and air transport were handled perfectly, Francis met us at Tropic Air/airport with a big smile, and got us checked in and delivered to our room. We were so impressed with all of the staff. The waiters at the restaurant were fantastic (we wanted to adopt Vidal, and young man with a giant smile), the housekeeping staff was attentive and efficient, the grounds and facilities were very well kept & maintained, and Rick and his dive shop/tour group were some of the best we have ever scuba dived with - and they went out of their way to make special arrangements to help get some specific gear we needed. The food was good/average though they did have a few standout dishes such as the pineapple boat, the seafood pasta and steaks that were excellent, If you needed to get around the island, Francis or Joe were immediately available to assist or offer suggestions. This is not the Four Seasons, but if you want a great value, fantastic service, and a beautiful location 5 minutes (10 minutes in Belize time lol) from world class diving and snorkeling then Ramon's is a place you should consider.

Room Tip: Though on this trip it was just my wife and I, our room in particular (#41) would be great for a fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Belize to dive and see Maya ruins. From the moment we arrived at the airport and were picked up by Francis, we fell in love with Ramon's. The staff was excellent (I would give them 6 stars if I could) Absolutely delightful restaurant servers (we want to adopt Vidal), The food was average but the service you receive more than made up for that. Rick and his dive staff are top notch in every way, housekeeping is attentive to your needs, and the grounds are kept clean and beautiful from morning to night. Everything to do is convenient, and the atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious. The tours we took were well operated and the companies Ramon's coordinate with were great. Diving... some of the best we have ever done. Walk over to Ramon's dock... get on a boat... and be in world class diving in 5 minutes (10 minutes Belize time!! LOL). When you are ready to go somewhere in town or the airport, Francis or Joe are the guys to take care of it - awesome! Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our garden cabana was extremely clean and comfortable. The only downfall is they can pick up some s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were at this resort many years ago. The rooms were out of date then and they have not been changed or updated, that is not good. The rooms are small, dark, the bathrooms quite small, with plastic shower surrounds in the original rooms. Air conditioners and mini bars kind of work, sometimes yes, sometimes no. Lighting is terrible both bedside and overhead. Old colored bedspreads that should immediately be retired. Bathroom is small but water pressure is decent, with enough towels and soaps provided, which is necessary since nothing dries overnight. Decent storage for clothes and suitcases though electrical plugs were few and far between and made it a real challenge to charge things. The cleaning personnel however were excellent. A small patio or deck is off most rooms, not private though in most instances given the foot traffic through the paths within the grounds
Front desk service was not particularly helpful and in several instances we were given wrong directions, wrong information or perplexingly bad suggestions. Bar is good, fun, with good mixed drinks and wine selections. We would not eat at the restaurant except for one mediocre lunch as it was so bad the last time we were there---and looking at it and the menu did not look like it had improved much. Go down the beach or into town, elsewhere to the many better choices.
The grounds, beach and location are the best things here. Many tourists from elsewhere walk to this beach to lay in the sun. The grounds are pleasantly manicured and landscaped and there is a nice but cold pool. There were NEVER enough chairs out on the beach though and unless one parked there all day, you dont have a chance at a chair. It would be simple to add more chairs since they have grown the number of rooms. An okay stay given we did not eat there or spend time in the rooms, but a place where you feel like you simply settled for less than you should

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian-Marketing, Marketing at Ramon's Village Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor and please allow us to provide some feedback which may be helpful. Over the past several months, Ramon's Village Resort has been in the process of upgrading each and every room at our resort to include new mattresses, bedspreads and sheets, new interior design features along with replacing all of the doors and windows in each thatched roof cabana. This process involves taking the room out of the reservation circuit while contractors upgrade each room and maintain a low profile so that our resort guests are not inconvenienced by the sounds that accompany the renovation work. In addition, we have ordered and installed in-room safes in almost every guest room with the balance of the safes being installed over the next week. In order to enhance our Internet wireless connectivity, we are also installing additional devices that boost receptivity across the entire resort with that work being concluded over the next two days.

Our Pineapples restaurant has added many new specialty items and if you haven't dined with us lately, you should take the opportunity to try some of our signature items including steak, fish or lobster on a hot cooking stone served at your table and the delightful Pineapple Boat filled with exotic delicacies. All of our dishes are prepared fresh daily and are moderately priced with guests enjoying a stunning view of the azure blue waters of the Caribbean right from their table. Chefs Rommy Kie and Ronnie Kie craft delicious and wonderfully presented breakfast, lunch and dinner creations each day certain to please the tastes of even the most stringent food critics.

Our staff is committed to providing you an unforgettable vacation experience in an authentic thatched roof cabana surrounded by native flora and fauna. Our resort is not a concrete box with identically decorated rooms. When you visit Ramon's Village Resort, you are stepping back into the Caribbean of fifty years ago albeit with some modern features that make life more comfortable. Our location right on the beach near downtown San Pedro makes it convenient for guests to experience Belize and the entire island of Ambergris Caye right from our resort. Our electric golf carts, which are available on a rental basis, provide ease of access all across the island, and are emission free and quiet. In addition, Ramon's Village Divers is a PADI 5 Star IDC resort with six dive boats and the most experienced dive masters on the island. Combine all of these features with our Beach Spa, incredible pool, fully stocked Gift Shop and the renowned Purple Parrot and you have a resort from which you can experience all of the wonders of Belize right from the doorsteps to your thatched roof cabana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is an unusual review, as we’ve never stayed there.

My wife and I were booked for Ramon’s for a week a couple of weeks ago, and we were greatly looking forward to making the trip. Unfortunately, about a week before our departure, my father fell ill, and the day before our departure, it became quite clear that he would not last the week. We were disappointed, in more ways than one, that we had to cancel our trip within 36 hours of our anticipated arrival.

Like most hotels, Ramon’s has a “no refund” policy for cancellations within the last seven days. However, when I explained the attendant circumstances and our great disappointment, the good people at Ramon’s cheerfully waived their normal policy, and refunded the cost of our trip in full. They certainly were under no legal or contractual obligation to do so.

While we have never stayed at Ramon’s, I can promise you that we for darn certain will stay there on our next trip to Belize, and I will forever be grateful for Ramon’s kind and considerate treatment during this very unfortunate time in my life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Ramons and came away uninspired. The grounds are very nicely kept, the thatched roofs and tropical landscaping set a very nice atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Having dive and snorkeling trips leaving twice a day from the pier is very convenient.
But ... The reviewers who said they didn't hear any airplanes from the runway across the street must be deaf. They warm up around 6:30 AM and several flights leave at 7:00 AM. We stayed on the second floor and the noise of the planes made the windows vibrate.
The food was OK, but I don't think people go there for the cuisine. It is probably the nicest hotel in San Pedro since it actually has a beach - about 150 feet of it. The rest of the property, and all of the other properties in San Pedro are perched on a concrete seawall. It is really a long harbor with many piers and the first "street" along the water is paved with sand. The "beach" at Ramons has a sandy bottom about 20 feet out into the sea, then the seagrass takes over. If you are looking for a true beach resort, you won't find it in San Pedro.
If you intend to use the internet for anything serious or timely, look elsewhere. It takes from 2-6 tries to get logged in to their network - when it's working. Then the sessions last for 2-16 minutes before you are dropped. The guy at the front desk explained that their is only one ISP (internet service provider) in San Pedro so the service is terrible with no competition.
Since the resort was wiped out by a hurricane in 2000 and then rebuilt, I expected better accommodations. The high thatched ceiling was unique and nicely reinforced the tropical feel. The furniture in the room was worn. The shower had obviously been installed by a short Maya with the showerhead and the top of the shower curtain about 5 feet above the tub. But they installed a full length shower curtain so the bottom foot of it was lying in the bottom of the tub. Watch your step.
So if you're looking for a place to go diving, and not much else, Ramons is a good bet.

Room Tip: The stand alone huts with a garden view only have 2 standard windows - and you need to keep the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#11 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#11 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#20 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramon's Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic thatched roof cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon's Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.