We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria House to your Saves list
Victoria House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
6th Night Free
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in San Pedro
nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

the victoria house is absolutely beautiful. . .check out the pictures! E-mail me if you've already booked your trip or are thinking of booking and have any questions.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    139
    30
    11
    5
See reviews for
115
542
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

Victoria House is an absolutely amazing place! Worth every penny of it's somewhat pricey rates, the staff truly bends over backwards to make everything perfect for their guests. The casitas are slightly rustic but luxurious and meticulously maintained, complete with mini fridge/bar, ac, and a magnificent canopy bed. No Tv, phones, or internet to distract you here! Just island breezes and palms swaying. Food and drinks are out of this world, though the menu is somewhat limited if you're there for more than a week. You can eat in their elegant poolside restaurant, or beachfront bar, or have meals delivered to your own patio. Magnificent private beach and dock that guests can take advantage of 24/7. They will also arrange just about any side trips and/or transportation for you - just stop in the office where there is also a small shop and phones to call internationally. We truly felt like royalty staying at Victoria House, and will return as often as we can! Extremely romantic!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a 9 day stay at Victoria House. It was wonderful. This is not the place to go if you are into partying, night-life, and discos. If you are looking for a quiet, reasonably priced place with a beautiful white sand beach and the wind in the palm trees, then this is Paradise.

We stayed in the "Rainforest Suite" (a.k.a. the Honeymoon Suite), which is a bit pricey but worth it if you plan to use your room a lot. We spent most of our time around the Victoria House property, so having a large comfortable suite was great. The best part was the huge double french doors that opened the whole room onto the deck, with an amazing view of the sand, the palms, and the water.

All-around, we loved the Victoria House. The staff are great - very friendly and helpful. We really felt that they cared about us. We loved chatting and joking with everyone (they have a great sense of humor).

The food at the restaurant was fabulous. We live near San Francisco with some great restaurants around us, and we're not easily impressed. We tried everything on the lunch menu, and almost everything on the dinner menu. We were never disappointed. The Ginger/Lime Snapper was our favorite, but all of the fish dishes were fresh and excellent. The flavors were complex and interesting, and all very different.

Drinks and bar service was good, although I wasn't too impressed with the one Mojito I ordered.

The pool and beach were very nice. The white sand beach is well tended. Beach furniture was a bit sparse (they only have two hammocks, and not that many lounge chairs), but adequate. No problem finding a deck chair at the pool.

There's some construction going on (they tell us it will be finished this summer ('06)). We had a few days with some hammering and sawing, but it wasn't too bad. You may want to check with the hotel before booking if it's a concern.

March is supposed to be the dry season, but we still got a couple of drenching rains at night and a couple of hard showers during the day. There's a constant wind, which can get a bit annoying, but perhaps that's why there seem to be no nasty biting insects!

Victoria House is a couple of miles south of San Pedro. Taxis are US$5 into town and back. Victoria House has bicycles for the use of their guests, and it's a quick ride to town, although the roads tend to be slightly potholed. It's also an easy walk into town along the beach (although we fried in the sun - more sunscreen next time!). We didn't bother renting a golf cart - they are very expensive compared to taking a taxi for $5 or a bike for free.

We brought our own masks and fins, and the dive shop provided us with BCDs and regulators which were in very good condition. We dove on a boat from Ramon's Village. We were happy with the diving, although the purpose of this trip was primarily to relax on a white sand beach, so we weren't looking for the world's best diving destination.

I put on my mask and fins one day and set out from the dock to see what I could see. My wife said "have fun, honey" and re-adjusted her lounge chair. She was the wiser for it. Until you reach the reef-break - which is much too far to swim out to just to go snorkeling - the water is shallow, the bottom is sand and eel-grass, and there's not much to see except a lot of power boats whizzing past.

Some other restaurants:
Rico's: Beach-front at Banyan Bay Hotel. Shrimp Tikin Xic was good, the BBQ shrimp was swimming in bottled BBQ sauce and disappointing.
Blue Mango (owned by Amy Knox - formerly the chef at Victoria House): Hole-in-the-wall with beach-front location in San Pedro. We had some tasty fish dishes.
Blue Water Grill: Nice casual beach-front at the SunBreeze Hotel. Good food with a lot of Japanese influences.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Victoria House is an attractive, peaceful retreat on this southernmost tip of the Yucatan peninsula. It is set in small though lush and well-tended gardens. The surrounding area and San Pedro itself are very cheerful, fun, down-at-heel and almost entirely dedicated to tourism.

Good points about Victoria House:
- All the staff, who work incredibly hard and seem genuinely interested in your comfort and enjoyment.
- The garden and pool (though small) are attractive and pool seating comfortable.
- Food and drink: Breakfast is excellent as are simple dishes for lunch and dinner and bar food.
- The ocean view (unlike many parts of the Caribbean, you won't be disturbed by jetskis, party boats etc
- Cleanliness of accommodation
- Food and drink prices are very reasonable by European/Caribbean standards
- On the whole, we enjoyed it.

Other points to consider:
- You cannot swim from the beach because it is thick with seaweed (probably important for wildlife)
- Casita rooms: the renovated ones are MUCH nicer than the old (larger terrace with hammock, all glass french windows making these small rooms feel more spacious); bear in mind that, with a thatch roof, there is minimal sound insulation (the aircon vents from the kitchen and dining room were beside our casita #1 and roared from 6am to around 11pm, you may also be aware of your neighbours); we asked for a double bed, but bear in mind these are only 5ft in width
- Building work: the hotel is building two two storey villas behind the casitas so you will hear hammering and some drilling during the day while you sit by the pool
- Pool area: probably due to the stiff prevailing wind off the ocean, there are no sun umbrellas over the sunbeds, so shade may occasionally be hard to find (that said, guests are often out during the day on excursions, so the pool area can sometimes be quite quiet)
- Evenings: there is little ambience in the bar (which is nicely located by the beach), even for a quiet drink; the restaurant is quite chill and gloomy - maybe there's been some staff changes in the kitchen, but the more complicated dishes served on the dinner menu were very disappointing and we ate there only once, on our first night.
- Not a criticism, but we experienced this as an entirely American resort (perhaps due to the timing of our visit in the US spring break). Do not expect to meet a mix of other nationalities.

Recommendations:
- Go out in the evenings: taxis are cheap and easy to come by. Cafe Picasso serves simply outstanding food on a tapas-based theme in a slightly quirky, occasionally chaotic setting. The Bluewater Grill: basic food in a simple set-up by the water, but done pretty well.
- Also try the Rojo Lounge for lunch: take a water taxi from San Pedro to the north of the island. Expensive but a lovely setting and very laid back (big red cushioned armchairs and hammocks under awnings on the beach!)
- Take out a golf cart and explore the north of the peninsula. The dust paths are terrible - full of huge holes and craters - but great fun.
- Bone fishing in the mangroves: guides are experts and the mangrove is beautiful

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2006

We visited Victoria House for the first 6 days of our honeymoon (we then went to Turtle Inn in Placencia). Although we preferred Placencia, we loved Victoria House and it is undoubtedly the best property in Ambergris Caye. The people were so warm and welcoming and they seemed to be happy constantly. The food was fantastic and the property was beautifully kept. The activity planner was very helpful and we had a fantastic 6 days. We can't wait to visit Belize again.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2006

The Victoria House was great. We stayed in three rooms a casita (7), plantation suite (34) and the tower suite in the casa azul (44). They were all nice in different ways. The plantation suite we were in was right on the beach, great in the morning. The casita was good, #7 is one of the renovated ones and the tower suite is two story and you get a semi-private pool and spa, beautiful room but pricey. The spa was cold but the guys will heat it up if you ask. The grounds are beautiful, they are working all day to make it that way. The location of the resort is in a great place on the island, close enough to San Pedro but not right there. Our favorite restaurant was the Bluewater Grill, right on the beach in town. However, the food was really good at the hotel as well. We ate there a lot. All of the excursions that were planned through the hotel were perfect, everyone was great. The diving and snorkling were second to none and I have been diving in a lot of places in the carribean.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

The Victoria House excels in service, courtesy and beauty. The staff manages to provide each guest with a sense of privacy while attending to every unexpected need. Politeness abounds. The hotel and its grounds are immaculately kept. The moonrises over the Caribbean Sea melt even the iciest city dweller. We can't wait to return!

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 22 Coconut Drive, San Pedro, Ambergris Caye, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Ambergris Caye > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro
#5 Family Hotel in San Pedro
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Pedro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Victoria House, the order of the day is quite simply relaxation… Located on Ambergris Caye, the largest of the many offshore Belizean Islands, Victoria House is just 2 miles south of picturesque San Pedro Town. The resort offers a taste of barefoot elegance that keeps guests coming back for more. With just 42 guest rooms ranging in style from thatch roof casitas to beachfront villas with private pools, plantation style rooms and stunning ocean view villas, the only challenge is making the choice of where to hang your swimsuit at night. The Palmilla Restaurant and Admiral Nelsons Bar are renowned for fine food and drink complimented by extraordinary, personalized service. Attention to detail by staff and management alike has garnered accolades from international media and awards from prestigious organizations such as Conde Nast Traveler, Conde Nast Johansens and Trip Advisor. Even more telling is the number of guests who chose to make Victoria House their destination of choice, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Victoria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria House Hotel San Pedro
Victoria Hotel San Pedro
Victoria House Belize/San Pedro
Victoria San Pedro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.