We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss you Matachica!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Fairway, Kansas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“I miss you Matachica!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thank goodness Fiji, Bora Bora and the Seychelles were just too much of a stretch for our honeymoon - otherwise we may not have found Matachica! After much deliberation, we landed on Belize for our week long site of decompression. Not wanting the typical commercial resort, Matachica proved to be the perfect solution for a quiet, relaxing and top-notch get-away!

From the moment we landed, the Matachica team took world-class care to ensure we felt at home and had everything we needed. Charlie met us upon arrival on Ambergris Caye, loaded our bags in a golf cart and whisked us to the pier. Once on Matachica's boat, he took our drink order and assured us it would be cold and waiting upon our arrival. After letting our hair blow in the breeze for the 10 minute boat ride, sure enough - we were welcomed with drinks and a tour of the property.

Located 5 miles North of San Pedro, Matachica is positioned on a very quiet and secluded part of the island. Other than other couples (yes - this is a very couple-centric resort) enjoying their day, there is not too much activity on the property. There are always a few folks chatting at the bar, space is always open at the pool and the kayaks, bikes and paddle boards are available to take out.

We stayed in Aqua, one of the reef view suites. It was no problem at all not having a beach front unit - we had a great view of the ocean and were very conveniently located next to the pool. The air conditioning worked well and during the day we would let the breeze blow through with the fans going. Each morning we used the hammock on our porch and each evening melted away in the comforts of our luxury bed.

As for dining, Matachica has a lot to offer. For breakfast, we never strayed from the complimentary continential breakfast. There are two options - with each you get a hard boiled egg and small selection of fruit. The first option comes with yogurt and cereal, or the second comes with toast and either a cinnamon roll, banana bread or oatmeal cookie. Throughout the week we tried every option and our favorite was the cinnamon roll - really you cannot go wrong though and unless you want a huge meal, this is the perfect way to start the day!

The lunch menu at Mambo is also quite delish. We tried the seafood burrito, pizza diablo and fish tacos - MAKE SURE TO TRY THE FISH TACOS!!! For dinner, the best of the appetizers is the Mambo Carpaccio - a delicious fresh thinnly sliced piece of snapper in a lime and soy dressing. Our favorite of the mains was the pasta frutti di mare! And of course dessert - definitely give the caramel flan with coconut ice cream a chance!

There are other dining options near Matachica, though not many. Within a short walk is Jambel Jerk Pit and Portofino. Both are worth a shot. The water taxi schedule is also posted on the board at the front desk every day - there are several complimentary boat rides each day, or you can always take the Coastal Express for $10 / person each way. For other dining options in and around town, be sure to check out some of my other reviews from the trip!

On our first day and last day, we opted to leverage the Jade spa and get couples massages. Though a bit expensive, this time of relaxation was more than worth it! They did a fantastic job.

While the optics, setting, property and food are all fantastic, what really makes Matachica shine are the people. The team truly is world-class. Everyone, from Adam and Israel at the bar, to Charlie and Chris who captain the boat and several of the excursions, to Jonathan at the pier who helped to clean up the conch shell I found while snorkeling, I am not sure I have had the pleasure of such a top-notch staff at a resort. They take pride in what they do and literally do not know how to tell a guest "no" - anything you want, you get!

One part adult summer camp, another part couples retreat and topped with smoothering of paradise, Matachica should not be missed - of course not until after you leave. I miss you Matachica, and cannot to return!!!

Room Tip: The Aqua Reef View Casista was very nice - great view in-between two of the beach front casistas and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    75
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
462
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon. I just can't say enough. The location was great, the staff was terrific, the design was very pleasing, and the food was awesome! We already decided we are coming back for our 3 year anniversary.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Belize, this is THE place to stay. Keep in mind, this a couple's resort. While we stayed there, a gentleman was there by himself and he said he hadn't realized this was a couple's resort--trust me, IT IS! Matachica is a home away from home. Completely run by Belizeans who are such hard working, kind and wonderful people. The food here was amazing, the property itself was gorgeous and it's PERFECT for a honeymoon our anniversary or a getaway. We met several people along the way who said that they were indifferent with where they stayed, but we cannot rave enough about this place!

ROOM TIP!!!!! Stay in the beachfront casitas (the regular size ones will do just fine, that's what we had). I don't think I would have loved this place as much if we did not have a beachfront casita. The views were amazing and the breeze right up from the water were crucial to staying cool!

The only negative I have to say about this place is the use of Seaduced for their tours. I'll do a separate tour review for Seaduced, but stick with one of the hotel offered tours (hol chan and shark ray alley snorkeling was pretty cool) or go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for the last three nights of our honeymoon and all I can say is WOW. This is like nowhere else we've ever stayed and even though it is pricey, it's worth it. We had one of the beachfront cabanas and the view from our bed of the beach is one that I never bored of looking at! The decor in the cabanas is fantastic and far removed from what you get in generic all inclusive hotels which is what makes it so great. The service and attention to detail is second to none and the staff were all really friendly. The food in the restaurant whilst expensive was delicious and the free transfers into town are a bonus. If you want to stay somewhere truly unique then stay here although don't go thinking it's going to be cheap!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

very quiet. the staff was great- i don't think they know the word 'no':) food was great, spa was relaxing, and the linens were fantastic. we went right before the busy season, but we were told the resort was full. it was super quiet, i think everyone went to bed at 8. great if you want the complete get away trip. the reef was a 5 minute kayak paddle out and was full of fish and a few rays. the only downfall is the boat to town stops at 530 leaving you to pay $10pp for a water taxi to get where you want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I shared our honeymoon at Matachica in late October and it couldn't have been more perfect. The weather was ideal, the food amazing and since we went during the off-peak tourism season, the service was outstanding.

Our Casita was the perfect size, clean linens, clean bathroom, and very private. If you're planning a honeymoon, go for the reef view. You'll thank yourself.

Look, some people we met complained about the food, or that the town of San Pedro was small with not much to do (sort of true) but that's exactly what we had in mind for our trip. We wanted to relax in the sun with drinks in our hands. And we did. We also went kayaking and snorkeling (free through the resort) out to the reef and saw tons of sweet fish. Then we went fishing and ate those fish. Bam!

Matachica is the perfect private romantic getaway resort. Don't look any further.

Room Tip: Go with the reef view rooms. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Matachica Resort is incredible. We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon in October and had an amazing time. The staff at Matachica are the best. Everyone is so kind and helpful. Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.