We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Cabana can't be beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramon's Village Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Pedro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ramon's Village Resort
Save
You added Ramon's Village Resort to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
Fairview, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Seaside Cabana can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We just came back from our stay on the island. It was me, my wife, and our 3 kids (7,5, and 3). The thatched roof cabanas are super nice, spacious, and give you a really cool, tropical feel. We stayed in Room #2 which gave us a perfect view of the sea directly out of our front door. If we choose to sit on our private front porch, we had amazing views also. Fifteen steps away were the sun chairs and hammocks and 20 steps away was the sea itself.

This must be the safest, cleanest, and friendliest resort on the island. Our kids enjoyed swimming off the end of the pier and on the freshly and frequently raked beaches. We enjoyed creative breakfast cuisine reasonably priced on a few occasions. The pool was always clean and inviting, and the island beats were played at just the right volume in the bar to help make the normal grind of our daily lives disappear while we slurped down the tastiest margaritas we've ever drank (and we've drank a lot).

Ramon, the resorts General Manager, sat with us one morning for breakfast and gave us a great suggestion for dinner. We heeded his suggestion to go to the Hidden Treasure restaurant and were certainly glad we did! Best restaurant on the island hands down. In the island tradition of unselfishnes, Ramon's advice solidified our position of always staying at his resort when we vacation in the Cayes. It has every convenience you will need, the tropical ambiance of thatched roof cabanas, and the safety and security you expect if you travel with small children.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose room #2 for two double beds. Could easily be pushed together seamlessly to make one large be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    211
    64
    34
    19
See reviews for
139
371
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed here with a large group of friends in January. Just getting into Trip Advisor, so forgive the late entry. My wife wasn't able to go, but I enjoyed Ramon's so much that we are planning an early 2013 trip there. They have the best beach on the island and all the chairs and hammocks to go with it. The pool is beautiful as well. Grab a drink and settle into one of the chairs on the large porch deck for some R&R. Great spot to get lost in a book and soak in the sea breeze.

There are cheaper options, but we felt like the extra expense was worth it. Location is good and you can literally walk here from the air strip. A golf cart ride is provided if you let them know when you're coming in.

Be sure to stop into a local store to stock your frig! A few drinks from the bar were great, but can get pricy for Belize.

An early morning coffee at the end of the pier will stay with you a long time as well.

Overall a good base for the island.

Room Tip: Save money and stay in a Garden room if you're on a budget. Everything is close to the beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingalls, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here as part of the 2nd half of our trip to Belize. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and could not have asked for a better luxury experience at an incredibly affordable price.

The staff are as kind as can be, answering any questions we had about where to go and what was best to do on the island. The excursions we booked through the resort were perfect from the guides to the locations and timing. The food they served was amazing, and every morning the coffee was ready and delicious.

We walked from the water taxi to the resort by choice, but upon leaving by plane the resort was kind enough to give us a free lift right to the airpstrip office.
Mr. Ramon himself came out one morning to visit and talk with us to our suprise. He is a very down to earth, friendly, intelligent man and you would never guess he ran one of the best resorts on the island.

The resort offers free gear to anyone wanting to snorkel off their pier. Their gift shop has some of the nicest jewelry from the local markets, and the rooms are amazing.

The honeymoon suite did not disappoint. It is a building all to itself The normal rooms are condo or duplex/quadruple style. The honeymoon suite has a dual head shower, a mini fridge, a personal air conditioner and large ceiling fan, as well as a love seat and the best view of the only actual beachfront for several miles along the coast.

The honeymoon suite also has its own double hammock right off of the porch. The standard rooms have lazy chairs to lounge in and there are also hammocks along the beach front for anyone guests to use during the day.

This resort is wonderful and definitely worth staying at. I will be returning and I will be booking the honeymoon suite again just for the wonderful experience and extreme privacey it offers.

Room Tip: Book early. Going during the off season will also ensure you get maximum privacy and attention from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The beach is one of the best in the area and the dive shop is of very high quality with experienced staff. These were the main reasons we chose Ramon's.

The hotel did feel commercialized and the restaurant felt a little cheesy. The rooms were also small and not very impressive. Our room did have a shared porch which was a nice touch.

Staff was very nice.

Room Tip: Be aware that standard rooms are small and the bathroom doesn't have a complete wall separating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Our resort did not have a restaurant so we went in search of one and stumbled on this gem of a place. Although we entered from the road, anyone walking along the beach would find it easily. The atmosphere is very tropical and the staff eager to please. The big surprise was the menu. We were there on a Tuesday evening and it happened to be BBQ night. There were a nice handful of options to chose from and the prices were amazing. Both my husband and me went for the pork chops at $22.00 belize. This included 2 chops, beans and coleslaw. Not fancy but delicous and not about to break the bank, My only complaint was that they ran out of tequila for the Margarita I ordered. Who runs out of tequila? It turns out that running out of menu items is routine in Belize ( it happened alot on our trip) so all is forgiven.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I can't say enough good things about Ramon's Village. The thatched roof villas are so much better than typical hotel rooms, and they are huge too. Every room has it's own front porch with 2 chairs. We had a regular room with 2 double beds, and the beds were comfortable plus there was lots of space to spread out. The room was clean and the bathroom was fine. My only suggestions on the room is that it would be nice to have a TV so you could watch movies, and they should modify the lights so you can turn off all of the lights except the one over a single bed (currently the main room light and the lights over both beds are all on one switch).

Ramon's also has the best beach on the entire strip. It is the only hotel I saw that had beach chairs...plus it has 2 small palapas with 2 hammocks each and a larger palapa facing the sea with lots of comfortable seating. I even saw one couple out there a couple of nights watching a movie on their iPad looking at the sea.

Another plus is that all of the beach seating and the pool is reserved for Ramon's guests only. I was in the lobby one day when a man came in and asked if he could buy a day pass and they said no. The result was that there were always plenty of open seats available though occupancy did seem to be a bit low when we were there in mid-November, so the chairs might fill up in peak season.

The lobby has beach towels and there is a small room with a computer/printer if you need the internet (for a fee), but you can also pay for wifi for $3 per day. It does only allow one connection at a time on the account, so if you have more than one internet connected device for your room, you'll have to log out before you can get on with the 2nd one.

The staff is also great. They arranged for our transportation a couple of times by the hotel staff via golf cart for free, and even made our airline reservations on Tropic Air from the island to the international airport. When we were ready to check out, they brought a golf car to our room to get our bags which is much better than dragging them through the sand.

Oh, they have a restaurant, bar, gift shop and massage services too. And you can walk one block to downtown via the beach or street.

Unless you are looking for a discount hotel, I don't see any reason to stay anyplace else.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for seaside...nothing is far from the beach and the gardens are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We recently adventured and traveled all about Belize. Ramon's Village was our first stay before we traveled inland .What a neat place! Little thatched roof huts for your rooms just steps away from the Oceanside -and steps away from their own little unique pool and restaurant and bar.It was one little oasis! The restaurant was great,the food wonderful,and the staff superb! RamieRoberto,Mark,Barry,Steve and all the guys did a great job !In fact,we seldom wandered off to eat anywhere else.The bar always privided great drinks and great friendship(Thanks Alex,Karim,Oscar,and all of you guys!) Ramon was always around at breakfast to meet his guests and make sure we were all happy.It was such a great experience and such genuine people.It was such a great experience that we finalized our stay in Belize by going back before returning home-and when we flew into the little local airport --there was Joe to welcome us again!!!

Room Tip: The rooms have very dim lighting,it might be best to ask for the suites with more window lighting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro hotels
0.1 mi away
SunBreeze Hotel
SunBreeze Hotel
#24 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
The Palms Oceanfront Suites
#10 of 53 in San Pedro
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#13 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Matachica Beach Resort
Matachica Beach Resort
#14 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
4.1 mi away
Las Terrazas Resort
Las Terrazas Resort
#15 of 53 in San Pedro
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramon's Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramon's Village Resort

Address: Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#21 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramon's Village Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramon's Village Resort is the premiere beach resort in San Pedro, Belize featuring authentic thatched roof cabanas, fabulous beach, lagoon style pool, Ramon's Village Divers scuba diving center, Pineapples Restaurant, Tropic Al's and the Tiki Turtle Trading Company. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ramon`s Village Hotel San Pedro
Ramons Village Hotel
Ramons Village Belize
Ramons Village San Pedro
Ramon's Village Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramon's Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.