We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Excellent - Blown Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 56 hotels in San Pedro
Falmouth, ME
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better Than Excellent - Blown Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is absolutely amazing. At 2 full time employees per guest room, this resort is on top of their game at every moment. Matachica is romantic and laid back, and luxurious but not pretentious. It's not for the spring-breaker...the atmosphere is quiet, relaxing, and romantic. Every employee was warm and friendly and every other guest we met was absolutely in love with Matachica! And the food will knock your socks off! Fantastic!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    75
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
469
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The going to Matachica Beach Resort is Easy but the leaving is Hard . Even though it hurts my heart to say good-by ....I am eager to go again .This was our 9 th. visit for our 58th. A. And once again the staff made it Special for us .The weather was off-on rain this year but we hardly noticed it cause the Staff and other guest made " sunshine " inside ....we laughed , talked , played cards eat and had drinks ... A good time was had by all .This is just the most perfect place for us...we kick back and the Staff takes care of us in style . I can not think of another place I would rather be in that space of time . Every one there is dear to us ...as I write that ...I get a hurt in my heart and tears come ... but knowing we will return next year and they will welcome us Home makes the wait a tad more easy .

Room Tip: Every Casita is perfect ...nicely spaced... Excellent comfort... beyond maintained....Always clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Matachica is the perfect beach resort--super friendly accommodating staff, relaxed sophistication, private accommodations, quiet, well-maintained beautiful grounds on the beach and excellent food. We spent 4 days at this resort having stayed on the mainland at another resort which was the most expensive in the Cayo district and was quite disappointing. I wish we had stayed longer at Matachica. We had researched a number of the best luxury resorts on Ambergris Caye and settled on Matachica and were happy we did. After visiting some of the other resorts during our stay, Matachica was clearly the best resort we saw and exceeded our expectations.

We had a very nice ocean view casita, Blueberry, which was very private and romantic, away from the main building and 50 feet from the ocean. The thatched roof, concrete/tile floor, and island decor was relaxing and inviting. Having stayed at some of the most high-end beach resorts in the world, Matachica is one of the most authentic in island ambience and did not try too hard to be something it is not. If you are looking for more formality akin to a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, this resort is probably not for you as it is more informal in its elegance but comparable in service quality. I do wish our casita had better WiFi reception, but did not miss the lack of TV or phone in the casita. The casual sophistication was intoxicating and relaxing and was complemented by a very attentive, friendly staff providing excellent service. Whatever we asked for, they accommodated us consistently with a warm smile and pleasing attitude. Kudos to the management's focus on consistent superior service from reservations, restaurant/bar and the front desk to housekeeping and the activity beach hut.

The food at Mambo restaurant was expensive by Belizean standards but in line with other high-end resorts; however, the quality and presentation of the food was worth the expense. The dining atmosphere with the cool breeze and view over the beach was so relaxing. The ceviche, seafood pasta, crab-stuffed grouper, seafood grill and lobster dishes were all excellent. While the complimentary continental breakfast with fresh orange juice, coffee/tea, pineapple/banana/papaya, muffin/banana bread was good and generously portioned, we also supplemented with the western omelet and Belgian waffle with real maple syrup which did not disappoint. We also tend to be more particular with food due to dietary concerns and Matachica was happy to accommodate our requests.

We took advantage of the complimentary snorkeling gear, paddle boats, bikes, paddle boards, and sea kayaks. Having only a 10-15 minute paddle out to the barrier reef directly in front of the resort made for convenient, great snorkeling. The resort provided semi-private, small tours including snorkeling at Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley (both highly recommended) that were surprisingly in line with the prices others charged online without the ususal resort mark-up.

The quiet resort is 5 miles north of lively San Pedro town with its local restaurants and bars filled with tourists and expats but the town is only a 15-minute boat ride away or 25-30 minute bike ride from the resort. I did wish that the resort had more boats scheduled to/from town particularly if you want to stay later in the evening (the last water taxi from town was 10:30pm). Yet, it was nice not to be located too close to the town congestion. We made some nice friends with other couples during our stay at the resort which we will likely stay in touch with.

Overall, Matachica was a perfect beach resort to cap off a wonderful, relaxing vacation in Belize. We plan to return again.

Room Tip: Closer to the ocean is better with respect to views, cooler breezes as well as fewer mosquitos. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had three quick days at this friendly, seaside resort. Had some bad luck with strong winds and a bit of rain, but still had a relaxing experience. The entire staff were exceptional and we loved our "Banana" palapa suite. Not exactly roughing it! A very nice continental breakfast was included and our dinners were excellent (grilled snapper, Carib lobster, etc). We were delighted with our stay, but not sure we would have enjoyed the remote location and solitude for an entire week. The unusual weather held us back from some kayaking and reef snorkeling, but we still had a memorable experience. Again .... great staff!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of moving back from the edge of the beach. Very quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Matachica was an amazing experience. We didnt know what to expect, initially imagined a pretty island resort ... we were blown away. First, the staff is the best. After airport pickup, as we rode in the boat to Matachica, Charlie asked what we would like to drink. As soon as we docked, we were greeted with ice cold water and rum punch. Little touches like this really made the stay wonderful. All the staff knew our names and which casita we were staying. The complimentary kayaks, paddleboards, and snorkel equipment were great - Giovanni explained everything thoroughly. We got a kayak, paddled out, and saw "finding nemo" coral and aquatic life. Went to Mambo for lunch: blackened grouper sandwich, fish&chips, belizean rum punch - heaven. lounged on porch hammock and beachfront chaise, sauntered out on the covered dock for drinks/relaxing, then back for dinner: fresh grouper and snapper with moist coconut rice: more heaven. Also, there are many activities they will arrange for you thru local guides - we went snorkeling on a catamaran to hol chan, caye caulker, shark ray alley - a really fun day trip. Other friends went to Altun Ha and Lamanai and raved about it. A quick word on cleanliness - the place is immaculate. Housekeeping was very very good - linens changed with flower petals and designs daily. We looked forward to different swan towel designs every day. =) Love love this place. We are planning a trip back next year.

Room Tip: Deluxe beachfront casitas have best view - unobstructed ocean, 50ft from your porch. Casitas farthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Matachica is certainly an over the top resort. The resort is beautiful, exceptionally maintained, secluded, and everything you want in a peaceful beach front resort. Our Casita (Plum) was 50 feet from the water. The view is fantantic. The restaurant, Mambo, is excellent. High quality fresh food presented by Chef Reynaldo & his staff. The seafood was caught that day and the presentation was beautiful. As with most experiences exceptional, the people make the real difference. The staff at Matachica are without a doubt the most caring and sincere that we have encountered. We will never forget Anita, Abbey, Margaret, Dennis, Rueban, Isreal, Ever, Charlie, Chris, and there are many more. Great people make great experiences. We highly recommend Matachica. The memories will last forever.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our stay at Matachica was excellent. The beachfront casitas are a must, and the service is excellent, as is the food. The only thing that could be better is that the water in front of the hotel is very shallow (a couple of inches) and had a lot of plant life. But you can take a kayak out to the reef nearby and swim and snorkel in plenty of clear blue water! I definitely recommend Matachica to others. Be prepared for the wind in this area,and use bugspray (we did, and didn't get one bug bite).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.