We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found at Matachica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found at Matachica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our honeymoon trip to Matachica could not have been better! Matachica is the perfect resort for travelers wishing to escape the busy world for awhile and just relax- truly a first class retreat.

Every aspect of our stay, from the luxurious accommodations to the impeccable service, exceeded our expectations. The casitas are beautifully decorated, spacious, clean, and very private. The location of the resort is ideal as it is far enough from San Pedro but easy to get to and from town either by Matachica's boat or by the Coastal Express. We loved spending time at the lovely pool- designed after the Blue Hole- reading, taking in the Belize sunshine, and enjoying delicious mojitos made by Israel and Ever. The food at Mambo was amazing! The fish is always fresh and tastefully prepared and presented. We tried something new every day and always left feeling completely satisfied with the meal. The chef even prepared our own catch, which was just exquisite. Lastly, I cannot say enough about the service at Matachica- Mayra, Dennis, Raymundo, Israel, Ever, Jonathan, Chris, Melke, Burga, Beatriz, and everyone at the front desk. Everyone we encountered was friendly but never intrusive, polite, always helpful, and even called us by first name!

Matachica is a gem in the beautiful part of the world, and we will surely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    87
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
40
525
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were there in March 2013. It was an amazing experience.We rented a deluxe beachfront casita and the experience exceeded our expectations The rooms were wonderfully appointed, always clean and very comfortable.The service was excellent but a few of the staff members really stood out.....things to do..Kayak out to the reef and snorkel, ride bikes into San Pedro and take the water taxi into town..

Couple of suggestions..the "free" water taxi does not run as regularly as we would have liked..I'd suggest taking the bikes into town . As far as excursions go..I'd spring for the aiad trip to the Mayan Ruins..rather than the boat..we felt a little rushed ..also, for a really different experience take the water taxi from San Pedro tp Caye Caulker - it's like a step back into time.

Food? There's no where to store food and the only close place to eat is a the restaurant (which can get pricey). Take a walk down the beach to Rojo's for lighter fair.

Endulge in a massage, play in the pool, Margarhitas on the beach...you never really have to leave here. It was simple amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just returned from a week at Matachica Resort - and it's really hard to find a single bad thing to say about it. We're very experienced world travelers, and this might possibly be the best resort we have ever stayed at. Un-Belize-able location (as they say in Belize), fabulous food, lovely accommodations, but most important - impeccable service. Attentive, friendly, helpful, yet never obsequious. Waiters with a wonderful sense of humour and perfect service, a front desk that is beyond helpful - arranging inland expeditions to the Mayan ruins at Lamanai, or snorkeling trips to Shark Alley, or a relaxing pedicure at the lovely on-site Spa.

The Mambo restaurant is exceptional. Fresh local fish and seafood every night - shrimp, grouper, snapper - all done to perfection, with reasonably priced wines. The continental breakfast, which was included, was delightful and plentiful - toast, slice of cheese, banana bread, hard-boiled egg, orange juice, lots of fresh fruit.

The "infinity" pool is simply luscious - with a great hot tub inside it. And waiters to bring you tropical drinks all day.

The beach is nice soft sand, but like all the beaches on Ambergris Caye, the shore is dense with sea grass, so if you want to swim in the ocean, then you have to go off the end of the long dock. But we went on 2 snorkeling trips, so we got lots of ocean swimming.

We stayed in the Seabreeze bungalow, and it was excellent. You're outside all day, so you don't miss the view of the beach. Hammock on the front porch, nice linens on the bed, huge bathroom and shower - lots of beach towels for the pool.

If you didn't get the reference in the title of this review, it refers to the old Madonna song, which was written about San Pedro and Ambergris Caye. As she says, "Tropical the island breeze; All of nature wild and free." That's Matachica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay at the Matachia has been very pleasant. Our room though off the beach (we were in the Passion Fruit cabana) was beautiful, clean, simple & luxurious. The infinity pool was very nice, the grounds kept clean and the sand raked throughout the day. The staff was exceptionally friendly & helpful in all circumstances. A small boutique resort I would recommend to anyone. Our excursions (snorkeling for instance) were better at the Matachia than the charters we took in San Pedro. The restaurant served excellent dinners, as good as any restaurant anywhere & the continental breakfast of 2 hard boiled eggs, two small cups of sweet fruit flavoured yogurt, a small slice of cheese & an assortment of fruit wedges, papaya, watermelon, pineapple, & half a banana. We chose not to indulge in cereal or the roll that was also offered. was light and provided us with a good start to the day. Wi-Fi in the cabins would have been nice but you can have W-Fi usually access basically anywhere in the lobby, lounge or restaurant. Though it is not always available. When we were there there can be some mosquities at night & in the morning. The resort is a distance from San Pedro (about a 20 minute boat ride) and if you don’t mind that than I can’t see you having anything but a positive stay at Matachia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A really excellent hotel, the most outstanding thing, as well as many others, is the high standard of staff training. They are polite, efficient, attentive and appear to be really enjoying their work. We found the bar a little expensive but the restaurant was good value, serving superbly cooked food, attractively presented. On several evenings people came in by boat to eat in the restaurant. There is no trouble finding empty sun beds at either the pool or the beach. Swimming off the beach is a bit impossible as the coral and sea grass comes almost up to the sand and this makes it very shallow but there is a swimming area off the end of the hotel's boat jetty. The bar waiters make regular trips to these areas to see if any beverages are required. The resort runs a no tipping policy but a charge of 15% is levied from your food and beverage bill as a tip for the staff.For those who are a bit adventurous there is a bit of a run down restaurant, the Jabal Jerk Pit, serving Belize and Jamaican food, 10 minutes along the beach to the north. To the south there is Rojo's Bar and a bit further is a small bar (closes at 7pm) that does lunches. Their prices are comparable with the hotel and the food and service is probable better at the Matachica. If you want to go for a walk stay on the beach, DO NOT venture behind the hotel, the mangrove swamps there are the home to 'man eating mosquitoes'. The hotel run several boats to San Pedro (see the chalk board by the reception desk for times) but the last boat is at 5 pm, after that a water taxi is required at US$ 10 per person.
The rooms or bungalows were spacious well maintained and spotlessly clean with a raised sleeping area (flowers petals laid out each day) and a seating area. The room has ceiling fans, ours had air con. but with the door louver slats open the onshore breeze kept the room cool. The bathroom was large and well stocked with toiletries. The hotel has a water treatment plant and the tap water is drinkable.
The only two drawbacks we found was the hotel was a bit isolated for us, and the breakfast. A complementary breakfast (paid for in the 'not' cheap room rate) where you had one of the two choices and came on a plate, not as a buffet self-service. One could order other cooked breakfast items that were added to your food bill. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and were looked after very well.

Room Tip: The bungalows facing the pool are close to the reception and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Having spent over two weeks travelling through the countryside of Guatemala and Belize we were somewhat horrified to land in a bustling noisy touristy San Pedro. However the helpful guys from Matachica met our plane in their golf buggies, took us to the jetty and 15 minutes later we had arrived at the hotel to receive cocktails that had been ordered en route! And what a contrast - peaceful, tranquil, beautiful views from the room across the coral sand beach out over the turquoise sea. And what a room! Comfortable, great shower, wonderful views and a relaxing hammock on the deck.
Food was very good and not overpriced. Easy to get to San Pedro by complimentary speedboat or water- taxi - if that is really what you want! And great trips from the hotel jetty out to the reefs - or better, take a kayak out yourself to the reef and snorkel from there
The only picky point that I'd make is that you can't actually swim from the beach - it's simply too shallow. But the pool is great and it's easy to find transport to the reef

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We picked this hotel because we like smaller, intimate places with a bit of a personality and this hotel perfectly satisfied that criteria. From the very stylish arrival by speedboat, the staff looked after us fantastically and we felt relaxed and at home here.
We picked one of the Seaview Suites which I understand are 4 new cabanas and they are situated at the back of the property behind the swimming pool. Whilst not as glamorous as those directly on the beach, we liked them because there was no need for anybody to walk past our room. The cabana itself was beautiful - high quality linens, nice seating area, huge bathroom and lots of storage space for clothes, and generally really quite spacious. Rooms were serviced twice daily with clean towels and new floral decorations each day.
Despite the property being quite full while we were there, it never feels like it - loads of sun loungers on the beach and at the pool mean that you always have space.
There is a pool and beach service which isn't regular but we were always happy to walk to the bar and order if need be and drinks were immediately delivered.
The restaurant is very good although it does get busy with people from outside the property - however hotel guests are always accommodated without reservations.
We found all of the staff, from housekeeping to the watersports guys to the lovely receptionists to be absolutely fantastic - they really go out of their way to ensure you're having a good time and can't do enough for you.
I would not hesitate to go back to Matachica - in fact, despite the distance and the need to clear the tedious US immigration, I don't think I'd consider a Caribbean holiday anywhere else in the future. I can't see anywhere being better than this.

Room Tip: If you can get full breakfast included in your rate, go for it. It's worth paying extra for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.