We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Week of Adventure and Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Chirp47
1 review
“Perfect Week of Adventure and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

We stayed at Matachica for a full week on the honeymoon package, although we were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary :-) I would absolutely recommend the resort for any couple looking for a combination of luxurious comfort, adventure and relaxation. We'd love to go back!
Things we loved (and there were many this is just the list that's top of mind!):
1. The staff--absolutely everyone went out of their way to be helpful and engaging. For example, I'm a mosquito magnet and while almost no one else in the resort was bothered. Not only did they pull our the resort's personal can of Off whenever I approached they also tracked down some itch cream. Almost every member of the staff was incredibly friendly--always asking us about our day and what we liked about whatever adventure we'd taken.
2. The adventures. The boat ride from the airport to the resort definitely set the tone for a week of water adventure. Don't miss the cave tubing/zip line adventure!
3. The package--buying the package which included meals and several excursions in advance kept us from feeling nickel and dimed and took the anxiety out of sitting down to dinner and debating whether we should get a bottle or a couple of glasses of wine.
4. The Frette Sheets
5. The location--town is not a place you want to hang out for more than few hours. It's a bunch of plastic table cloth restaurants and souvenir shops. Being at Matachica meant we felt like we had a very private, very exclusive vacation. On the downside, it was a little quiet at night but after a day on tours and filled with activity that felt right for us.
6. The tile in the Lime Casita bathroom
7. The tour companies--Searious and Seaduced. Both fabulous. Both provided incredibly entertaining and educational days capped off with ice cold beer and rum punch.
8. The food--always hot which is a peeve of mind! And delicious too--especially the scallops, gazpacho and chocolate soufflé.
9. Oswald's skinny margarita--just like I liked it, all real lemon juice, tequila and triple sec. Pure and yummy.
10. Scrabble! The resort had games and current books avail for everyone to share. Great way to settle in to a cocktail before dinner.

Things I'd recommend improving
1. Access to the equipment--often we didn't get back until 6 from our adventures and we wanted to hop on a bike or in a kayak to cap off the day. The folks at the hut always accommodated us but we were told that usually none of the equipment is available after 5 pm. Makes no sense--if it's included, it should be available.
2. Preparation for the activities--would have been great to get recommendations on what we needed to take on each of the excursions that we selected through the resort. For example, it would have been helpful to know to take shoes with a strap for zip lining and a towel and change of clothes for cave tubing.
3. Really more for the tour companies but I have nothing nice to say about Marumba the resort we visited on the jungle tour/Mayan ruins day. It's incredibly cheesy and while we only stopped for lunch and a swim, the food was mediocre and the pool was in desperate need of repair. We snuck off to the "guest only" pool which was marginally better but still not nice compared to Matachica.
4. The wine list--I understand that there are heavy taxes on wine and the cost of transport is high, but I recognized most of the bottles that were around $35 at Matachica as bottles I could get for about $10 in the US. There are soooooo many fabulous bottles of $10 wines that are accessible and the wines on the list were simply not great. As someone pointed out to me, I didn't go to Belize for the wine which is true. But feels like given the caliber of the restaurant, the list could use some work.
5. Needs a ftness room--nothing fancy, but I expect to be able to work out on vacation! Just a simple room with a treadmill, an elliptical, a bike and some mats and weights (oh and ac). We swam in the pool but it's not the same.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    74
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
453
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I literally cannot say enough wonderful things about Matachica -- where do I even begin??? First and foremost -- the resort speaks for itself! Its just breathtaking -- very low key meets luxury. The lovely staff at Matachica made our stay the most memorable vacation of a lifetime....
We truly cannot wait to go back, every single thing about this place is magical. The location to San Pedro (10 min boat ride) - the spectacular food at Mambo, you name it! Hop on a complimentary Sea Kayak and your moments from the barrier reef....

Amazing, Magical -- MUST MUST MUST see. The experience you will get from Matachica is something you can't quiet put into words...I'm very picky and Matachica was hands down the best vacation destination i have EVER been to !!! we can't wait to go back!

MISS EVERYONE THERE!!!!!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

Beachfront casita we stayed in was excellent. The staff was five star in every way. It felt a bit like "paradise". We were well taken care of in a very relaxed and Belizian way. Thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling, biking on the beach, swimming off the dock, walking the beach, leisurely time at the pool and reading on our own private chaise lounge. Perfect place for a couple that wants to get away from it all with each other. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and Matachica will be a wonderful memory of our celebration. We plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Lane, Mo.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

A year ago I ran across Matachica on the internet and saw the beauty of the resort. At that time we were unable to go, but decided to venture there in 2009. Belize is a very short flight from Dallas with another short flight to Ambergris Caye. We arrived late into Belize International (due to mechanical problems on American Airlines) and Tropic Air was still waiting for our arrival two hours later than expected. They probably encounter this all the time, so don't worry when it happens. Our transport to San Pedro was flawless. Upon arrival we were met by Matachica who took us to the dock to board their boat and take our "welcome drink" order. There was a terrific rain storm that night, so we were drenched - luggage and all (boat ride is 12 minutes or so), but it was pretty fun walking across the sand, into the restaurant, and saying "hello" to the fellow patrons. By the next day we were dry and so was our luggage. Needless to say, the remainder of the stay was just fabulous. We lounged in the sun in fromt of our Watermelon room and totally enjoyed our stay. There is nothing like the calming sound of waves breaking on the reef. The food was great, and so was the service. It was so nice to have tropical flowers adorning our plates. The Matachica boat took us to San Pedro for lunch at Elvi's Kitchen and a little shopping one day. Everyone was very accommodating. I asked for a broom the first morning (lots of sand), and one magically appeared for the remainder of our vacation.
Burga was so helpful in arranging our Tropic Air flights. She is just a very efficient employee. I really wanted to meet her while we were there, but didn't get to. I thought I saw her at breakfast, but she was busy arranging a wedding for someone, so I didn't interrupt her. All the employees were great., and the massages were wonderful. Belize is so close to the States and Matachica is just a perfect resort to visit . We will return to enjoy the little spot of paradise. I miss it already! Oh yes, think twice before using the credit card phone in the lounge. It runs around $10.00 per minute.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We just returned from a wonderful week at Matachica with our family. This was one of the best family vacations we have ever had. The resort is just beautiful and the staff can't do enough to keep you happy. Matachica is the perfect mix of comfort and beach life. The accommodations are picture perfect with the sandy beach right outside the door and the facilities are great. The Mambo restaurant is the best on the island and we were happy to eat there every night. We loved our activities (Diving, snorkelling, fishing, day trip to Caye Caulker) all arranged by them with a smile. If you're looking to just unwind and a picturesque setting and put your shoes away the day you get there and not put them back on until you leave, this is a great choice. We will definitely return. And.. if you go, make sure to get reqest a massage from Louisa and a beach BBQ with Chocolate. Garner & Lynne Bornstein

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matachica, Owner at Matachica Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2009
`As the owner of MATACHICA, and for the sake of full disclosure and the integrity of this review, I wanted to confirm that these guests are acquaintances of mine. While they did pay full price for their one week stay, and had a wonderful time with their three kids...I thought that this should be mentioned.

Thank You,

Daniel Lighter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbasu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The service, decor, food and ambiance of Matachica are downright dreamy. While its a 10 minute boat ride from San Pedro (wouldn't recommend this place if you're looking to party every night), the resort was absolutely gorgeous. We had a private cabana/casita, with fresh flower petals strewn on the bed and right on the beach. The resort restaurant is delicious and reasonably priced. Continental breakfast, kayaks, snorkel gear and lazing on a beautiful hammock are all included. Great honeymoon destination!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Loved every minute of it. Great Resort in a great location with great facilities and really really friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.