We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Quiet, secluded, beautiful. Food is amazing, service cannot get any better. If you are looking for a great getaway for two this is it. Make sure you get one of the 9 waterfront casitas. Try to eat every item on their menu. They are all outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay at one of the 9 beachfront casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    87
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
40
525
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the moment we arrived on Ambergris Caye we were welcomed by Matachica employees. They took us by boat to the resort where we were met with a delicious drink (their drinks are very good). Our room was an awesome little hut complete with a hammock. We stayed in Coco which was more than big enough but we did not have the cross winds that the larger rooms had. We just left the AC on and it was fine. The food is pretty good as well but don't be afraid to venture off resort. There are some wonderful places to visit and great restaurants. There is a bar down the beach, Rojo Bar, that is SOOO FUN! The employees at Matachica are great. They will help you with absolutely anything you need. My husband loves to fish and caught tons of fish off the pier. If you choose Matachica, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want to keep your windows open pick a more expensive room on the front row so you get crosswi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon in Belize. We spent the first half of our trip in the rainforest area and then went to San Pedro on the Ambergris Caye and stayed at Matachica for the second half of our stay. It was fantastic. The service was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. The casitas are private and secluded. They have kayaks, paddle boats, bicylcles, and snorkeling availble for free. The snorkeling was amazing. You must take a water taxi into the town of San Pedro, but the resort has one that goes several times a day. The food was excellent. If you don't have a package, the food is a little pricy. Some packages include breakfast, but the choice is limited to a continental breakfast.

Room Tip: All of the casitas are very nice, private, and secluded. They also have an A/C, but are somewhat op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was looking for a special place to celebrate my 50th birthday and Matachica delivered in a VERY big way. The setting is completely outstanding. The beachfront casitas are even more beautiful in person than in the photos. They are very private and amazingly clean despite all the sand. An incredibly romantic setting. The staff was SO attentive. From the minute you arrive and are handed your first cocktail, they know your name and which casita is yours. I can't say enough about the service provided. The last night we were there the power went out. Dinner was served without skipping a beat to a packed room by candlelight. We ate many meals at the restaurant both because it was convenient and because the food was quite good. Since the resort is so small and there is a smallish group of people, we got to know a lot of nice folks. If you are looking for something special, this is the place!

Room Tip: The casitas facing the water are so special but the sound of the surf and occasional wind might be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of the reef and rainforest honeymoon package. Although the weather wasn't ideal, we had an amazing time. We were free to use their kayaks, paddle boats and stand up paddle boards to explore the reef that was less than 1 km from shore. The crystal clear water was as warm as any I have ever felt. The reef was teeming with wildlife to explore with our snorkel gear, also provided by the resort.

Our beachfront casita was nice and cool and comfortable. Our front doors opened onto our own little patio with a hammock. We spent some time on the dock on the lounge chairs.

We came from New Orleans on our first leg of the trip, so we passed on the drinks this time. They were expensive, but like I said we weren't in the mood for drinking anyhow. The food on the other hand was delicious!! The owner David was there and we spoke to him at length. He told us he brings the chocolate for their desserts on his carry-on luggage from Montreal. It's worth it because the desserts are so delicious.

The staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating. Special shout out to Paola!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The resort was amazing! The staff were really friendly and helpful. We were at the beachside casita and the room was beautiful.

We did the snorkeling tour with the resort and that was awesome!

The restaurant was okay but the food in town was so much better.
We took advantage of the boat rides into town few times and ate lunch there. Wished they had burgers and better snacks by the pool. Although the guacamole is excellent!

Overall this resort is fantastic!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our honeymoon there. The people were friendly and helpful, the food tasty and resort beautiful. We stayed at 2 other resorts on the trip in different cities in Belize and loved this one.

It was unusually very windy when we were there, so the beachfront casita wasn't a great idea. The rooms a little more inland weren't windy much. Not the resorts fault, but I wouldn't have paid more for it if I were to do it again.

Overall, great resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.