We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Stay at Matachia.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in San Pedro
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Positive Stay at Matachia.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay at the Matachia has been very pleasant. Our room though off the beach (we were in the Passion Fruit cabana) was beautiful, clean, simple & luxurious. The infinity pool was very nice, the grounds kept clean and the sand raked throughout the day. The staff was exceptionally friendly & helpful in all circumstances. A small boutique resort I would recommend to anyone. Our excursions (snorkeling for instance) were better at the Matachia than the charters we took in San Pedro. The restaurant served excellent dinners, as good as any restaurant anywhere & the continental breakfast of 2 hard boiled eggs, two small cups of sweet fruit flavoured yogurt, a small slice of cheese & an assortment of fruit wedges, papaya, watermelon, pineapple, & half a banana. We chose not to indulge in cereal or the roll that was also offered. was light and provided us with a good start to the day. Wi-Fi in the cabins would have been nice but you can have W-Fi usually access basically anywhere in the lobby, lounge or restaurant. Though it is not always available. When we were there there can be some mosquities at night & in the morning. The resort is a distance from San Pedro (about a 20 minute boat ride) and if you don’t mind that than I can’t see you having anything but a positive stay at Matachia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    77
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
37
471
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A really excellent hotel, the most outstanding thing, as well as many others, is the high standard of staff training. They are polite, efficient, attentive and appear to be really enjoying their work. We found the bar a little expensive but the restaurant was good value, serving superbly cooked food, attractively presented. On several evenings people came in by boat to eat in the restaurant. There is no trouble finding empty sun beds at either the pool or the beach. Swimming off the beach is a bit impossible as the coral and sea grass comes almost up to the sand and this makes it very shallow but there is a swimming area off the end of the hotel's boat jetty. The bar waiters make regular trips to these areas to see if any beverages are required. The resort runs a no tipping policy but a charge of 15% is levied from your food and beverage bill as a tip for the staff.For those who are a bit adventurous there is a bit of a run down restaurant, the Jabal Jerk Pit, serving Belize and Jamaican food, 10 minutes along the beach to the north. To the south there is Rojo's Bar and a bit further is a small bar (closes at 7pm) that does lunches. Their prices are comparable with the hotel and the food and service is probable better at the Matachica. If you want to go for a walk stay on the beach, DO NOT venture behind the hotel, the mangrove swamps there are the home to 'man eating mosquitoes'. The hotel run several boats to San Pedro (see the chalk board by the reception desk for times) but the last boat is at 5 pm, after that a water taxi is required at US$ 10 per person.
The rooms or bungalows were spacious well maintained and spotlessly clean with a raised sleeping area (flowers petals laid out each day) and a seating area. The room has ceiling fans, ours had air con. but with the door louver slats open the onshore breeze kept the room cool. The bathroom was large and well stocked with toiletries. The hotel has a water treatment plant and the tap water is drinkable.
The only two drawbacks we found was the hotel was a bit isolated for us, and the breakfast. A complementary breakfast (paid for in the 'not' cheap room rate) where you had one of the two choices and came on a plate, not as a buffet self-service. One could order other cooked breakfast items that were added to your food bill. On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and were looked after very well.

Room Tip: The bungalows facing the pool are close to the reception and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Having spent over two weeks travelling through the countryside of Guatemala and Belize we were somewhat horrified to land in a bustling noisy touristy San Pedro. However the helpful guys from Matachica met our plane in their golf buggies, took us to the jetty and 15 minutes later we had arrived at the hotel to receive cocktails that had been ordered en route! And what a contrast - peaceful, tranquil, beautiful views from the room across the coral sand beach out over the turquoise sea. And what a room! Comfortable, great shower, wonderful views and a relaxing hammock on the deck.
Food was very good and not overpriced. Easy to get to San Pedro by complimentary speedboat or water- taxi - if that is really what you want! And great trips from the hotel jetty out to the reefs - or better, take a kayak out yourself to the reef and snorkel from there
The only picky point that I'd make is that you can't actually swim from the beach - it's simply too shallow. But the pool is great and it's easy to find transport to the reef

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We picked this hotel because we like smaller, intimate places with a bit of a personality and this hotel perfectly satisfied that criteria. From the very stylish arrival by speedboat, the staff looked after us fantastically and we felt relaxed and at home here.
We picked one of the Seaview Suites which I understand are 4 new cabanas and they are situated at the back of the property behind the swimming pool. Whilst not as glamorous as those directly on the beach, we liked them because there was no need for anybody to walk past our room. The cabana itself was beautiful - high quality linens, nice seating area, huge bathroom and lots of storage space for clothes, and generally really quite spacious. Rooms were serviced twice daily with clean towels and new floral decorations each day.
Despite the property being quite full while we were there, it never feels like it - loads of sun loungers on the beach and at the pool mean that you always have space.
There is a pool and beach service which isn't regular but we were always happy to walk to the bar and order if need be and drinks were immediately delivered.
The restaurant is very good although it does get busy with people from outside the property - however hotel guests are always accommodated without reservations.
We found all of the staff, from housekeeping to the watersports guys to the lovely receptionists to be absolutely fantastic - they really go out of their way to ensure you're having a good time and can't do enough for you.
I would not hesitate to go back to Matachica - in fact, despite the distance and the need to clear the tedious US immigration, I don't think I'd consider a Caribbean holiday anywhere else in the future. I can't see anywhere being better than this.

Room Tip: If you can get full breakfast included in your rate, go for it. It's worth paying extra for a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I luckily found this little Bohemian gem last minute and they were able to accomodate a spontaneous stay. Based on my own experience, I can say all the great reviews are true. Matachica was warm, charming, and totally lovely. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to the late booking- one larger, which was airy and dreamy (bit more expensive). And a smaller one that was also quite quaint (less expensive). The decor throughout is Bohemian / chill. If you like Four Seasons, this is not for you. If you like something more earthy / vibrant / moody this is for you. (They even did well with the music.)

The staff was beyond gracious and accommodating in every way- even helping me score an epic Birthday cake from one of the best bakeries in town. We shared the cake with the staff because we actually felt we had made friends there.

Other Belize stuff: The staff gave us great advice on Belize in general, diving, etc. We got the heads up to work with White Sands- a small dive shop which ended up really making the trip a full throttle dive adventure. We did many local dives with White Sands- and later conquered the Great Blue Hole with the awesome larger dive operation, Amigos Del Mar.

Our greatest meal was at a place in town called Elvi's Kitchen based on their advice. Small but not a deal breaker criticism- Matachica could do better a little better with food- it's decent, but sort of in the middle. They could benefit from bringing a little Belizean flair to the menu vs. trying to accomodate an more general American menu.

All in all it was a magical stay- and looking forward to going back. Waking up to the chirping birds and the breeze in the morning is something I need more of.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, il USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from here and can't wait to let everyone know what a great place it was. From the moment we booked the trip, they made it so easy through email and had quick responses. We bought the 4 night package and added 2 additional nights which was the perfect amount of time. The package deals were great with breakfast and dinners included. Speaking of the food it was amazing! Lots of fresh fish and great flavor. We went on a fishing trip one day and it was great they prepared our lunch with the red snapper and trigger fish that we caught. Matachica makes it so easy to snorkel by the reef right in front of the resort with the kayaks and snorkel gear provided. Ho Chun and shark alley were amazing! The casitas are perfect and a great breeze comes in on every angle. You can walk up and down the beach with ease. The staff is very friendly and is more than willing to help. I would highly recommend this place and am counting the days till I can taste another Belikin beer :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the time we were met at the airport, escorted by boat to the resort , provided a cold refreshing beverage of choice welcoming us to the resort, the service never disappointed. The casitas were tastefully decorated with thatched roofs and distinct bright colors, cleaned daily with fresh flowers and provided fantastic views of the water within a few steps to the white, sandy beaches. Staff meticulously raked the seagrass to keep the beach beautiful. Breakfast consisted of 2 choice continental breakfasts or you could choose from the menu. The 1 lunch we had at the resort was fresh and tasty with island spices. Dinners were expensive, but the seafood specials were delicious. We enjoyed the wine selection and of course the "best key lime pie on the island"! The resort provided free bikes for riding to town or strolling on the beach. Additionally, the resort provided complimentary kayaks allowing us to paddle to the reef, and snorkel at our leisure on the beautiful barrier reef. The resort coordinated our snorkeling excursion to Hol Chen (a must) and to Laminai Mayan Ruins (we are glad we opted to fly over....). The staff at Matachica were the best we encounted in our travels. Anita with her coordination of our stay and fantastic taste in music... to Abbey, Myra, Jonathan, Reuben, Sissy, Dennis, Isreal, Irene, Guisepie, Anner, Chris, Noelle, Raymondo and all the staff unnamed we know keep this resort a special place we want to extend a special thank-you for the kind service. We look forward to our return visit to this paradise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#18 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;