We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a pearl, 2nd stay there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mata Rocks Resort

Save Saved
You added Mata Rocks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mata Rocks Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Still a pearl, 2nd stay there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in suite 6 and it's closest room to the sea. Absolutely amazing view, the room was very clean, comfortable bed, air conditioner worked great, and the room has plenty of space. Sherilynn, Chrisella, and Erma went the extra mile for our 10th wedding anniversary. All the staff was great. Squirrel's Nest bar still serves the best drinks in San Pedro. The bar serves light lunches but they are plenty of restaurants nearby. The breakfast was fresh fruit, pastries with fresh squeezed OJ and coffee. If you are looking for nice small hotel away from the hustle with beautiful views, Mata Rocks will take great care of you. There’s no need to make reservations for tours, etc in advance, they make sure you’re on the best tours. The hotel provides bikes for you to meander around town. The pool is very refreshing too!

Room Tip: spend the extra $$ on a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
138
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We just stayed in this hotel last week, and it was as described in previous reviews. The view was perfect. It was very clean. One thing I would add is the shower does have shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel in a dispenser. So if you are not particular you would not need to bring any along.

Also the airconditioner worked well. We never had any trouble with anything really. The hotel is quiet after about 9pm. and it is really relaxing.

The breakfast is minimal. But was fine for an easy start to the day. I thought the coffee was good and the fruit was nice.

I enjoied the location being out of town andyet only a 5 min walk or so to get to a market.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaizyB
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay at Mata Rocks Resort this summer. The rooms were very clean and nicely appointed, The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the location was beautiful and convenient to town without being in the gritty center of it all and the little Squirrel's Nest beach bar was an amazing place to relax with a cocktail and socialize with the other guests. It's such a small property that the travelers become very friendly with each other. The stark white angular architecture rising up at the edge of the water is really beautiful and the cool blue pool and fountain make for an arresting visual. However the pool is extremely small and shallow. It's more a a plunge pool than something you could swim laps in. Also, there are some features in the rooms like dropped ceilings, shower fixtures and old-style TVs that could use some updating for a more refined experience but overall the property offers really terrific accommodations for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011 via mobile

Decent hotel south of town. There's a pool and bar and a beach. Rooms are OK but a bit in need of updating. Bartenders are nice and breakfast is OK considering its free. Fresh fruit but the pastries and coffee are poor. The banana beach next door seems nicer and certainly more elaborate. Plenty comfortable and convenient for a few days stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had a nice stay here in February 2011. We stayed in a top floor junior suite with a balcony overlooking the reef and pool. Our room was large and comfortable, I feel that it could have done with a little less furniture but overall it was a good room. The views were un-paralleled.

I believe the property was fully booked upon our arrival but I never had a problem finding a lounger on the beach or by the pool. I think the average age was about 50+ at the time but I don't know if that was the norm or the exception. The common areas were dark and quiet by 9 pm each night so we just went into town instead of hanging out at the hotel.

The town is a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride which cost around $5 and we never had a problem with finding a cab. If you want to go into Town during the day the hotel provides free rental bikes that are in good condition.

If you want a smaller boutique property that is quiet and relaxing this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Book at least a few months ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorette, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Really nice place, we stayed there for 5 nights. Meta Rocks is located at the southern outskirts of San Pedro. A walk to town is about 30 minutes, taxi is $5.00 or you can use the free bicyles on site. A little out of the way, however we liked the quiet location.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager Eusebio who took gave us an orientation and explained about tour options, free bicycle usage etc. He was very friendly and we found him helpful during our stay if we had any questions.

The grounds, the beach and the buildings were all very well maintained Bed was very comfortable, a/c worked and the room nicely decorated.

They have a really nice beach and my only complaint was the sea grass that came in every day which made swimming diffiicult at best. The staff to their credit were constantly cleaning the beach. Squirrel's Nest Beach bar was a great place to hang out and meet other guests and the odd local that shows up. We really like speaking with the local Belizians who were friendly and gracious considering the amount of tourists they must see in a year. Drinks were reasonably priced and well made by the staff who were EXCELLENT.

Tours were reasonably priced and you will be picked up on site. We took the Holchan and Shark Ray Alley tour. I have snorkelled at many places and I have to say the variety of fish and the coral was fantastic. The water warm and clear blue. We saw huge manta rays, nurse sharks and sea turtles as well as many other georgeous fish.

If you stay at Meta Rocks you MUST eat at Robin's which is just 2 minutes walk down the road. The owner is a Jamaican, excellent food and a great host. Many locals eat there and you won't be disappointed. Try the grilled whole fish, fresh, nicely spiced and perfectly cooked.

San Pedro is not a bad little town, too many golf carts though jamming the nice little streets and polluting the air with exhaust and noise. For shopping there are alot of art type stores, though not a lot of jewellery or silver goods. If you want some nice souviners go to the Belize Brewing Company - where you can buy Belikin Beer glasses (50 cents a glass), caps etc for really reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Mata Rocks is a small resort with a great location! Our room was literally a few yards from the edge of the ocean...unbelievable views! Rooms were clean and well maintained, and a nice continental breakfast was included.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mata Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mata Rocks Resort

Address: 45 Coconut Drive | PO Box 47, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#22 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#24 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mata Rocks Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate beachfront hotel providing personalized service in a casual atmosphere. Located one mile south of San Pedro on a beautiful sandy beach. All rooms and Jr. Suites have ocean views, A/C, cable TV, mini-fridges, coffeemakers, hair dryers, safes. Some rooms have kitchenettes. Complimentary continental breakfast, daytime use of bicycles, and taxi transfer upon arrival/departure are included in room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mata Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Rocks Hotel San Pedro
Mata Rocks San Pedro
Mata Rocks Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mata Rocks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.