We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matachica Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Matachica Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matachica Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 55 hotels in San Pedro
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon. I just can't say enough. The location was great, the staff was terrific, the design was very pleasing, and the food was awesome! We already decided we are coming back for our 3 year anniversary.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    74
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
457
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Belize, this is THE place to stay. Keep in mind, this a couple's resort. While we stayed there, a gentleman was there by himself and he said he hadn't realized this was a couple's resort--trust me, IT IS! Matachica is a home away from home. Completely run by Belizeans who are such hard working, kind and wonderful people. The food here was amazing, the property itself was gorgeous and it's PERFECT for a honeymoon our anniversary or a getaway. We met several people along the way who said that they were indifferent with where they stayed, but we cannot rave enough about this place!

ROOM TIP!!!!! Stay in the beachfront casitas (the regular size ones will do just fine, that's what we had). I don't think I would have loved this place as much if we did not have a beachfront casita. The views were amazing and the breeze right up from the water were crucial to staying cool!

The only negative I have to say about this place is the use of Seaduced for their tours. I'll do a separate tour review for Seaduced, but stick with one of the hotel offered tours (hol chan and shark ray alley snorkeling was pretty cool) or go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here for the last three nights of our honeymoon and all I can say is WOW. This is like nowhere else we've ever stayed and even though it is pricey, it's worth it. We had one of the beachfront cabanas and the view from our bed of the beach is one that I never bored of looking at! The decor in the cabanas is fantastic and far removed from what you get in generic all inclusive hotels which is what makes it so great. The service and attention to detail is second to none and the staff were all really friendly. The food in the restaurant whilst expensive was delicious and the free transfers into town are a bonus. If you want to stay somewhere truly unique then stay here although don't go thinking it's going to be cheap!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

very quiet. the staff was great- i don't think they know the word 'no':) food was great, spa was relaxing, and the linens were fantastic. we went right before the busy season, but we were told the resort was full. it was super quiet, i think everyone went to bed at 8. great if you want the complete get away trip. the reef was a 5 minute kayak paddle out and was full of fish and a few rays. the only downfall is the boat to town stops at 530 leaving you to pay $10pp for a water taxi to get where you want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I shared our honeymoon at Matachica in late October and it couldn't have been more perfect. The weather was ideal, the food amazing and since we went during the off-peak tourism season, the service was outstanding.

Our Casita was the perfect size, clean linens, clean bathroom, and very private. If you're planning a honeymoon, go for the reef view. You'll thank yourself.

Look, some people we met complained about the food, or that the town of San Pedro was small with not much to do (sort of true) but that's exactly what we had in mind for our trip. We wanted to relax in the sun with drinks in our hands. And we did. We also went kayaking and snorkeling (free through the resort) out to the reef and saw tons of sweet fish. Then we went fishing and ate those fish. Bam!

Matachica is the perfect private romantic getaway resort. Don't look any further.

Room Tip: Go with the reef view rooms. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Matachica Resort is incredible. We stayed at the resort for our honeymoon in October and had an amazing time. The staff at Matachica are the best. Everyone is so kind and helpful. Would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The stories we lived while staying here were priceless....too many to mention. They offered to take a golf cart we borrowed from a local back to town ( which is not recommended by the way.) The road from Matachica to San Pedro is hell. Take the boat.

Borrow the bikes and head to the Palapa Bar or into San Pedro.
Crash Fidos or better yet head north to Wet Willies or if it's open, The Sand Bar.

Britney that owns the Sand Bar is one of the locals that gave us her golf cart to get home when we were stranded so please spend lots of money there. THE SAND BAR.

Anyway, you will have a blast at this spot. Have Fun!!!

Room Tip: Pick early to get an oceanfront room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matachica Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matachica Beach Resort

Address: Beachfront | 5 Miles North of San Pedro, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Pedro
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
#20 Family Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matachica Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matachica Beach Resort is an extraordinary, secluded and peaceful resort that sits on the beach facing the Caribbean Sea and the second largest barrier reef on the planet earth. The resort has 25 single unit casitas, each air conditioned with private porch. All rooms except SeaView Cabanas have one king sized bed, SeaView Cabanas have two queens. We also have one two-bedroomm 2-bathroom luxury villa. All with beautiful linens, exquisite decor. Swimming pool, Jacuzzi, spa, small gym, sea kayaks, snorkel gear, pedal boats, paddle boards, bicycles, complimentary internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Matachica Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matachica Beach Hotel San Pedro
Matachica Beach San Pedro
Matachica Beach Resort Belize/San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matachica Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.